AE Chassis Similarities

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

smokey1275

AE Chassis Similarities

Postby smokey1275 » July 24th, 2007, 11:37 pm

Guys .
There has been time and time again that some parts of the Ae generation of Corollas , certain parts will work or will retrofit or forward fit as the case maybe. With this being the case can we come up with a tried and tested chart that we can leave in the forum for inquisitve toyota owners.
Correct me if i'm wrong here.

Brakes , hub and spindle
Will Work from AE111-AE92 Except AE80

Ball Joints :
All AE80-AE111

Shock and Springs
AE92 will retro fit toAE 80 , AE100/101 Retro Fit to AE91/92

Steering Rack:
AE80 and AE92 Same Power Steering Rack , however 101 and 111 Different if tried to RetroFit yo AE92

Engines:
All 2A-3A-4A-5A -7A FE , GE, GZE ,20VVt ST & BT
All Chassis will accept 'A" engine .
Mounts :
AE80/92 different top right side mounts when mounting 20valve engine.

Guide Accordingly.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » July 27th, 2007, 6:10 pm

doesnt the ae100 brakes setup work on the ae80

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » July 28th, 2007, 1:50 pm

My bad typo

corolladude

Postby corolladude » July 28th, 2007, 4:32 pm

20v in my ae80 without movin any mount

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 2nd, 2007, 3:53 pm

Anyone have a modded EE90 by any chance? need help with some suspension probs.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 2nd, 2007, 5:44 pm

what's wrong?

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 3rd, 2007, 7:59 pm

The shocks are bottoming out. I just recently bought all 4 stiffer springs originally for a AE111, and changed the shocks (again) to "AE101 tokiko". Thinking that would solve the problem. although it helps, they still bottom out.
Dispite the car corners like woah, a small dip in the road will kill my shocks. (again)
And i cant afford this...
I installed the rear GT sway bar and im trying to get the bracket for the front to fit up...but cant find it anywhere!.
lord.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 4th, 2007, 10:17 am

Well the problem holds true for all AE92-101 chassis , when subjected to load , remember as your speed increases and as your momentum goes up theoretically so does the forces to which your car is under .The only way to solve this problem i've seen thus far is to see how much stroke your shocks have in terms of its free travel and tune it to suit , if the spring displcaes the load in terms of carrying the weight of the car and allwoing the wheels to following the irregularity of the road, the rate which your shock absorber will perform to dampen the movement of your spring will ultimately come down to :
1 Rebound setting of the shock versus the rate of your spring
2.the mean stroke of your suspension
3.Shock medium , oil/gas

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 6th, 2007, 8:39 pm

ok so what your trying to tell me there is, buy stiffer springs?. because they cannot adjust. I bought adjustables for the car but they dont fit over any shocks we have here for toyota. so there useless.
Oh and the car doesnt need to be going fast for this to happen so its not about momentum.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 8th, 2007, 6:19 am

regardless if the car is moving fast or slow , it builds momentum

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 11th, 2007, 5:25 pm

:roll: any idea why the car is doing this?.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 12th, 2007, 11:12 pm

All from AE92 to AE111 do this ,i will investigate a bit more to help you.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » August 20th, 2007, 8:19 pm

does the AE111 levin superstrut suspension interchange with the AE101 regular mc pherson setup easily? at a glance the cradle looks different the anti roll bar as well and the end links from the bar to the spindle are totally different not to mention the super strut design is totally different in every way including the way the damper bolts to it.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 22nd, 2007, 6:15 am

nope it does not work , :(

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » August 22nd, 2007, 6:27 am

why not? did u try it?

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 22nd, 2007, 7:48 pm

the spindle for the superstrut is different from the normal 101 , however it is not impossible to fabricate and custom mounting point.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » August 22nd, 2007, 8:39 pm

ok its clear that the spindle is diff
what i wanna know is if the ENTIRE thing can be interchanged so u changing cradles etc to the AE111 setup

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 22nd, 2007, 9:38 pm

will do some research into it , by the way nascott you own a ae111 wagon ?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » August 22nd, 2007, 10:14 pm

bas

Postby bas » November 30th, 2007, 8:50 pm

which ae sway bar will work on the ae92

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » November 30th, 2007, 9:36 pm

Good question, ive been trying to get that answer for really long.

