The 3S-GTE performance thread!

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Monster 101

Re: The 3S-GTE performance thread!

Postby Monster 101 » November 6th, 2012, 2:02 pm

^ ^ yuh see i have a bredrin with a sti with some small bolt ons and he told me he tuned by prentice with his stock ecu and no piggyback..... i tink he making bout 247whp

thats why i asked bout tuning the stock ecu....

i haven't dynoed my car as yet so i don't know what whp it making...

any how i have some small modz but i would like to make a lil more that my bredrin.....

Postby gt4tified » November 6th, 2012, 9:09 pm

247 to the wheels is about 285-290bhp. To get your engine to make that, you will need at least a 2.5" exhaust (starting from the down pipe), better cams, better turbo and tuning.

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » November 7th, 2012, 1:51 am

well i have the 4th gen 3sgte with 2.5" exhauast with the stock dump pipe...still looking for an after market one,
front mount intercooler,
fuel pump,
bov,
electronic boost controller set @ 7psi presently because of high premium price

although i basically stock i giving my bredrin a run for his money....

he may pull off before me but my third gear is a real beast, ah taking him on the third and leaving him with dust in his face..... this was @ 10psi

Postby gt4tified » November 8th, 2012, 4:26 am

Nice. If you have a 4th gen (caldina I presume) then you should be at 265bhp. That CT26 turbo can take up to 20psi no problems. Get an electronic boost controller that is capable of boost 'tuning' and yuh paddna will be eating dust forever. The OEM MAP sensor for that engine supposed to hold up to 18psi before fuel cut. If you install a water/alcohol injection kit, you could use super withat least 1 bar boost no problem.

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » November 8th, 2012, 1:11 pm

ok cool.....yeah it is from the caldina with a mr2 lsd box
the boost controller i using right now is a go fast bits.... working good so far, just need to adjust the gain so that the turbo can spool faster, doh have road by me to set it properly, oh gosh i need a dyno...lol

what about remapping the ecu? can the 3sgte ecu be remapped or is it safer to go with the piggyback?

well right now my car park up...waiting for my clutch kit to arrive tonight......
i ordered an exedy stage 2 clutch kit.....is this good for daily driving and occasional drag race?

btw what can i do to improve traction.....ah looking to buy a set of coilovers after...
any other suggestions?

Postby gt4tified » November 9th, 2012, 2:28 am

No version of the 3sgte ever came with an OBD2 type ecu, so yes at minimum, piggyback. Look into megasquirt ems though...they have a pnp option for the 3sgte now...not sure how the pinning will work with your ecu harness though.

The Exedy Stage 2 is the sprung 3-puck one right? If so, its a beautiful kit. Control your launches and it will last a long time.

Be careful in thinking that adding coilovers will help traction. Many who have put them on will actually tell you the opposite. Your suspension probably needs tuning....something that only a select few in T&T know how to do. And I don't mean Drop Shop, Suspex etc eh! :lol:

What vehicle is your setup in?

razman292

Postby razman292 » November 9th, 2012, 9:55 am

hey guys i installed a st215 in my rolla some months ago but never really gotten around tuning it everything is bone stock, since i put in the engine am getting some black smoke when it is fully warmed up, an only when idling it burn the fuel but if the car is running ever thing runs good until i meet up with some traffic.. any an all help would be nice thanks

ST205_GT4

Postby ST205_GT4 » November 9th, 2012, 5:16 pm

Monster those clutches are nice...i've had them on my 20v and now on my 3s and it works fine..for some strange reason i can no longer log on as (rollaboy20v) so now i have a new user name for those who knew me as (rollaboy20v)..

Postby gt4tified » November 9th, 2012, 10:48 pm

razman292 wrote:hey guys i installed a st215 in my rolla some months ago but never really gotten around tuning it everything is bone stock, since i put in the engine am getting some black smoke when it is fully warmed up, an only when idling it burn the fuel but if the car is running ever thing runs good until i meet up with some traffic.. any an all help would be nice thanks

What size exhaust are you running? Pull your spark plugs and post a pic. Is your engine burning oil? Any check engine codes being generated?

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » November 10th, 2012, 3:44 pm

gt4tified wrote:No version of the 3sgte ever came with an OBD2 type ecu, so yes at minimum, piggyback. Look into megasquirt ems though...they have a pnp option for the 3sgte now...not sure how the pinning will work with your ecu harness though.

The Exedy Stage 2 is the sprung 3-puck one right? If so, its a beautiful kit. Control your launches and it will last a long time.

Be careful in thinking that adding coilovers will help traction. Many who have put them on will actually tell you the opposite. Your suspension probably needs tuning....something that only a select few in T&T know how to do. And I don't mean Drop Shop, Suspex etc eh! :lol:

What vehicle is your setup in?

ok well today i learned something.......might save up and buy a full standalone.....i'll do some research on the d megasquirt.....

the exedy i got is a sprung 3 puck, looks aggressive... :twisted: :twisted:

i was reading some thread on 2nr about balancing the corners of the car when yuh have coilovers installed..is this tuning yuh suspension? if so i was looking to go that way....

the 3s is installed in a ae101 corolla.....

gone today by the mechanic to install the clutch kit, mechanic real busy.... gotta go some time middle next week.... pressure!!!!! really miss driving my car...... :cry:

Postby gt4tified » November 11th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Well, when it comes to the 3SGTE, I never stop learning.

Corner balancing is just that. Suspension tuning involves some serious angles and trigonometry calculations to get it right. The problem with most used coil overs is that you have to make do with whatever spring rate that you get. If you buy them new, with some manufacturers you can choose the spring rates per axle, which helps a lot with a front heavy application like yours Monster 101.

razman292

Postby razman292 » November 12th, 2012, 11:10 am

razman292 wrote:
hey guys i installed a st215 in my rolla some months ago but never really gotten around tuning it everything is bone stock, since i put in the engine am getting some black smoke when it is fully warmed up, an only when idling it burn the fuel but if the car is running ever thing runs good until i meet up with some traffic.. any an all help would be nice thanks

What size exhaust are you running? Pull your spark plugs and post a pic. Is your engine burning oil? Any check engine codes being generated?

ok the exhaust am running is 2an 3/4 in to 3", go have to putt the plugs out an post some pic's on it, the not burning any oil an well as a post to the check light this engine is in ah 101 corolla so i can't say cuz of the Huck up on my original 101 dash

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » November 12th, 2012, 1:40 pm

razman292 wrote:razman292 wrote:

ok the exhaust am running is 2an 3/4 in to 3", go have to putt the plugs out an post some pic's on it, the not burning any oil an well as a post to the check light this engine is in ah 101 corolla so i can't say cuz of the Huck up on my original 101 dash

hey raz yuh conversion is in an ae101..... who did yuh electrical?

wanna check over my electrical some time and get my tach to work properly......

i got a tach adapter but when i go by certain electricians they seem lost.... someone who familiar with the 3s engine.....

Postby gt4tified » February 19th, 2013, 7:59 pm

Come, come fellas. Time to liven up this ched.....what going on wid allyuh beasts?

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 20th, 2013, 12:10 am

still wuking good as the day i installed it....

no problems just tune ups and working fine @ 10 psi....

Postby gt4tified » February 20th, 2013, 2:28 pm

Monster 101 wrote:still wuking good as the day i installed it....

no problems just tune ups and working fine @ 10 psi....

Nice, nice.....Daz what I like to hear.

When yuh ready to turn the boost up lemme know.....I have a FCD for yuh for small $. Have some other stuff for the 3SGTE if you know of anyone who might be interested....HKS 272 cams, 3" downpipe and some other small things.

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 20th, 2013, 5:53 pm

^^^^ no scene......need real good tires when the boost raise..lol

yuh have some good parts they....hks 272 cams.... very aggressive.... i like that

the down pipe is it for the 4th gen 3sgte...???

btw yuh have a cross member from the celica...???

Postby gt4tified » March 1st, 2013, 2:54 am

nope, no spare x-member. the downpipe will bolt to any CTseries turbo...you will have to see how the midpipe meets it on the other end and adjust to suit.

Postby AllTrac » March 1st, 2013, 8:12 am

might be a bit more active in this thread, getting back into the 3sgte scene hopefully, getting an aw11

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » March 1st, 2013, 3:51 pm

^^^^ show off nah....... :)

i wonder if it is certain red one that for sale.......PAU ***

3sgte rwd ftw......talk nah

btw gt4 pm me a number so we could link up for the down pipe....

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » March 15th, 2013, 7:32 pm

Hey im looking for a mr2 gearbox, i kinda effed up mine.. lemme know if you guys know of any for sale..

@gt4tified - pm price of hks cams

ESR...

Postby ESR... » July 25th, 2013, 9:48 am

Been a while since I've been on this forum since I'm no longer in Trinidad but I thought I should share my 3S corolla project with the Trinituner 3S family. The project been up a while now? I sourced a lot of parts while building this from Trinidad (Bamboo & Trinituner users). Here is a couple pics.
Photo 12-31-12, 1 10 23 PM.jpg
Photo 12-31-12, 1 10 23 PM.jpg (93.47 KiB) Viewed 8304 times
Photo 12-31-12, 1 10 02 PM.jpg
Photo 12-31-12, 1 10 02 PM.jpg (92.58 KiB) Viewed 8304 times
Photo 3-17-13, 3 27 26 PM.jpg
Photo 3-17-13, 3 27 26 PM.jpg (92.77 KiB) Viewed 8304 times

Postby gt4tified » July 25th, 2013, 10:42 pm

ESR, it looking sweet man! What centre feed intake is that? Doesn’t look like the RSR or any that I know of...custom built?

ESR...

Postby ESR... » July 26th, 2013, 6:49 am

It's a custom made intake...... I think I actually got the shifter linkage for my gear box from you while I was in Trinidad. That probably was about two years ago.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 17th, 2020, 9:13 pm

Bump where the gen 4 men at?

Postby gt4tified » October 22nd, 2020, 1:26 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Bump where the gen 4 men at?

Holy thread-bump batman!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 5th, 2020, 12:01 am

gt4tified wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Bump where the gen 4 men at?

Holy thread-bump batman!

I find 3s men does be quiet

Return to “TOYOTA”