WTK - AC in AE80. How to improve it???

Posted: October 14th, 2008, 11:15 pm
by ashtech
I using the original compressor for the 3a engine. was jus wondering if i build a bracket and modify the hoses to hold a compressor from a 101 or 110, will it be more cold?????

who can advise?

Posted: October 15th, 2008, 12:19 am
by Zeriam
well when i had my 4a i did a mad thing and put a b14 compressor and the guy who did my install swapped out the ae80 and installed about of 92 stuff and it real wuk so maybe changing to 92 or higher blower evaporator might work. best bet is talk to an auto ac guy.

Posted: October 15th, 2008, 1:43 am
by corolladude
Zeriam !! u dont need ur 20v compressor.. u aint got AC... and u dont want that,,,,that is trouble, :lol: .. so sell me it,,,,,i like trouble.. :twisted:

Posted: October 15th, 2008, 11:00 am
by Zeriam
stop marking meh compressor boss 0X :mrgreen:

Re: WTK - AC in AE80. How to improve it???

Posted: October 18th, 2008, 3:09 am
by buzz
ashtech wrote:I using the original compressor for the 3a engine. was jus wondering if i build a bracket and modify the hoses to hold a compressor from a 101 or 110, will it be more cold?????

who can advise?

the fabrication/mod can be done AFAIK

but yea an AC tech would have to advise you about what blower/ expansion valve/ dry cans etc etc etc and all that technical AC stuff i know little about

one thing is for sure

do NOT.... at all costs.... (no pun :lol: )

go by ry@n "ear" :shock:

might cost you the $$$ of a next AE80 :shock: :lol:

Posted: October 18th, 2008, 3:22 am
by buzz
another thing too those compressers uses R-12 gas AFAIK which is obsoluete

there is a replacement gas that is compatabe with R-12 however...

apart from doin the mods and fabrication you may have to flush the entire system if you wanna go original R 134A gas... even more expense...

i use original 134A btw heard some not so good stories about the replacement gas weather rumor or no its just my preference...

but are you sure your system is functioning @ max capacity? i mean maintence wise... topping up/ expansion valve/ bad condenser fan/ clogs in vents... all these things should be taken into consideration as well...

but if you just want to go colder and have the peace of mind of a fresh system... by all means go ahead just do as much research as possible and second even third opinions are always good AND keep us posted i'm sure alot of ppl are interested in this project as well

and prepare yuh pocket AC is pricy biz niz

hope this helps

Posted: October 22nd, 2008, 2:13 pm
by droppa
no need to change yur compressor, jus make sure yuh have no leaks and yuh radiator wukking bess and yuh have a good fan on yuh condenser...

right now i have 3 fans on my 80, with a 2 core rad, so yuh know i freezing tops, the replacement gas for R-12 is 415, and its a higher pressure gas, so its no difference in colding that 134A

Posted: October 25th, 2008, 3:47 am
by corolladude
yeh ! what droppa said! but not 3 fans, like he fans not workin well....1 good ac fan!....and a 2 core rad... :D

Posted: October 29th, 2008, 1:09 pm
by droppa
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: