1 kd ftv engine

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Information Officer

1 kd ftv engine

Postby Information Officer » November 24th, 2010, 2:19 pm

Guys I am the owner of a 2001 hilux surf, the stock engine is a 1KDFTV, it is burning a quart of oil every month and a half and is smoking excesively black. Looking for a new engine , can anyone direct me to where I can find a used 1kd engine

bigchief3679

Re: 1 kd ftv engine

Postby bigchief3679 » November 24th, 2010, 3:23 pm

black smoke indicates a fuel issue, did you have it checked out by a reputable garage?
also, if you are losing oil, did you check that it isn't your turbo? (Assuming its turbocharged). An engine is going to cost you ALOT, i believe bamboo marketing sold one a few months ago for $50k

Information Officer

Postby Information Officer » November 24th, 2010, 3:36 pm

it is turbo charged , the new vigo and fortuners carry the same engine. Most mechanics I went to cannot solve the issue, they do not have knoledge on the 1kdftv

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 24th, 2010, 7:15 pm

smorgan@tdc.co.tt check your pm

smorgan

Postby smorgan » November 26th, 2010, 1:24 pm

Any recommended mechanics?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 2nd, 2010, 6:56 pm

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 6th, 2010, 3:22 pm

From 2006, the Prados came with that engine.

What's the mileage on the engine?

Those are suppose to be bullet proof but I know the quality of Trini diesel is extremely poor.

Call Browne 684-4883. He's in Couva. Get his / a second opinion.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 6th, 2010, 8:31 pm

nope prado is 1kz. hilux and fortuner and vigo is 1kd and 2kd, the first being 3.0 and the latter being 2.5.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 7th, 2010, 3:17 am

Google the 2006 Prado specs... 1kz phased out and replaced with common rail d4d 1 kd-FTV

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 8th, 2010, 7:28 pm

the local prado never changed the engine, they still come with the 1kz, foreign used may come with 1kd, but if it is local it is 1kz

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 11th, 2010, 3:26 pm

hoss i now check the new model prado land cruiser and they come with teh 1kd, why i said that the older models came with it is because the new model land cruiser comes also with a v8 twin turbo diesel and thas the one i work on only yesterday i saw the 1kd in one but didnt notice it because of the remodeled tappit cover

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 11th, 2010, 9:21 pm

Cool.... thanks for correcting yourself. The 06 Prados have the D4D tappit cover.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 12th, 2010, 1:23 pm

a foreign used also came in and i saw the 1kd, the local prado not the land cruiser came with 1kz.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 13th, 2010, 10:41 am

Prefer the 1kz to the 1kd ... esp with the quality of diesel we get here in sweet TNT.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 14th, 2010, 7:10 pm

believe dat

droppa

Postby droppa » December 20th, 2010, 8:12 am

the toyota man in maracas st joseph has an add in the express with a 1kd fs, u can check him,

btw 50K for ah engine dred, i would look to re-build.....

check cyrus in enterprise he may be able to solve the problem for yuh, he was once one of TTTLs mechs.....

turbohead, u workin TTTL?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 21st, 2010, 3:12 pm

droppa wrote:turbohead, u workin TTTL?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 24th, 2010, 6:45 pm

yeh droppa. started in march this year but was a trainee when ah was in nesc. jus went back to chill out and grasp some knowledge and figure out what next

droppa

Postby droppa » December 29th, 2010, 2:26 pm

u know cyrus, i hear real ppl does talk bout him......

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 29th, 2010, 7:18 pm

i dont know him personaly, he left a while now. heard he is good. has his own place now

ezqz

Postby ezqz » March 3rd, 2011, 8:30 am

I recently replaced a 1KZ engine. The problem - it was showing smoke & hard starting when hot only. This was after i replaced the glow plugs & injectors. It was not burning oil. I still believe it was the fuel pump or injectors at fault. Any advice appreciated.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 3rd, 2011, 11:50 am

that real strange, smoking and no oil burning....hmmmm

did u clean/service the intake, a stuck/malfunctioning EGR causes a ton load of crud to build up inside the intake, that causes alot of the smoking issues....

the hard starting is also not a very common problem, did u open the engine and check to see if there was any damage on the head, or to the block/pistons/rings.....

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 3rd, 2011, 8:56 pm

check and see if you get a code 14 when you bridge the terminals on the scan port. these 1kz consistant for timing control valve failure

varun mur

Postby varun mur » January 21st, 2015, 6:03 pm

goodday im currently having a problem with my 2009 hiace 1kd engine when the vehicle is on idle it give out white smoke and when i press and release the accelerator peddle it sounds like a suction sound after about a minuite it works normal again it does not happen all the time like once in every 2 days.
Can u please help me out
the suction sould is like an air brakes sound and it comes from the exhaust in the back

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » March 8th, 2016, 5:53 pm

Following

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 15th, 2019, 10:30 am

Resurrecting an old thread

Supreme-Dog

Postby Supreme-Dog » November 23rd, 2019, 2:11 pm

Any updates on where and how much this 1kd-ftv goes for now?

mad

Postby mad » January 5th, 2020, 9:38 pm

varun mur wrote:goodday im currently having a problem with my 2009 hiace 1kd engine when the vehicle is on idle it give out white smoke and when i press and release the accelerator peddle it sounds like a suction sound after about a minuite it works normal again it does not happen all the time like once in every 2 days.
Can u please help me out
the suction sould is like an air brakes sound and it comes from the exhaust in the back

Did you get through with this problem?

jackal

Postby jackal » February 11th, 2020, 8:47 pm

This sounds like water in the fuel. Change the fuel filter and the possibility of draining your fuel tank and changing out the fuel if the problem persist.

Return to “TOYOTA”