WTK 4G15 DOHC or 4G92 SOHC?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 18th, 2007, 9:32 pm

X_Factor wrote:aye i checked the foreign used place on evans street today..they wanted 2K for the 4g15 engine alone..wit ecu and harnes no tranny..engines looked in decent condition

This is a 4g15 DOHC? That price starting to get me interested in this.

By the way mitsu gurus, let's say I can get the 4g15DOHC for the 2k above, how easy would this be to swap with my 4g13SOHC EFI engine?

I know I can use back my tranny, but would I have to rewire or change any parts?

Also how much should it cost to swap out the 4g13 block for the 4g15?

Is it something one could do @ home, or do you have to remove the whole engine to do it (engine lift, ramp etc required).

It really seems that the 4g15 DOHC is a much better base for additional mods than the 4g13, and if I could get it for not much more than $2k, that's starting to look a lot more possible.

Stephen.

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 18th, 2007, 10:45 pm

Ok me 4G13 conk out and I not spending no more money on it!!! :twisted: :twisted: :cry: :evil: . It park up since Wednesday morning.Steups.

Looking to buy new engine and do swap next week. Somewhere in Chaguanas have 4G15 complete for $4800. Will keep you all informed and post pics

Thanks again for all the input guys

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 19th, 2007, 5:19 am

like yuh not interested in mine @ all.... come an take th car 4 a spin and fall in love with th engine... :D

look back on dem pics... yuh eh find it sexy o wah? :lol:

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 19th, 2007, 7:17 pm

like yuh not interested in mine @ all.... come an take th car 4 a spin and fall in love with th engine...

look back on dem pics... yuh eh find it sexy o wah?

Honestly I thinking bout it eh....

Only thing is madam not too much into gears. Gears is only to past driving test.LoL.

Wha price you looking at?

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 22nd, 2007, 12:32 am

well in dah case dah won't make sense... i lookin to sell it 4 real tho cause i gettin ah bess deal on a 4g92... i paid 7k for mine complete and since then i've serviced and changed all belts fluids and hised so i'm lookin @ around 6 complete... so i wud advise u get one in th bamboo if they goin for $4.3k now as posted... th reason y i won't sell mine for less is cause i know the condition it in and i know the work i put into it... and well my price is complete with all mounts and axles... if u kno anybody dah interested hit me up...

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 24th, 2007, 9:40 pm

Sorry I can't take yours boy rych. My transplant happening early next week. I go take a before and after pic. Hope my install looks as genuine as yours :? LoL

Nah but my mechanic could handle he stories. Well ,till next week.

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 25th, 2007, 7:49 am

yeh padna... i wanna see th end result... i thinkin of a way to get the top of my engine restored to the original color... it's close but not as shiny... an i goin an undertake some suspension work on my car this week herei fedup hear strange noises when i drivin down the road... and the final step is to sell it... the car that is...

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 25th, 2007, 7:51 am

if i get the original shine back to the engine cover i'll let you know wah i did cause i realize a lot of engines in the bamboo look old and that takes away from the appearance of the engine bay...

Postby X_Factor » May 25th, 2007, 8:15 am

^^ a good degreaser and autosol?
i've even seen ah youth man polishin/cleaning ah engine wit SILVERO

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » May 25th, 2007, 9:33 pm

hos autosol is th worst thing to try an clean dah up with lol... yuh wud be cleanin it for days...... yuh need purple blaster and a pressure steam cleaner... doh kno anyone with one tho... :(

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » June 17th, 2007, 12:35 am

Update:
After much waiting,my mechanic finally have time for me. :evil:
So my engine is being installed this weekend. Should have my car back either Monday or Tuesday. Already have "before" pics.Will post "after" pics.

