4AGE Black **TURBO**??

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

JJ16

4AGE Black **TURBO**??

Postby JJ16 » August 22nd, 2007, 1:47 pm

whats up toyota ppl...well i am thinking of joining the toyota section...i dont really know much about toyota engines, and from what i've seen in this toyota forum, i've seen men speaking about some red top and what not.

i would like to know if anyone here know of turbo'ing a 4age black top...what is the approx cost, is it safe, and what not..

or should i just cross my fingers and try finding a supercharger for one? **if they have** cause i think they come so? or am i wrong...

any help given thanks alot.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » August 22nd, 2007, 11:47 pm

If you are talking about the 4A-GE 20V Blacktop -> forget it, high reving, high compression + boost = bad idea

The only people who have really done it successfully is Blitz, if US$7000 appeals to you.

If you want boost go with the 4A-GZE, comes supercharged, and can be converted to turbo.

Or you could buy a 3S-GTE, which is the 2L turbo engine ...

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 22nd, 2007, 11:58 pm

okay then a 3S-GTE = 15k

what is the normal price of a 4A-GZE..and how hard is that 2 find in the bamboo? or in tnt??

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 23rd, 2007, 12:48 am

depends on what you expect to achieve. I've seen blacktops boosted on 5 pounds daily with custom intake, exhaust, bigger injectors, SAFC and gze pistons. An easy low 14 sec formula and there are built blacktops putting out 350+whp, depends on how deep you pockets are.

The gze engines are getting kinda old so u can find them from as low as $5500 complete to as much as $9000. They kinda hard to find but once you look you will find them. If you looking to run lots of boost and dont have much to spend this might be your best bet.

Another option is the 4efte, youll be surprised by how much can be squeezed out of these with stock internals :twisted: . These going for as little as 6k complete

Riva racing i believe had a boosted blacktop so u can talk to him, chaddy p has real good info on the 4efte, check anton, strauss and phreakazoid for gze info. :idea:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 23rd, 2007, 2:38 am

cool..the gze is that a direct bolt up 2 the ae 101??

Terran

Postby Terran » August 23rd, 2007, 8:42 am

Yes it is. Bolt for bolt.

There is a supercharger kit for the 20V, but its a rear find complete. You may find a tuner or two selling individual parts in the classifieds for some BIG $$$.

I would not recommend boosting it, though. At minimal cost of doing it, you may only squeeze enough power out of it to match the 4AGZE - the blacktop's supercharged older brother. So, if you're looking for an engine with lots of boosted potential, get the 4AGZE or an even bigger monster like the 3S-GTE.

Parts are becoming harder to find for all three engines (at least, locally). You can find performance upgrades relatively easily online.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 23rd, 2007, 4:14 pm

yea i notice i cant seem 2 find these engines in the bamboo really....whats the average price of someone selling an AE101??

but i would love to get my hands on a levin /tureno but they are a bit costly at the moment for me.

Terran

Postby Terran » August 27th, 2007, 8:05 am

You talking about the car itself? I'd say in excess of $30,000.

Check Corolla GT. He may be able to help you source any of those engines.

Postby eliteauto » August 27th, 2007, 8:19 am

a good AE101 will run you anywhere from $35K-$45K ( fuel injected) the older caburetted ones will run you from $28K-$36K

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 27th, 2007, 12:37 pm

okay cool..thanks Terran, and corollalover101, :lol: i luv this toyota forum boy, allyuh guys real helpful inside here..

well corollalover101, if i was to buy the AE101 and throw in a bigger engine..does it make a difference if i buy the car itself Carbie or Fuel Injected?? or is there another difference other than engine example brakes, suspension etc??

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » August 27th, 2007, 6:17 pm

you should look for one that is already fuel injected or better yet there are plenty 20valve 101's around i'd look around for one in good condition for you did u check trinicarsforsale saw a couple there as well. it would also be advisable if you doing engine swap go for big brake upgrade from the toyota levin suspension wise there are available options as well but make sure u get enough stopping power firstly and a car of course

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » August 27th, 2007, 11:14 pm

while dis ched here......alya think d 4efte cud compare in anyway 2 a wukkin 20V 4age NA if properly modded?

Terran

Postby Terran » August 28th, 2007, 8:42 am

ilovebeti, we've been through this over and over and it's still highly debated.

From MY personal experience, stock for stock, the 4EFTE is a walkover for the 4AGE. Those things only sound like they have a bad case of the flu around my STOCK 4AGE.

I'm not dissing the 4EFTE. I have no doubt that it has some good potential and I've seen some deliver performance at a level that I could only DREAM of getting out of my 20V. But that's when you begin to MODIFY.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 28th, 2007, 10:23 am

Terran wrote:ilovebeti, we've been through this over and over and it's still highly debated.