AE92 GT sway bar needs cradles from the GT to get them to work, and im still looking for them cradles.

bas

Postby bas » November 30th, 2007, 9:43 pm

were can i find the ae92 sway bar hole setup

Around

Re: AE Chassis Similarities

Postby Around » May 8th, 2011, 1:12 pm

this would be a great list dread

trd3740

Postby trd3740 » May 8th, 2011, 10:29 pm

im having the same problem with ee90 back shocks bottoming out if u find a solution let me kno wat you did plz

Postby Hook » May 9th, 2011, 1:47 am

I have a strong suspicion that this "bottoming out" we complain about is actually another issue. Possibly a bushing or maybe a mount issue. The stock AE/EE rear struts are naturally soft anyway, but you'd be used to that by now.
My AE101 rides on Tein S-Tech in the back, mated to the thicker stock LevinGT dampers (GR-2) as opposed to the stock 101 Excel-G shocks and I've never had noise or handling issues.

Bear in mind that when choosing a strut upgrade, the spring rates must be matched to an appropriate damper in terms of shock travel (ultimately shock height) and dampening (compression and rebound rate). Remember, the springs are what hold up your car and the shock absorber controls the spring movement.
Too much of a stiff spring on stock dampers will not be a good match as the damper will not be able to control the spring movement properly and give a bouncy ride and/or harsh suspension travel on bumpy roads even though your cornering stability may improve (leading you to believe you made a good decision).

Also, remember that all springs when mounted on the shock are compressed already and thus pre-loaded. This is because downward suspension travel cannot be achieved with the spring at full extension and similarly, to ensure that the piston inside the shock is at optimum height to allow suspension travel in both directions.

With a shorter spring on a stock shock, the shock piston is now lower than optimum (somewhere just above the middle) and now the tolerance for upward suspension travel is compromised. As a result, the piston hits the bottom of the shock when the strut is compressed. This is "bottoming out" BUT, if you'll notice, your stock set-up had these rubber dampeners or "bump stops" on the shaft near the shock mount. This aids in preventing "bottoming out" and should be included in your install when swapping shocks and/or springs.

So, make sure you have the proper shocks to match your fancy springs and make sure you include the bump-stops when mounting your springs onto the shocks.

Re:

Postby Hook » May 9th, 2011, 11:30 am

About the superstrut...watch this.

On some Corollas that have the cradle arm set up like this:

The entire spindle, shock, and everything is different. Note the similarity between how the rear cradle arm bushing mounts to the chassis, a superstrut arm will work here.
Because of the complexity of the SS set-up, it's a pain to maintain.

Note as well the L-shaped bracket near the hole where the stock stabilizer bar link mounts. This accommodates the GT sway bar which uses a link like this:

But, if it's the cradle arm like this:

Then the superstrut suspension will not bolt right in.

RB25-DET

Postby RB25-DET » May 9th, 2011, 12:20 pm

What is the difference if any between the AE111 Corolla rear stabilizer bar and the Levin rear stabilizer bar??
(as in thickness, location of clamps, sta bar ends compatibility)

Reason I'm asking is because i know someone who has one in his garage sitting down collecting dust and i want to know if this will be an upgrade for the AE111 Corolla rear suspension

Postby Hook » May 11th, 2011, 12:19 am

RB25-DET wrote:What is the difference if any between the AE111 Corolla rear stabilizer bar and the Levin rear stabilizer bar??
(as in thickness, location of clamps, sta bar ends compatibility)

Reason I'm asking is because i know someone who has one in his garage sitting down collecting dust and i want to know if this will be an upgrade for the AE111 Corolla rear suspension

You have access to one AND one on your AE111 to compare and you STILL asking that question?

RB25-DET

Postby RB25-DET » May 12th, 2011, 10:31 am

Hook I live in arima and the sta bar is in point, i really dont want to reach down there to find out it cant work, if it can work i dont mind the drive to go get it, yuh dig?

Postby Hook » May 12th, 2011, 5:00 pm

LOL...I hear ya...ask the owner to take pics of where they connect to the shock and send 'em to u.

I've a sneaking suspicion they're the same, but still.

Also, there's a possibility the Levin bar may be 20mm as opposed to the stock 18mm bar.

Any Levin owners could maybe chime in here and confirm this. If anything you could maybe ask Strauss or Sully about this.

Return to “TOYOTA”