1jz vvt-i turbo

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

rippitt

1jz vvt-i turbo

Postby rippitt » July 8th, 2010, 10:59 pm

Is anyone in here familiar with the 1jz vvt-i turbo engine? I recently decided to use this engine in a project ride of mine but the thing is i dont know much about this engine. I have heard some say it is better than the older 1jz twin turbo, I heard some say it is more troublesome than the twin turbo. Because its vvt-i can i use a vafc to tune the air flow as well as the vvt? What else can i do to get more than stock out of this engine? Any knowledge shared on this topic will be greatly appreciated. Thanx... :?

Midnight_Demon

Re: 1jz vvt-i turbo

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 9th, 2010, 7:55 am

interesting topic. ive also heard ppl say that it is more troublesome than the older 1jz. some ppl also said that there are few electricians down here that can properly wire the vvti. i know a guy with a 1jz vvti in a cressida and he has problems with his vvti as well as boost problems. he also said that he found the new 1jz harder/ more expensive to modify and that there were less aftermarket parts for it. he advised me to go with a older 1jz or 2jz instead.:?

NOTE: i have never had any personal experience with these engines.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » July 9th, 2010, 8:58 am

its not more trouble most electricians dont know sheit as they never made it out of secondary school , d only difference is the vvt i which is basically changing valve timing on the intake cam,

if u want to get the most out of this engine , change the turbo one time the stock unit is crap, put in something big, walbro fuel pump , 550 cc or bigger injectors , the ignition good as is, the internals strong, huge FMIC, and if u can afford it a standalone EMS , vafc is a waste of time as u can only control airflow. better u go emanage if ur budget small.

pm me for details on ems if u serious.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 9th, 2010, 1:57 pm

First off you need to figure out which car the engine came from, is it the one with the e-trottle?
These engines are not hard to wire and get working but you need everything to make them work properly.
They came with a CT15b turbo (think that is the name) which is a ok size turbo very similar to the 7mgte CT-26.
First upgrade is a boost controller and proper management either a stand alone or and ultimate if you don't have the funds, that way you can up boost, remove fuel and speed cut.
Put in a K&N pod and a 3" exhaust then see what it can do.
If you want more go for a something with a 62mm wheel as the vvti will help spool better and upgrade injectors as needed. I've seen guys run 550 injectors to 400whp easily.

OR if yuh want to go with the twin turbo check meh i willing to trade, i'll even give you the manifold etc i have for it! lol

rippitt

Postby rippitt » July 13th, 2010, 11:25 pm

Ok then it seems as though I am on the right track. I alredy have walbro pump, full 3" stainless steel exhaust, got rid of catalytic converter, apexi intake, apexi boost controller, decent sized fmic (stock turbo for now).
I see a lot of guys having bundles of gauges in their boosted rides, are they really necessary, if so which ones are the important ones? I also intend to use a GS 131 solid banjo disk brake differential is this rear end strong enough for the JZ? :?

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 14th, 2010, 9:04 am

GS 131 supposed to be a "G" series diff that will be very nice for the 1j also alot of available gear ratios, i was looking into this diff when i still had solid axle but i couldn't source any.
As for guages get a wideband and a pyrometer if it's auto you must get a tranny cooler and prol a trans temp guage.
BTW what yuh puttin it in?

rippitt

Postby rippitt » July 17th, 2010, 7:42 pm

well lucky for me I travel to Japan often so I source most of my upgrades there, I even personally selected my own engine. As for the ride that's gettin boosted, well, lets just say I'm not ready to let it out until it's ready. Sorry. I will say however that it originally only comes with an inline 4 cyl. and I've never seen any boosted before.I also want to use the MR2 cooling system where the radiator is in the opposite end of the car cuz no space up front. Engine's already in, now for the intercooling system then wiring.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 18th, 2010, 12:56 am

