The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

QG

Postby QG » March 31st, 2009, 11:27 pm

LMAO... :lol: :lol:

Postby Rainman » March 31st, 2009, 11:33 pm

rainman, u get ronsin1's permisson to post his pic?

sorry ronsin. no hard feelings?

Postby ronsin1 » April 1st, 2009, 6:15 am

no hard feelings dude My pic was already posted on this site

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » April 1st, 2009, 9:00 am

venum, ty, it's a reminder of how stress free i used to be at one point in my life, lol...so yeah it's one of my fav pics :mrgreen:
And yes, will definitely be learning and trying to help/contribute where i can!

idlemind, lol, y'all not easy nah! As soon as the car gets here will bring it for you guys to see it, cannot wait to finish reading about y'all previous posts so i can get ideas as to what little mods i want to do.

I like the short ram mod that was done, i already looked at the amount of space to spare in the engine bay and i found it much roomier than the cedia, that's nice. I may have a question here and there when the car actually gets here, so warning in advance! Def gonna have the tranny and oil cooler done, asap.

ronsin1, like your avatar, you the original fozzy bear!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 1st, 2009, 9:08 am

case in point...he installed the short RAM intake and by the next week he pulled it off and scrapped the idea........see not substantial :!:

you will get more room in the 4g18 coz of the mere fact that its a SOHC as opposed to the DOHC GDI in the Cedia...meaning the top part of the engine (head) not as wide. I addition to that, the 4g18 doesnt have the chunky engine cover like the GDI.

the main issue with the aftermarkt intake is getting clean air in and not recycling hot air from the tranny. seal off the bottom and the engine sides of the filter and u may be good to go.

for more ideas as to what can be done, visit QG's "Monster CS" thread

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » April 1st, 2009, 9:33 am

he scraped the idea?! how come? where is he? :|
lol...

ok, will check the "Monster CS" thread for sure!!!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 1st, 2009, 9:39 am

i'll leave it for him to explain, my response mite sound too feminine
like it was too long or it started to rub and cause discomfort.... :|

wey venum ?

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » April 1st, 2009, 9:41 am

idlemind! lmao!!! :lol:
lol, yeah, i wanna know why venum took off the intake...cuz am thinking of getting one put on...

QG

Postby QG » April 1st, 2009, 10:27 am

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 39&start=0

R@lli@rt, look no further...heres the link :mrgreen:

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » April 1st, 2009, 10:35 am

thanks QG, :wink:

Postby ronsin1 » April 1st, 2009, 11:18 am

R@lli@rt wrote:
ronsin1, like your avatar, you the original fozzy bear!

well I am hugable too but you already know that :mrgreen:

Postby Rainman » April 1st, 2009, 2:30 pm

i missing my cs3 now, but dont worry im still loyal to the cause lol

venum

Postby venum » April 1st, 2009, 5:21 pm

idlemind wrote:it started to rub and cause discomfort.... :|

u ain't get accustomed to that yet :?:

idlemind wrote:wey venum ?

I am here, now u cud leave

Ms. @rt i didn't take it out teh week after . . . not sure where that punk got that idea from . . . he apparently was browsing in teh Honda forum and was misguided - forgive him

here is a brief review of my experience with the SRI that i built myself (we'll keep it short so that Idle's rubbing doesn't cause him much more discomfort, he already has toe-horn and tail-light issues, not to mention what going on whit his bumper)

1. built teh SRI with 3" aluminium intercooler pipe with a 45 degree bend, K&N reverse conical filter, 3" to 2.5" silicon reducer to throttle body (couldn't get a 3" to 2.75" reducer) and a custom fabricated support

2. Ripped out teh stock airbox and installed the SRI, leaving the stock air scoop

3. ran the car for ~ 2 hrs, Results:

on teh highway - she ran sweet as teh stock scoop channelled a lot of cold outside air onto teh K&N

on regular street - she was just plain, no noted performance, as she was not getting sufficient cold air. the stock scoop didn't help with air flow

4. removed teh K&N and replaced with Arospeed (imitation HKS) all metal filter, Results:

on teh highway, she flew. plenty better air intake to throttle

on regular street - same effect as with K&N

the problem with teh SRI that i had in my setup was that upon teh induction cycle\stroke of teh cylinder, teh vacuum created sucked in a lot more air than stock, a lot of hot air as the filter was not getting cold air from outside teh car\engine

i did keep teh intake on for several months though, to get a good feel of the power on teh highway.

all components were given to Rudman upon selling my beloved CS3

a SRI setup like what QG has on his brother's car will be best

second is a drop-in K&N

and why u stressed out so, life too short

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » April 3rd, 2009, 10:23 am

yep, i know only too well that life is too short, don't worry it was short term stress!
like exams and projects and work and home and my family, all at the same time, :x
no worries tho, that's life!!! beer solves everything :mrgreen:

i was researching where i could probably source a SRI setup like what's in QG's bro car, not much luck yet, i may hafta substitute, and learn i guess :wink:

hmmm, but venum, if it is that the SRI is sucking more air, albeit hot air that the stock, does the install of the SRI make sense in your opinion?

