***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Death-Row

Re: ***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Postby Death-Row » November 30th, 2010, 12:33 am

check teknet, he'll link yuh up.

Postby janfar » November 30th, 2010, 2:28 am

If im not mistaken, the Liberos with the 1.8 engines rad and fan lines up although the rad is not what you would want to use. I have also seen an EK3 3 core rad and fan line up on the early evos giving that much needed area for a bigger turbo... not sure if mods were needed for this.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 8th, 2010, 4:31 pm

so what are u evo guys up to? :|

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 8th, 2010, 8:29 pm

still breaking in my engine......rain and work real holding it back

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 8th, 2010, 9:08 pm

real bad luck yes.

death-row turns out the slave and the master was fine. disassembled them and change the seals myself - but they were fine.

but on taking out the slave cylinder, i realise the clutch fork arm was looking crocked. pull out the boot seal on the arm and peek inside...

clutch fork arm is BROKEN.

totally f00cked on this one, an aftermarket clutch fork arm starts at 1700 ttd before shipping froms aussie.

anyone with an old tranny hanging around :(

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 8th, 2010, 10:50 pm

hmmm... that's drama.

Well finally decided to get the old GSR FWD up and about again... rebuilt the slave cylinder, built some brackets for the fromt bumper and grille, fixed my tach, did some more rewiring and removing some clutter from under the dash...

Actualy enjoying driving it again... need to get back a TT and buy some recaros for it... money I don't have right now (sigh)

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 9th, 2010, 12:59 am

not sure if its a problem with the mitsu gb or all but that damn clutch fork, i seen it broken in toooo many evo 1-3 boxes. i would say, shell out the 1700 and get something good and done, so u wont have to go back in there in a hurry.

or, you can just make some calls and get back a fork if that pleases you also.

really sorry to hear that tho, hope u get back on ur feet soon.

Mishi, nice to hear u have the FWD back up and running, yuh know yuh love that car lolol

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » December 9th, 2010, 4:17 am

Looking for an unregistered 1,2 or 3 to put my evo 1 back together.....but hard to find..

Jan would be the link but he never around......................mishi time to sell bai

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 9th, 2010, 2:39 pm

you can always take a look at mine mudboy - i need to sell before february so we can work out something. you're not gonna get one in the condition mine is in as well.

guys do you want clutch forks, i'm getting a deal on billet made clutch forks (dsm but will work on the early evo) for about 700 ttd, probably cheaper if i group buy. i just purchased one, so i'll let you know how it looks etc. not making any money, but to save ppl the headache if they put in an aftermarket clutch like myself.

nick

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 9th, 2010, 2:45 pm

Death-Row wrote:
Mishi, nice to hear u have the FWD back up and running, yuh know yuh love that car lolol

Yep... that's the wife of course LOL

Right now dealing with a reverse switch drama... the one on the box stopped working and replaced it with another used one... and that worked for 2 days. :lol: :roll:

So on the hunt for that. Waiting for some ebay front/ rear strut bars to come in next week, then start saving money to get some better springs and the recaroes...

BTW speaking of which... I know evo 1 - 6 recaroes are interchangeable, but what's the average recaro prices for 1-3 seats full set vs 4-6 seats full set?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 9th, 2010, 2:51 pm

the reverse switch is 10 quid @ camskill.co.uk - i ordered one, cost me 30 dollars tax at the TTPOST. they ship to trinidad and tobago.

don't buy the evo 2 and 3 seats, those recaros doh last long yes. the evo 1 recaros were better made for some reason. just don't look half as nice.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 9th, 2010, 2:53 pm

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 9th, 2010, 4:33 pm

Actually ALL reverse switches are the same no matter which AWD or FWD mitsu box...

You should even get that at Diamond... The Hyundai switches work as well. So I'm not too sussed about geting that...

My Biggest goal in that car right now is getting

- CB MIVEC left axle & inner cup
- EVO 3 side skirts
- Recaros

Honestly if I get a set of 5-6 recaros I think I'll be fine, but I won't pay more than 4K for that... considering 7 seats go for 5K and up.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » December 9th, 2010, 11:39 pm

Might be looking to get rid of my evo 6 seats mishi........if I find a replacement

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 11th, 2010, 7:00 am

Cool.

Well the work continues... got my Check engine light wired in. Got some other things to try including wiring the GSR turbo light...

I was browsing last night and came up on a clear timing cover for the GSR lancers... quite surprised but it doesn't seem to come this side of the world.. maker is TT-C

Postby janfar » December 17th, 2010, 4:43 am

So mudboy we in the same time... i really think I need a front cut or a complete now as the time it will take me to do the rebuild is against my plans for next year with the amount travelling I have to do. And I need my car on the road...

Any suggestions??? Who see good completes and or frontcuts recently.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 17th, 2010, 3:40 pm

saw a really sweet evo3 in the bamboo right after gobins. on the right hand side.

