***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

W2J

Re: ***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Postby W2J » July 13th, 2010, 10:38 am

Death-Row wrote:w2j, so what would u say is the best exhaust setup? straight 3" ? or i can up it a bit and go 3 1/2 to the back half of the exhaust system?

best you stick with 3" and run a o2 dump

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 13th, 2010, 12:24 pm

thanks, my external wastegate was originally plumbed back into my exhaust but recently i sent it to atmosphere by cutting the piping, facing it in a safe direction downwards, patching back the hole in the exhaust where the wastegate pipe used to enter. wastegate to atmosphere is loud as a mofo tho lol. my exhaust needs some work tho, i got 2 1/2 downpipe, 3" piping after, then for some reason it has a 2" piece of pipe in the middle of the car then back out to 3" to the barrel :S lol.

a next question w2j, do you think its worth spending the extra cash (alot of extra cash lol) and buy a brand new full exhaust kit? (hks, greddy, apexi) or just go by a good exhaust man down here and make my own? (lifewear, farly). my power goals will not be passing 400HP.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 13th, 2010, 6:43 pm

^ exhaust man like Andy or Farley would be able to do a great job.

Postby janfar » August 5th, 2010, 5:18 am

Like everybody sell they rides or what??? Not hearing anyone...

Im on a long term recovery mission. New goals set... parts ordered...

Row... yuh get thru with the exhaust???

Nik... how yuh looking these days... you still have your ride right...

The man from Grande with the red evo that come and wake me off my bed after a hard night of liver punishment... yuh on here???

Nik

Postby Nik » August 5th, 2010, 6:52 am

4real men quiet here lol...

i think Row gone 2 paint... ah waitin 2 see d look when it done... was told of the new look yesterday lol... good idea Row good idea...

Janfar... well remember d evo sell & is a mazda sport20 i have now... likein it & waitin 2 do sum work on it hehe... but due 2 my love for mitsu i think i shudda wait as i see "miguel granville" post up a ck4 & me likey...

but say wah i will try & hold on 2 this ride 4 d while & inna 2yrs come bak wit a EVO VIII :oops: hopefully lol

how things shaping up wit ur ride??? got a next motor yet???

Postby janfar » August 5th, 2010, 8:07 am

Next motor... nahhh!!!!

New plans... rebuilding... ordering parts piece by piece as money comes available and slowly but surely i should have the car rebuilt to what I want by years end... an I want alot!!!

Postby janfar » August 5th, 2010, 8:09 am

Wait wait... is ah sport 20 yuh say??? Yuh aint even buy something and remotely as exciting as the evo...

You sir, have lost all my respect...

***throws rocks at Nik***

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » August 5th, 2010, 12:42 pm

ok guys,

putting some knowledge here for future early evo owners:

recently, i have change all my belts i.e, camshaft, alternator, balancer etc. all the sprockets and gears line up correctly and accordingly to the marks on the engine block... so i drive the car.

horrible HORRIBLE vibration from the car, at first thought it was the muffler, but that was working fine long before. it turns out to be, the balance shaft...

NOTE: unbolt the plug to the balance shaft. place a 8mm screwdriver in the hole (mark the screwdriver length @ 20mm and 60mm). if the screwdriver does not go down any more than 20mm, curse curse curse curse, then start all over. it must go down 60mm or more for the balance shaft to be correctly aligned.

now to resolve this, yuh got to take down all them fooking pulleys belts, passenger engine mount again... EPIC SIGH. turn the oil sprocket another 360 degrees to get the balance shaft to turn 180 degrees... put back on the belts. turn on the car, make sure yuh not vibrating yuh arse off... bolt up everything etc...

this was my plague for over 2 months. FML.

hope this helps any searcher's on the site in the future.

NOTE Symptoms:

1. vibration at regular idle (800rpms)
2. vibration under load between 1800-3000 rpms
3. 'sizzling' of dash and items in car.
4. rattling muffler to body or surrounding parts

word to yo' mother.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » August 5th, 2010, 12:45 pm

oh, the bolt for the hole-to-balance shaft is located behind the engine between the firewall and the block (lower to crank level). you can reach it from under the car between the cross-member and exhaust pipe.

Swift Boy

Postby Swift Boy » August 5th, 2010, 1:30 pm

hmm...I'm expriencing same problem, no vibration at idle but I'm getting vibration under load at 1800-3000 rpms.
Good info bro, gonna look into this right away as this vibration is irritating the sh!t outta me :evil:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » August 5th, 2010, 1:42 pm

check the plug in the back with the screwdriver first to make sure 100%

to be fair to the local mechs, this 4G63T is funky compared to the newer engines - i want to remove the balance shafts all together but it dere for a reason oui.