Mr2 system made sense because of direct air flow, remember you're goin to be puttin the radiator in the rear so a forced air flow might be difficult. Why not try making a custom radiator. I'm sure ther'll be some space between the bumper and panel, or try a "V" mount setup with the radiator and intercooler. Make a radiator with more core rows than usual, that way the height and width can be smaller. Also nex time yuh in japan look up some parts fuh meh!

rippitt

Postby rippitt » July 21st, 2010, 9:23 pm

what about ah really good electrician to wire up this JZ. 1 who has had 1JZ vvt-i wiring experience. I am in central.

rippitt

Postby rippitt » August 26th, 2010, 1:11 am

Those who took offense to the post in the ole talk forum i apologise. I made the regrettable mistake of giving out my password to a "friend". My 1JZ project is almost done. I had problems with getting space for radiator as the vehicle was only designed for a 4 cyl. engine originally. I had no choice but to alter the firewall to push the engine back a little. Only thing to do now is wiring and muffler. Pics will be posted only when i am finished. Thank you rx80 for the advice.

rx80

Postby rx80 » November 8th, 2010, 3:36 pm

bump for updates!!!!!!!

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » November 11th, 2010, 3:09 pm

^^ yeah updates. and pics too

rippitt

Postby rippitt » March 7th, 2011, 10:36 am

Sorry guys for no updates, been really busy and I haven't spent much time on my project. So far I've only setup the intercooler and radiator. The wiring is not quite complete but the vehicle is driving. I am presently out of the country so nothing doing right now. I will post pics when i get home, hopefully it will be completed by June or so.

jigga

Postby jigga » March 13th, 2011, 7:59 pm

yup running one of these in my car with absolutely no problems. still stock for now so really haven't played around with it yet. car runs great!!! just need someone to wire d damn thing right!!

rx80

Postby rx80 » March 14th, 2011, 10:25 am

Jigga, Who did the electrical on your car and what application?

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » March 14th, 2011, 11:28 am

Jigga, i've done the research. the only way you can get "everything" working (im assuming u mean dash temp guage, trc control,power/snow etc) is to continue to use the 1g ecu in parallel with the 1jz. i.e the the 1jz handles all engine and the 1g multiplex handles everything else. some signals will have to be shared between both ecu.

i'm chatting with a guy (graham) that did the same swap in the gxe10, only difference is he used a full stand alone for the engine and spliced the oem 1G. he also said if he had to do it over again he'd keep the oem 1jz ecu cause it handles the vvt-i better than the stand alone.

the thing is we have to find somebody that is willing to take the time to do it, cause it is a tedious job and then we have to pay them for that time.

so far, using his input and advice, i've mangaged to keep my oem fans, rad etc cause i've modified the jz engine mounts. the engine now sits 75+mm farther back and i think 20mm lower in the engine bay. also i don't have pics of mine (but u can see it in person if you go to the garage) but here are some pics of his
Engine Position.jpg

rx80

Postby rx80 » March 14th, 2011, 2:12 pm

seecarr11, couldn't you have used the is300 JZ engine mounts to sit the engine in a stock position? I'm planning to put one of the 1jz vvti in my car but i can't seem to source an aftermarket manifold, know of anyone with any?

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » March 14th, 2011, 2:51 pm

yeah i could have, however it would mean that the stock radiator fans would have be changed to the slimline ones, existing holes for the tranmission would have to be redrilled and some other misc stuff.

the main advantage of what i did or hoped i achieved was moving the engine center of gravity/weight backward to help main the 50/50 weight distribution. that is also the main reason i choose the 1JZ vvt-i over the 2jz. not so much the cost. the 2jz-gte weighs 279kg, 1jz-gte weighs 220kg, 1jz-vvt-i weights 217kg (probably cause its single turbo so the manifold piping is less complicated) and my stock 1g-fe weighs 179kg, maybe 185-190 with the TTE charger kit. so in short, im a little more busty in the front (now i'm a "c"cup?)but not too much

i drove the car only a few times but so far it still feels the same entering the corners. i'm still confident with that. hp doesn't matter so much there. Also i should mention that my suspension isn't stock. the trd yellow coilovers can take the weight, not the trd sportivo

exiting the corner though, that is a bit more exciting :-) Not so confident there, cause i always had traction control to save my ass before, now....well i'm really glad i invested in that torsen lsd cause that would be madness on an open diff imho