Nik

Postby Nik » December 17th, 2010, 7:17 pm

Also saw a E4 near there...

I wanna ask a strange question... Can we boost a 4G92 Mivec??? & if so what wud be the best way to do it???
Reason I ask is b'cuz I might not get bak a evo but a ck4 mivec so jus checkin in case that happens...

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » December 17th, 2010, 9:29 pm

janfar wrote:So mudboy we in the same time... i really think I need a front cut or a complete now as the time it will take me to do the rebuild is against my plans for next year with the amount travelling I have to do. And I need my car on the road...

Any suggestions??? Who see good completes and or frontcuts recently.

No scene...we go make a lime to go check the front cuts...saw two a black and silver - evo 2 - 19k eack

have meh eyes of a red car........ :D

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 18th, 2010, 1:31 am

Death-Row wrote:saw a really sweet evo3 in the bamboo right after gobins. on the right hand side.

I just want some bloody OEM evo 3 side skirts... that all. I will be a nice humble man if I can get em.

Postby janfar » December 18th, 2010, 3:42 am

Kool muddy... and maybe yuh could help me install too... will supply the rumz... nice christmas get together in Mayaro for the evo boys to help out a fellow tuner

:mrgreen:

Mishi boy... your best bet would be to contact Soldave on evo123.net and see if he can source from Japan unless yuh want one ah them car show folks evoup your lansa... but you might end up with croams and fairy dust paintjob.

Nik

Postby Nik » December 18th, 2010, 11:12 am

janfar wrote:unless yuh want one ah them car show folks evoup your lansa... but you might end up with croams and fairy dust paintjob.

LMFAO!!! afta that comes d hard pong & speakers outside on d roof... :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 18th, 2010, 11:32 am

um... no eh. :lol:

I'm just afraid of the price... there's an ebay seller from phillipines selling one for 180 or so US and then over 100 US to ship to the US...

Now then add skybox shipping, then Customs duties, vat etc and that is why I haven't brought one in yet...

Postby janfar » December 19th, 2010, 12:48 am

Lambo doors and a complimentary pc of 2x4 to sit on top of it... yuh willl be in the game MISHI...

So he cant ship directly to the TT??? But i all there you may only pay about 500USD to get that landed here...

We should make a group buy of one of them unreg'd evos in the bamboo and split it up for who want what... that might be a good idea...

dibs on engine...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 19th, 2010, 1:11 am

sounds like a plan.... but quite a few ppl will have to buy. I mean if evo 3 skirts and bumper spats go for roughly 2500 and seats cost something like 2500 as well that's still a little for a car I'm sure they selling for nothing less than 45K.

The people from phillipines only ship to the states... I was even thinking to order a set of duraflex ones but me and fiberglass aren't good friends...

W2J

Postby W2J » December 19th, 2010, 1:34 am

you need to hook up with a good "dealer" drugs drugs..

Postby janfar » December 19th, 2010, 1:36 am

Well... we wont be able to calculate it like that. The parts that are not saleable like the chassis, and stuff will have to minused from the main cost, divided by the amout of purchasers and then added to their bill.

Unless we could sell the hood for a price, the floor boards for some, and them other things...

Muddy... how much a cpl unregd going for in the bamboo???

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 19th, 2010, 6:30 am

janfar wrote:Well... we wont be able to calculate it like that. The parts that are not saleable like the chassis, and stuff will have to minused from the main cost, divided by the amout of purchasers and then added to their bill.

Unless we could sell the hood for a price, the floor boards for some, and them other things...
Why not find someone with a fwd Lancer who wants to do a legal... and RELIABLE fwd-to-4wd upgrade before you import?

Just swap the rear floor-pan, rear tunnel and arches... no messin' with firewall or chassis numbers. Then just swap all the drivetrain & rear suspension parts from the donor Evo.
That way you have no "Evo insurance" issues to deal with. 4wd Libero and Lancer models are legal right now. Just advise your insurance about an engine swap... pay the difference in premium... and register a "Change of engine" with the Licensing Office.

It's a total pain in the azz to do... but it's better than getting an illegal Evo confiscated... with yuh $$$ jumpin' up!
It's all perfectly legal. Imagine... a legal, refurbished Evo 3... with all OEM parts. 8-)

My $0.02¢

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 19th, 2010, 8:23 am

W2J wrote:you need to hook up with a good "dealer" drugs drugs..

Yuh see you... :lol:

Postby janfar » December 19th, 2010, 8:41 am

Sanctifier... not an import but one thats already here in the Bamboo... and if we do get into a group scavenge like this the engine will be for my car as I need it.

Row already had in mind to evoup an lansa...
I want Engine and drive train.
Mishi talkin about body kit and the rest of rice.
Im sure this could work out if we put our minds at it...

And im sure the rest of body components wont go to waste as you rightfully stated it would be a useful swap to the evo-upping of someones lancer.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”