I found that when i changed the stock front grille of the cedia to the sport grille which was mesh, the temp gauge stayed a notch or two lower than usual, i was glad. Maybe if i do the SRI install and swap out the stock grille for a sport mesh one, more cold air coming in?

You think?

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 3rd, 2009, 2:24 pm

hi to all,...to add a lil 2cents, as a i was browsin thru.

i was on the same path lookin for similar mods CAI, ARI and the like....didnt do the conversion after all the reading.

However, i never bothered to interject or ask with the plausibility or validity of of venum's setup...cause after all, you do want the car to be performin on a stretch not in traffic stop n go...right? which is what it was doing not so?...as at that speed it would be gettin the cold air and not the hot air from the engine n trans'

venum

Postby venum » April 3rd, 2009, 4:51 pm

R@lli@rt wrote:yep, i know only too well that life is too short, don't worry it was short term stress!
like exams and projects and work and home and my family, all at the same time, :x
no worries tho, that's life!!! beer solves everything :mrgreen:

Glad to know u sorted out

R@lli@rt wrote:hmmm, but venum, if it is that the SRI is sucking more air, albeit hot air that the stock, does the install of the SRI make sense in your opinion?

It makes sense, but a K&N drop-in will do better at top and low end

make no mistake, i had no regrets with my install, it worked well, but after testing and evaluation, i have come to teh conclusion that the drop-in will work better - maybe not sound as great, ir look the part as teh CAI, but will work better

R@lli@rt wrote:I found that when i changed the stock front grille of the cedia to the sport grille which was mesh, the temp gauge stayed a notch or two lower than usual, i was glad. Maybe if i do the SRI install and swap out the stock grille for a sport mesh one, more cold air coming in?

that is because the sport grill allowed more air flow over the radiator, which was directly in teh path of the increased mass of oncoming air, but I doubt that significantly more air will get to the filter, behind the battery with teh sport grill

P3UNG wrote:you do want the car to be performin on a stretch not in traffic stop n go...right? which is what it was doing not so?...as at that speed it would be gettin the cold air and not the hot air from the engine n trans'

well yes and no

you want performance on teh stretch, but I wanted performance all the way thru

the cai works well on speeds ~ 70km\h and over, but in stop and go traffic it didn't matter, at low crusing speeds, it was underperforming a bit

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 4th, 2009, 2:33 am

venum wrote:

well yes and no

you want performance on teh stretch, but I wanted performance all the way thru

the cai works well on speeds ~ 70km\h and over, but in stop and go traffic it didn't matter, at low crusing speeds, it was underperforming a bit

thnx dude! appreciate the feedback...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 5th, 2009, 12:49 am

repairs are over, back on the road

Last edited by idlemind on April 5th, 2009, 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

fras

Postby fras » April 5th, 2009, 5:05 am

those are the new tails?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 5th, 2009, 10:51 am

new tails, repaired bumper

Postby ronsin1 » April 5th, 2009, 12:16 pm

^^^ so wham the orange not good enough for you :lol: :lol: :lol:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 5th, 2009, 12:31 pm

nah it wouldnt make sense, il still try it out and see

Postby ronsin1 » April 5th, 2009, 12:35 pm

question why yuh block out the Number plate and you could make it out in your avatar

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 5th, 2009, 1:09 pm

steupsss...venum, is that u?

better?

venum

Postby venum » April 6th, 2009, 10:10 am

idlemind wrote:new tails, repaired bumper . . . same sh!tty tasteless driver

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 6th, 2009, 10:19 am

idlemind saw the ride comin thru dinsley junction...the wheels look fresh, tail look cool man.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 6th, 2009, 12:32 pm

venum haul yuh eltoohunjed ashtray

thanks P3UNG yuh coulda hail meh out man, but we go meet up sumtime, i from up ur side

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 6th, 2009, 12:54 pm

idlemind.... is only recently i realise that, cause i see the ride around trincity....but i was done exiting the junction and what ketch muh attn was the wheels, the red stripe really bring it out man, it look fresh :P ...almost got same styled tenzo set for mine initially but the price was a bit too hefty for the pocket so i stuck with the my motegis...well we mus bounce up for sometime fuh sure.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 6th, 2009, 3:22 pm

fresh and polished!!

boy them wheels nuh easy nah, they go get me in trouble
never saw the tenzo's but the konig zero was an option at the time but the strip is barely noticeable.

but cool man, always good to meet a fellow mitsu tuner :!:
unlike meeting venum and he mechanic whos price included venum's kick back :shock:

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 6th, 2009, 3:33 pm

LOL!!!! @
unlike meeting venum and he mechanic whos price included venum's kick back

well i got my set by Andy's on the main road before the silver bridge heading east after arouca...was the first time i went there was actually prowling from early mornin lookin for a good set....but the tenzo's were 18" if i remember correctly

Return to “MITSUBISHI”