My mechanic is the Event Coordinator for the big drag meet coming up at the end of June in Antigua that was featured in the Newsday Sports section a couple days ago. So to get him to stay put is a hassle :)
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=136503

Richie Rich(The car not the tuner :D ) was in the garage when I checked him.They were rebuilding the engine

I here some Trinituner picture takeouters wil be there,so look for the pics

I think 15 trini cars gone up. I wish them the best

Well till later....

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » June 17th, 2007, 1:13 am

pics! pics! pics!

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » June 27th, 2007, 10:06 pm

Installation completed(almost) since last Tuesday(19/June/07)......but ,of course there is a but, the distributor was bad and I did not get to change it cause I went across to Tobago for a day. Mechanic had to fly out to Antigua. :evil: How blight am I.

He coming back for a few days so job will be completed then.I got the distributor exchanged already.

Install looks neat.I will take pics before and after I clean it up.
So hopefully :oops: weekend.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 28th, 2007, 12:57 am

Hey the distributor isn't difficult to install... Just remove the old one and on the next one line up the notches on the inside rotor and install.

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » June 28th, 2007, 1:37 am

^^^I didn't think it would be much but I would rather him be around when the keys are first turned :D

Car still by him anyway.

Here's the old 4G13.Lived it's life.Served well.R.I.P :lol: Certain parts can use back on the 4G15. So will have some basic small spares.

Just a lil learning here... To all who not sure. My car came 4G13 CK1 and look at the appearance. Looks like a "CK4" right? :D Right.As we said before it's the engine size that matters

After pics to come....

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 3rd, 2007, 7:22 pm

Electrician sticking....................

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 24th, 2007, 1:05 am

Ok hear finally got back my car last night.It took so long you would swaer I putting in a 4G63T!!!! 2 months and more!!!!
Had a lotta problems.Imagine money was not one of them :evil:
Run around with electricians(yes mechanic tried to lock down a few) Wait 2 weeks for one to come wire the distributor.Real set up.Eventually the mechanic had to tow the damn car by one not too far away.

The distributor that came with the engine was defective,got it replaced(We suspect wit the SAME one) That not good too.Had to go get one in the Bamboo.Got it for $400(usually goes for $600) Went by the engine ppl and make some noise got back all my money. 2 sensors were bad too.We bought those.Mechanic said he will deal with them in his own way :P .

So here it is all dirty. Timing belt cover have a small break :?

It's dirty as hell!! Gotta get that stuff rych-bess use on his and clean it up.Was supposed to install cone filter and piping one time eh,but I just wanted back me damn car yes. :lol:

Difference between 4G13 & 4G15?? Decent pull off.You can actually overtake with AC on now. :o LoL. I eh really push it yet.Made 155km/h easy on my way home tonight.Mechanic told me to drive it hard though, break it in. He put regular oil to break it in and in 2 months time we go to fully synthetic.

What else??? Hmmm....Oh only thing that is not working now is the gear position indicator on the dash. The P,R & N working normal.But when you go to drive the indicator goes to L :shock: .But hear this nah :lol: when the car goes to 2nd the indicator goes to 2,3rd gear the indicator goes to 3 and 4th gear goes to D :mrgreen:

^^^^^Anybody else did a swap like me and experienced this?Or did the electrician wire it up one time???

The deal with that is The 4G13 had 2 computers.One for the Tranny and one for the Engine.The 4G15 has only on computer that controls both engine and tranny. Some madness like that yes.

It can be wired to work but $$$.You could imagine the money an electrician go charge to fix dat. Small ting yes.D car wokkin.I just unique :mrgreen:

Hope I helped out some PPL. Laterz and thanks for the help

.......Now where is that '4G15 tuning and related info' thread

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 25th, 2007, 9:03 am

Purple Blaster in he MC this morning :mrgreen:
Tip: Follow the instructions :twisted: :twisted:
Scrub with a lil hand brush,toothbrush for hard to reach places.
When rinsing use same brush /toothbrush to help wash off residue properly.Or else it leaves a very white residue.Trust me on that one...... :x

Cover all the vitals.Distributor,alternator,injectors,all obvious jacks/harneses,etc.