Nik

Postby Nik » August 5th, 2010, 8:58 pm

janfar steups... lol

i originally was lookin for a P11 primera & was gettin a bess 1 too 4 a bess price but when time 4 me 2 buy d guy set me up & all others available @ d time was goin for 60-65K (overpriced imo)then i thought a manual CK4 wud b jus perfect but there weren't any 4sale @ d time so my choices boiled down to the Sport20 or a sir civic... obviously the sport20 was the better choice 4 me as i don't like civics ( lost too many friends to civics dont wanna b another statistic & i jus dont lik honda) was tempted to ask 2 buy bak d my old GSR but i would have been too tempted to modify & my pocket wont lik it at all lol

a lil hatch/wagon is better 4 my lifestyle right now dont wanna go bak boost till maybe nex yr xmas or so & i'll do it wit d sport20 then sell it & buy a EVO 8 :twisted:

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » August 5th, 2010, 11:36 pm

Nik i still have her man taking very good care of her .....been approached too many times to sell her but naaaaaaa.....she looking and working perfect.... only thing doh i wanna put my hands on a gbox for later cause i wanna change it soon (lsd making this tok tok noise).

Postby janfar » August 6th, 2010, 1:04 am

Balance shaft??? Bah!!! Im getting rid of mines... got the kit already... rebuilding the engine without them. Less heavy rotating parts... been a tried and proven method in the US and UK over the years that shows no ill effect (save for slight, unnoticeable vibration). And with new Ralliart engine mounts allround and an engine damper its gonna be made null and void. Will take pics of the rebuild when it begins!!!

TRDGUY... I think dragonimports has one with tcase... send him PM and see if he still has!!!

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 6th, 2010, 6:54 am

sorry for not posting in a while, i say alyuh men move out of trinidad or get married or something :|

my car is still in the works but i drive her everyday lol. when we making a lime fellas?

janfar, i myself thought nik was ah daaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwgggggggggg for leaving the mitsu camp but after talkin to him, i see he has the diamonds in his heart still, he will return when the time is right :lol

Nik

Postby Nik » August 6th, 2010, 7:13 am

row... lol

TRDGUY... i saw it @ the airport the other day... walked around gaping (stole a pic or 2 lol) lookin real nice in tru...

Postby janfar » August 6th, 2010, 7:16 am

Mitsu in he heart my asss.... all he hearing now is zoooom zoooom zoooommm!!!!

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 6th, 2010, 6:24 pm

swift boy, i know u must be saying i forget bout yuh but hoss, i real strapped with this damn job, i does mostly be out at night and i know ur hours already lol. we hadda make a lil lime. long time no see.

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » August 6th, 2010, 7:49 pm

Nik you eh easy na ....lol i glad u meet her

Nik

Postby Nik » August 6th, 2010, 8:06 pm

lol @ janfar well is zoom zoom i have now so as my pops always say... love what u have & it will treat u good lol... but i surely comin bak mitsu jus it will be a newer model...

only 1 thing can stop me from comin bak mitsu is if i get a R-34 & i doubt that happenin lmao

TRDGUY hahahaha & i was parked up nex 2 it too lol...

Nik

Postby Nik » August 6th, 2010, 8:10 pm

oh... Swift Boy... likein d rims... heheh are those the evo 9 rims???

Swift Boy

Postby Swift Boy » August 7th, 2010, 5:29 am

yea boi Nik E9's...tired of cleaning them Makinen's hoss :lol:
Death Row yuh know is no scene 8-)

Postby janfar » August 7th, 2010, 7:12 am

I reiterate... Nik is a girl!!!

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 7th, 2010, 12:56 pm

WTF lolol

Nik

Postby Nik » August 7th, 2010, 2:53 pm

janfar... wtf... lol

Swift Boy i know what u mean... i gettin fed up wit cleanin my advan rc rims too... white rims are a pain to keep clean lol... thinkin bout changing to enkei evo 5 bronze

Postby janfar » August 8th, 2010, 2:44 am

Well when i come back we could make a lime... and seeing my car down allyuh could come Mayaro... My build will finally start when I get back... Have to take the block to the machine shop for rework... any suggestions???

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » August 27th, 2010, 4:06 pm

whats the latest peeps

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » August 27th, 2010, 4:23 pm

Replaced most suspension bushings with Super Pro, and swapped in some D2's.
Ride is great, but still doing some adjustments to the dampener for the perfect ride.

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » August 28th, 2010, 10:48 pm

i having some fuel pump issues now .... fakin walbro playing up

Postby janfar » September 2nd, 2010, 11:05 am

Parts parts parts...

Rebuild starts now!!!