Now i'm not trying to say that a 2jz convo won't work, but for what i like to do with the car, i'm more interested in a car that handles well than a car that can go really fast in a straight line. "the most important thing is balance" - drift king

you're lucky. toyota already thought about all that when they put the 1jz in yours. next time i'll be sure to just "buy it fast" like u rather than "make it fast" . its a lot cheaper in the long run

as for the aftermarket manifold, the vvt-i spacing is different so u won't get it here (atlantic side of the world). i found one in hong kong, brand new, looks really good and already recommended but it will cost 350us plus 150us just shipping to the USA.

I think you should try to fab it yourself
Last edited by seecarr11 on April 19th, 2011, 1:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 15th, 2011, 4:47 pm

How much to swap the 1JZ in?

Is the weight difference between the 1JZ and 2JZ without transmission?

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » March 16th, 2011, 9:36 am

1jz-gte auto= 7500+
1jz-gte vvti auto 9000+, manual(r154) 20k+

intercooler, 3"piping, hoses, clamps, cone filter, new fuel return etc 7000+
exhaust= stainless steel mandrel bend, tig welled 7500+, plain steel mandrel, 4500 , steel no mandrel bends 3000+

labour, install wiring, electric =5000+8000

misc items, (regassing and a/c line install) 1500+, new slim rad fans (if u go that way) 1000+ fabshop work (modify drive shaft, custom engine mounts, etc) 3000+

gauges, depends on brand & diameter but you will need to invest in at least water temp,

i'd say it could cost 30k plus

the weights i gave were engine only. 2jz-gte plus v160 (if you can find it) is over 330kg

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 14th, 2011, 10:12 pm

Bump so who running the vvti post some pics nah!!

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » April 19th, 2011, 1:08 pm

alright i'll post. its still not finished but here are some teasers.
IMG_0164.jpg
IMG_0153.jpg

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 21st, 2011, 12:51 pm

Auto with stock ecu? Who's doing the electrical for you? Install comming along well man..

anthero

Postby anthero » April 26th, 2011, 11:31 pm

nice post yo i got a c32 laurel with a 1jz gte non vvti wana change it to manual transmission should i or should i not???
what i wanna know is there available w58 gb and how much is it
a guy told me i could use the r154 gb but i gotta get the bellhousing form the w58

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » April 27th, 2011, 2:56 pm

yeah you could do that, or better yet, if you find a r154 that came with a 1j you would be good to go. when u find it, its gonna cost you thou. may as well look for a v160 while you shopping. Talk to rx80. he'll know where to look

oh and if u want and can't find the r154, i have W58 from a mk3 supra for sale

anthero

Postby anthero » April 28th, 2011, 10:18 am

pm mw the price yo

CleanAudio

Postby CleanAudio » February 22nd, 2014, 2:28 pm

bumping an IMPORTANT old thread...
R154 5speed from an Mk3 Supra (MA70) 3.0 turbo (needs a Jz bellhousing)..
The W58 breaks easily with anything more than 350hp...I think there are two types of w58's though..The cheap one that breaks quickly is the steel and the other(stronger) one is the alloy.

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » March 23rd, 2014, 12:18 pm

turbo.
IMG-20121006-00238 (Medium).jpg
Houston-20130527-00358.jpg
IMG-20130619-00391s.jpg
IMG-20130811-00052s.jpg
attachment=0]IMG-20130811-00056s.jpg[/attachment]
IMG-20130811-00056s.jpg