From MY personal experience, stock for stock, the 4EFTE is a walkover for the 4AGE. Those things only sound like they have a bad case of the flu around my STOCK 4AGE.

I'm not dissing the 4EFTE. I have no doubt that it has some good potential and I've seen some deliver performance at a level that I could only DREAM of getting out of my 20V. But that's when you begin to MODIFY.

Yup. Your car, stock for stock, is a starlet raper. We confirmed this enough :)

The 4E is a nice little engine but there is only so much a 1.3L can do. Just like the 4A has it limits as well.

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » August 28th, 2007, 11:01 am

Strauss, i thinkin 2 drop one(4e) in the yaris to stay same 1.3...is jus d fitment issues i'm concerned bout(4ag).......and if i drop the 4e in stock....what suspension upgrades is a must if any?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 28th, 2007, 11:42 am

The 4efte stock should put out around 100whp so i dont really think there is the need for any immediate suspension upgrades. However a pair of strut bars and some stiffer lowering springs or coilovers are good upgrades if u plan on modifying the engine later on.

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » August 28th, 2007, 12:03 pm

^^yeh i got s.techs on.....guessin i should install the proper shocks also......what about upgrading the turbo on the 4efte? feasible? what is the average cost of a 4efte and is it a hard find? jj16,pay attention to this too cuz u never know u may take this route.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 28th, 2007, 12:17 pm

^^ the 4E is pretty light, shouldnt need much suspension mods, those springs should hold up well. Unless your looking for sum serious cornering action.
The CT20 turbo from a 3SGTE is supposed to be a direct bolt up to the stock 4E turbo manifold as far as i know. And should be able to product more prower with some mods to fuel delivery. I sold one to "Sinister Audio" a while back for the same reason, and he was pretty confident that it works.
And the price of a 4EFTE goes from about 5 - 7K.

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » August 28th, 2007, 1:02 pm

^^nice.......lookin at a pocket rocket :mrgreen:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 28th, 2007, 2:11 pm

strauss and terran....i take it that strauss has a GZE sumthing and terran has a blacktop.
Im TRYING...and i stress on the trying.....to find either one for my corolla, cuz i just spun a bearing in it. (20V ST)...which would youll recommend?..seeing that youll seem to know eachother and your engines?
reliability is my main concern.

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » August 28th, 2007, 2:24 pm

^^dem is d men self.....as i said b4..they should fire all dem a$$ in TTTl and let dem two run it :mrgreen:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 28th, 2007, 2:41 pm

Aarong420 wrote:strauss and terran....i take it that strauss has a GZE sumthing and terran has a blacktop.
Im TRYING...and i stress on the trying.....to find either one for my corolla, cuz i just spun a bearing in it. (20V ST)...which would youll recommend?..seeing that youll seem to know eachother and your engines?
reliability is my main concern.

If nothing was damaged, why not get a new set of bearings? Which bearings BTW? main bearings? cs?

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 28th, 2007, 3:11 pm

The main crank bearing closest to the flywheel spun really bad and damaged the casing for the bearing. Also the crank journal is screwd so, yeah its a waste of time and money to fix.
Would love to get a GZE. but it looks like its gonna be hard to find a good one, or any actually....so might have to settle for the Blacktop.

beti what exactly do you drive?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 28th, 2007, 4:24 pm

but how i hear ppl saynig that the blacktop does bearly beat a sr20 and i shocked with that..now i aint sure so lemme ask...cause 2 my assumption i wud say that a blacktop wud beat a sr20de

and ilovebeti, i dont tink i woud go for the starlet turbo engine, 1.3 is not my style i like something a little bigger

isnt there a 1.5 starlet turbo engine??

Postby honda hoe » August 28th, 2007, 4:26 pm

^^ i thought u buyin a civic? :?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 28th, 2007, 4:29 pm

well if i cant get one i will resort 2 toyota :D

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » August 28th, 2007, 4:33 pm

jasonsjohn16, well we eh want ur dregs den...u wastin ppl time :roll:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 28th, 2007, 4:41 pm

is not no dregs...as i said, if im checking my money, and i am checking to see what is the best buy for my money, as i said before in another thread..the EG SiR is a good buy so is the AE101 or AE111 if i can get one 4WD....

but it all depends on what im getting and whats the most enjoyable and project wise thing...

honda men do have alot of mouth...but honda engines work good...but i like the feel of the levins...but its very hard 2 get the supercharged engine...so depending on how money goes when the time comes i am thinkin of it not the civic the levin / trueno..

Postby honda hoe » August 28th, 2007, 4:41 pm

jasonsjohn16 wrote:well if i cant get one i will resort 2 toyota :D

steups. u jokey yes

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 28th, 2007, 4:43 pm

sorry honda hoe, not everybody could write off a ek4 and buy ah DC5...my bad...unlike u money doh jus come outta no where for me nah

Return to “TOYOTA”