HELP WITH AE80, left cv joint mashing up!!!

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

ashtech

HELP WITH AE80, left cv joint mashing up!!!

Postby ashtech » July 24th, 2007, 11:05 pm

my car has been dropped, but they cut the mounting bracket at the base of the shock and welded it higher, 1 1/2 inches.... now the left side cv joint mashing up after a week and thing... even when u driving straight, it making noise....

what to do????

is it that the car too low and it on a strain or somethin???

HELP PLEASE, i want the noise gone, the joint to last and the car low...

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » July 29th, 2007, 2:27 am

get proper lowering springs .........replace the bad cv joints and ur probs should go hopefully ..........that lowering cup thing is unsafe ............maybe the joints are on a strain............did u do an engine swap?

corolladude

Postby corolladude » July 29th, 2007, 4:26 pm

phreakazooooooooid u dont know what u talking about !,,,,d man dont hav to get no lowering spring and it dont matter wat engine he hav,,and i sure they didnt LOWER the cup MAN!! so... ASHTECH... see if the axl on a bad angle and if it touching the inside of the cv cup.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » July 30th, 2007, 1:17 am

corolladude wrote:phreakazooooooooid u dont know what u talking about !,,,,d man dont hav to get no lowering spring and it dont matter wat engine he hav,,and i sure they didnt LOWER the cup MAN!! so... ASHTECH... see if the axl on a bad angle and if it touching the inside of the cv cup.

you take win bro....... go brave ............ the reason i asked if he did a swap was because an improper installation would cause failure of the cv joint..........i guess ure just proving your ignorance !...............oh and next time try and READ what the information the guy gave us to work with !

Postby Hook » July 30th, 2007, 4:21 pm

^^^ u asked a very valid question, an engine swap that wasn't balanced properly can put serious strain on both ends of an axle, as can too much of a drastic drop without the necessary camber kit etc. anyone who's done a little reseach before lowering should know this

ashtech wrote:they cut the mounting bracket at the base of the shock and welded it higher, 1 1/2 inches

so essentially u have a shock that bolts to the spindle with 1.5" of extra shock still below the mounting bracket? therein may lie your problem :idea: there's the possibility of the CV joint boot rubber clamp (if it's a metal hose-clamp type) bouncing on the excess shock *shrugs* could sound like CV joint noise when u rolling in a straight line

why did u go this route anyway? u want to have to do this EVERY TIME u hafta change shocks? to hafta cut and weld brand new shocks next change interval?

a good thing to note is that any AE90/100/111 lowering spring kit will work on the AE80 with the only difference being the shock mount and maybe the mounting bracket for the brake lines :idea:
I had AE111 Levin struts and springs in my AE80 hatch and achieved a drop of about 1" all around...lower, firmer and taking load on the back without bottoming out in the rear like if the car wanna take off

try and do d ting proper nuh pallie

corolladude

Postby corolladude » July 30th, 2007, 7:33 pm

phreakazoid, OK nah! master of everything that is obvious! TRD! :twisted:

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » July 30th, 2007, 7:50 pm

^^^kool scene

ashtech

Postby ashtech » September 21st, 2007, 8:43 am

thanks, guys, i did change th tranny in the car, and yes they did install it improperly cause i was gettin a vibration, but i raised the left mount and it stop, but jus for a couple weeks, so it still has a slight vibration when the car on a gear.
i goin the raise back the car and get the lowerin springs, who has a set to sell?
Need it asap, cause the shocks dead and the car too damn low, ah hit the F#$%ing tranny and now like ah F#$# up something under there.
corolla dude, you have a number? oh and hook, need a number 4 u too man..

thanks

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » September 23rd, 2007, 5:54 am

Hook! AS always YUH hit de nail on de head. Ah couldn't add nutten to dat even if ah wanted. Yuh is ah boss !

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 25th, 2007, 8:38 pm

let me guest you put in a different engine in your car ent? and they cut the joint? then when you drop the car it pushes the shaft hard on the tranny and rotor if you know what i mean and pops it the cage mash up into bits if this is true then your shaft is too long

Return to “TOYOTA”