BLAST AWAY!!!

Edit: Oh yeah after blasting and rinsing,allow water to run off for a 5 mins then start the car and let idle. The heat generated will dry up a lot of the moisture.

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 27th, 2007, 7:25 pm

After some WD40 in he rass....

srnoth

Postby srnoth » August 4th, 2007, 9:27 pm

Nice!!

Making me feel to do the same thing too... but the 4g13 still working okay enough. I guess you not missing the days of having to mash right down, forcing the car to drop into second and rev all up by 5000rpm just to overtake :lol: !

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » August 4th, 2007, 10:29 pm

srnoth wrote:Nice!!

Making me feel to do the same thing too... but the 4g13 still working okay enough. I guess you not missing the days of having to mash right down, forcing the car to drop into second and rev all up by 5000rpm just to overtake :lol: !
^^^LOL I had enough of that yes.

Performmance difference if instantly noticable

Only thing to test now is fuel consumption. Hope it better than d 150miles per tank I started to get with de 4G13 :evil:

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » August 6th, 2007, 12:48 pm

ah hah i see yuh took meh advice... i'll see if i can get th timing belt cover for you... i sawa a few of these engines scrapping and well meh bredrin buyin ah head for his today... so if we endup with an extra i'll link yuh... it lookin good tho man...

vipervega

Postby vipervega » August 6th, 2007, 1:58 pm

wat exactly is MAP and MAF

srnoth

Postby srnoth » August 6th, 2007, 2:47 pm

vipervega wrote:wat exactly is MAP and MAF

Basically one measures air pressure while the other measures air flow. You can read more here:

MAF:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_flow_sensor

MAP:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAP_sensor

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » August 6th, 2007, 4:18 pm

ah hah i see yuh took meh advice... i'll see if i can get th timing belt cover for you... i sawa a few of these engines scrapping and well meh bredrin buyin ah head for his today... so if we endup with an extra i'll link yuh... it lookin good tho man...

Thanks man.Nice to get a thumbs up from "The Authority" :mrgreen:

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » August 6th, 2007, 10:12 pm

Aye rych,lewwe take cone filter and piping now :D

When,where,how?LoL.

PM me some info if you doh want $ talk out in de open.

Any noticable gains/difference?

eVoJJ

Postby eVoJJ » August 6th, 2007, 10:18 pm

aye morpheus...i now seeing these pics here....looks great man....good job done with the engine wash

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » August 6th, 2007, 10:31 pm

^^^Thanks man Jones775

srnoth

Postby srnoth » August 11th, 2007, 12:06 am

Hey folks,

I was thinking over Morpheus' install here, and I was wondering about the possibility of putting in a 4g18. Here are my thoughts:
*Same engine design as the 4g13/15, so it should fit in exact, bolt-to-bold where the previous engine was.
*SOHC & same engine design should mean the electrical is basically the same, so the existing wiring harness could probably be used, saving plenty time/money/problems from having to re-wire the car.

What do you guys think about this? How does the 4g18 compare in performance to the 4g15DOHC or the 4g92SOHC? How responsive is it to performance mods like turbocharging or nos?

I have driven one in a 2001 lancer, and I though it was certainly faster than my CK1, it wasn't all that impressive. But that is a Carb 4g18, so I would expect the EFI ones to perform better.

What do you guys think?

peri

Postby peri » August 12th, 2007, 3:56 pm

HEY PEOPLE WATS UP DOES THE GSR LANCERS COME WIT A 4G18 ENGINE IF SO IS IT MORE POWERFUL THAN THE 1.6MIVEC ENGINE? NEED SOME HELP PEOPLE ,I SERIOUS HAVE TO CHANGE MY 4G13 ENGINE ITS WAIST OF TIME.

PERI

Return to “MITSUBISHI”