Turbo Charged FTO

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

antiguangenius

Turbo Charged FTO

Postby antiguangenius » July 24th, 2009, 12:49 am

My Plan is to Turbocharge my FTO below are the details I'm planning to work with tell me what you guys think?

1. 6A13tt Tranplant. This will take the capacity from 2 litres to 2.5 litres.
The 6A13tt was designed for the twin turbo setup so has strengthend internals and
runs a compression ratio of 8.5 - 1. The original 6A12 runs 10 - 1 compression so
needs decompression plates for any turbo. The twin turbo of the 6A13tt is tiny and
will fit in the bay of the FTO without major changes to the firewall.

2. Turbo. I want to probably put a single Garrett GT35/40 turbo.
This means a new fully fabricated exaust manifold system, ceramic coated, hence some of the delays.
I am hoping this turbo will not have too much lag for this engine and I would certainly not go any bigger.
*but later in the project*

3. Intercooler . A must for this setup. (front mounted ofcourse) with Core Dimensions: 23"L x 12"H

4. Fuel System. A WALBRO 255 LPH fuel pump and upgrading all 6 injectors to 850cc. & fuel reg.

Fuel Pump Rewire: Rewiring the fuel pump with a larger gauge wire can help the stock pump (or any aftermarket pump) maintain higher fuel pressure/volume throughout its' entire operating range, as the stock wire is pretty small. The small wire limits the voltage to the pump, and under high boost, the lower voltage can severely affect fuel output. Some people have measured 10 volts or less at the pump under high boost with the stock wiring. Adding a larger wire and relay to feed the pump can restore the voltage to that of the battery (usually 13-14V), maximizing pump output.

5. ECU . Haltech E6k ECU

6. Tranny. 5 Speed Manual Gearbox with LSD Diff (Tiptronic gotta go I might break it.)

7. Brakes. Black Diamond Combi Brake Discs - Doesn't like top stop right now much-less to this huge upgrade

8. Clutch - FTO Paddle Race Clutch

9. BOV - Dual Type RS Turbo Blow Off Valve on 2.5" Dual Adapter Flange Pipe

10. Oil Catch can - LOL

What my friend abroad got!!!

Reporting at 7 psi it is pulling 300hp, at 14 psi it is pulling 370 hp, and at 16 it is 410.

I wanna crank 20+ :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

More Updates Soon....... Please feel free to add info....

Postby crazybalhead » July 24th, 2009, 7:15 am

1) What type of managment you will use?
2) Why in the world would you need two BOV's for that little boost???

antiguangenius

Postby antiguangenius » July 24th, 2009, 10:03 am

crazybalhead wrote:1) What type of managment you will use?
2) Why in the world would you need two BOV's for that little boost???

I was thinking Haltech E6k ECU.....

lol I just thinks that the dual will sound cool....lol...

I really wanna crank about 20 psi....

Postby crazybalhead » July 24th, 2009, 11:30 am

It MAY sound cool, but that is just another potential boost leak waiting to happen.

antiguangenius

Postby antiguangenius » July 24th, 2009, 12:43 pm

that may be true...

what you think about the ECU anyways??

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » August 16th, 2009, 7:17 pm

lovely car great project. before u buy the 2.5tt look for the 3.0tt first if u dont get it well do the next best thing. and keep doing your research and lots of it and cross reference your information to make sure it is accurate. try not to spend bad money we in ah recession. good luck keep us posted

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » August 16th, 2009, 7:21 pm

how much does ah FTO go for now

blazing

Postby blazing » August 17th, 2009, 9:57 am

the 3.0 litre does not fit without major changes to the firewal...

even the 2.5l has some clearance issues with the turbo hitting the steering rack. Will need to re route the manifold.

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » August 17th, 2009, 10:40 pm

how much HP u think u can get out of the 6a12 if u turbo charge????

xtech

Postby xtech » August 17th, 2009, 11:16 pm

SCHOLARS wrote:how much HP u think u can get out of the 6a12 if u turbo charge????

They came stock in these.
The 7th Gen Galant VR4............ But with engine on the passenger side

[spoiler]6A12TT inside think they were 240 hp
Image[/spoiler]

R32 Gtr VS TURBO CHARGED Mitsubishi FTO...........Who has no traction
FWD vs 4WD

R32 Gtr VS TURBO CHARGED Mitsubishi FTO.... forget

Postby 7143 » August 23rd, 2009, 8:12 pm

sweet project padna.....but that dual bov idea....toss it......other than that it sounding real good...and some good info there with the current wire to the fuel pump under large boost.....good luck....and make sure and document the process so that we can see.....

xtech

Postby xtech » September 19th, 2009, 3:00 pm

here it is fellas remember that 6A13TT i had here forsale yeah this guy brought it an took it up to Antigua

http://antiguastreetz.com/forums/projec ... o-fto.html
^^^^his build thread
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/kc658oGXGcQ&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>
^^^ first time he started it............no turbo just idling N/A cant fit twin turbos under this hood

Postby 7143 » September 19th, 2009, 8:12 pm

^nice.....probabli cost him alot doh....

xtech

Postby xtech » September 19th, 2009, 9:04 pm

man driving it without the turbo an it ripping tires in 2nd n 3rd without even trying.

vipervega

Postby vipervega » September 24th, 2009, 1:51 pm

how much do these FTO,s go for ppl ?

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 24th, 2009, 3:21 pm

antiguangenius wrote:that may be true...

what you think about the ECU anyways??

how d project coming along big brother

ftocopilot

Re: Turbo Charged FTO

Postby ftocopilot » July 14th, 2010, 6:30 am

Went looking on the net for you and found this guy having done the same transplant and is rally driving it - awesome
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pV-mXAC18E
Best wishes for your transplant

Return to “MITSUBISHI”