Starlet Boost Problems
Posted: July 10th, 2012, 4:31 pm
by msg1
Having a problem wit my starlet after installing a manual boost controller. Car keeps backfiring, jerking (leaning out) after about 12psi. I think the original turbo has seen its time too since it is leaking oil into the intake. The major problem though is the backfiring. Considering AEM FIC or new turbo kit. Any starlet tuners out there with any suggestions.??
Re: Starlet Boost Problems
Posted: July 10th, 2012, 4:58 pm
by reddo_tuner
Manual boost gauges are not accurate and give lots of problems and yes, sounds like the seals are bad in the turbo. Regarding the upgrades, it depends on what your plans are and what your budget is but in all scenarios a new turbo kit makes sense if you have the $$$$ with management....
Posted: July 10th, 2012, 5:10 pm
by msg1
think i am going to have to do the entire upgrade, td04L, FIC and maybe injectors by next month
Posted: July 10th, 2012, 5:34 pm
by Hibrydsoul
please keep us updated as to the progress with pics..... and I'd personally like to find out what the cost was and the before and after in terms of performance.
Posted: July 10th, 2012, 11:17 pm
by reddo_tuner
TD04 is good power, even better with the management. Just remember to take your time with the build

Posted: July 11th, 2012, 7:06 pm
by bigchief3679
After 12 psi u say?
You sure you are not hitting fuel cut
Fuel cut on my 4efte comes in at 12.5 psi or so
Posted: July 12th, 2012, 10:37 am
by reddo_tuner
bigchief3679 wrote:After 12 psi u say?
You sure you are not hitting fuel cut
Fuel cut on my 4efte comes in at 12.5 psi or so
a friend suggested this as well
Posted: July 13th, 2012, 9:32 pm
by msg1
well after doing much diggin up i think it is actually d fuel cut. nonetheless still have to change d leaky turbo.
Posted: July 18th, 2012, 2:53 pm
by msg1
So now looking for a TD04L kit. Anyone knows of any available?
Posted: July 20th, 2012, 4:40 pm
by sankar
Hey anyone know where I can get a head and block for the starlet 4EFTE...under stress right now any advice would be good...thanks in advance
Posted: July 20th, 2012, 9:11 pm
by msg1
Mahadeo's in the Bamboo. check them but the engine is all over
Posted: October 26th, 2012, 8:14 am
by msg1
Problems solved. Hats off to Skip, a job well done.
Posted: October 27th, 2012, 7:49 am
by Hook
So what was the problem and how'd he solve it?
Posted: November 2nd, 2012, 4:04 pm
by msg1
Turbo changed.Old mech did not hook up boost controller properly and turbo went poof. Controller was also a waste.
Posted: November 5th, 2012, 9:33 am
by reddo_tuner
msg1 wrote:Turbo changed.Old mech did not hook up boost controller properly and turbo went poof. Controller was also a waste.
Solution: change Mechanic
Posted: November 22nd, 2012, 5:34 pm
by zryfle
lol . indeed. and find a good one u can trust . Boi building this engine and boosting it is fun , but at times u hve to know what u want in d end . how much hp what u want it for all depends on u and how much u will to do and spend. i did a over haul on my engine and it still eh done yet

Posted: November 23rd, 2012, 12:32 pm
by msg1
Well, new mani, turbo on.car workin fine.u right zryfle, u must know what u want. it rel temptin to keep buildin tho.still have more stuff to do. but boost problems gone. all is well for now.may pass thru d meet sunday if it still on.
Posted: November 23rd, 2012, 8:49 pm
by zryfle
boi i eh kno what goin on sunday nobody call meh or anything. will sum one fill me in.
Posted: November 27th, 2012, 11:08 pm
by haydn28
its all in the tune guys lol
Posted: December 10th, 2012, 6:45 pm
by Razkal
^not if your mechanicals are in sub-par condition

i'd love to see you "tune-out" or "tune-away" bad turbo seals

Posted: January 8th, 2013, 12:34 pm
by msg1
now i need a gearbox. boosting properly again.