The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

therapist

Postby therapist » December 30th, 2006, 3:20 am

frass wrote:
JUS4SHO wrote:as with body parts expensive just like any newer model car, bobby's in d bamboo have body parts cheap, also kawal singh in chaguanas supplys diamond motors with a lot of mechanical parts (which you pay big $$$ for and its not oem)

You have a number for Singh :?:

and bella too...it kinda hard to find cedia parts :(

fras

Postby fras » December 30th, 2006, 9:38 pm

Bella's # is 682-7179

fras

Postby fras » January 1st, 2007, 11:04 am

Was wondering if I remove my airbox and run a short ram to just behind the battery, would this be better than the K&N drop in :?:

Marct

Postby Marct » January 1st, 2007, 12:50 pm

dont think so the engine bay doesnt have enough cool air coming in and that is right over the trannie, which gets VERY HOT. Would not recommend.

venum

Postby venum » January 1st, 2007, 10:22 pm

Marct wrote:dont think so the engine bay doesnt have enough cool air coming in and that is right over the trannie, which gets VERY HOT. Would not recommend.

this is true,

but if you introduce a source of fresh air for the filter then it will work <--- this is the tricky part.

unlike the Ck models that facilitate the routing of flexible piping from a space behind the front bumper, through the left fender and then right up on the filter, the CS model isn't as easy.

I was investigating a similar setup for my free-flow build today and discovered this challenge.

this is my proposed design:

Venum Designs 4G18 SOHC CS Lancer Free-Flow Intake:

fras

Postby fras » January 2nd, 2007, 11:18 am

Well hurry nah venum let me see what u look like and how it runnin

venum

Postby venum » January 2nd, 2007, 7:46 pm

^^^ that not happening until the warranty expire on my car

prob end of March

I will be working on the design of the support of the Ram till then

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 3rd, 2007, 6:02 am

wayie with all ah all yuh going by bella is stress when i need parts :mrgreen: :mrgreen: lol iz a cool scene ...... venum 1 question the ram is design to take in more air than stock right ! then my guess is it will be limited or if i may restricted by that stock inlet, hence u will still be pulling in a lot of hot air from around where the stock box was ?

Marct

Postby Marct » January 3rd, 2007, 7:39 pm

^^^^thats d problem i had.The felt like it was gasping. stock air vent was re used with a heat shield built around the filter, this helped a lot.

I doubt Venum's design would get lots of fresh air more "heavy" hot air will be sucked in

venum

Postby venum » January 3rd, 2007, 8:04 pm

Venum Designs 4G18 SOHC CS Lancer Free-Flow Intake design flaw #1 - hot intake air at low speeds and stationary position

The concept of a free-flow intake is to provide a larger supply (volume) of cold, fresh (temperature) outside (location) air to the TB than the stock setup.

by leaving the stock inlet\scoop a direct source of outside, cold air will be blasted onto the filter when the car is in motion, thus allowing the car to breathe better when in motion

However, when the car is idling, it will be breathing some hot air, as with any intake that has the filter located inside the engine bay (SRI's)

in this case the air will be heated by the CVT trannie, which generates a lot of heat.

Thinking bout upgrading the oil cooler on this trannie . . . but that is another post.

An effective way to eliminate this problem is to place the filter where it is constantly breathing fresh,cold air - which is almost outside the car

with the CS routing the necessary ram pipes is not easy, unlike the CK (which is incredibly easy)

if there is a way to insulate the filter from heat, then it may be more effective.

extractor fan around the fiter :?:

fras

Postby fras » January 3rd, 2007, 11:08 pm

Another thing venum I dont know if u ever checked the grill...
But the grill has a block where the scoop is located (to prevent water from gettin into the intake) If my cam was working i would post a pic. So if the scoop could be altered in some way or the blockage from the grill removed u'll get more cool air :!:

Also venum where yall get that avatar :?:

venum

Postby venum » January 4th, 2007, 10:50 pm

^^^ Check Mishi for teh Avatar - allyuh Tobago men have no love amongst allyu or what

my grill is the mesh grill

I am playing with a possibility to route air from this large "vent" to the filter

Postby ronsin1 » January 5th, 2007, 9:43 am

I think that this thread should be renamed the GDI thread just my two cents

Postby ronsin1 » January 5th, 2007, 10:54 am

Ok guys hear what; I want to fush the radiator and change the coolant what type of coolant is the best to use.....

fras

Postby fras » January 5th, 2007, 11:04 am

ronsin1 wrote:I think that this thread should be renamed the GDI thread just my two cents

Why :?: Mostly 4G18 dicussed here :!:

Ok Venum gone rule with ur mesh grill. I didnt know yall got it from mishi :!:

fras

Postby fras » January 10th, 2007, 4:20 pm

Ok Venum :twisted: doh study the engine

venum

Postby venum » January 10th, 2007, 4:47 pm

^^^ looks ricey

that is pretty much the same idea that I have in my diagram

the scoop is bigger than the stock though

and it's a GDI engine - doesn't matter

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 10th, 2007, 5:33 pm

i want to try and route my piping down by the fog light opening i will check it this weekend and let allyuh know

venum

Postby venum » January 11th, 2007, 5:39 pm

^^^ tight fit

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 11th, 2007, 8:15 pm

Production 2000 -
Body style 4-door sedan
4-door wagon
Platform FF layout

Engine
4G13 1.3L SOHC
4G18 1.6L SOHC
4G94 2.0L SOHC I4
4G63 2.0L DOHC I4
4G69 2.4L SOHC MIVEC I4

Transmission 4-speed Automatic
4-speed Semi-Auto
5-speed Manual
invecs III CVT

Wheelbase 102.4 in.
Length 180.5 in. (sedan)
181.3 in. (Sportback)
Width 66.8 in.
Height 54.9 in. (sedan)
56.1 in. (Sportback)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_Lancer

the USDM lancers come with higher displacement engines. would these be a direct engine swap in a JDM or SDM cedia bolt for bolt? Would it be able to work?

fras

Postby fras » January 12th, 2007, 10:06 am

JUS4SHO wrote:i want to try and route my piping down by the fog light opening i will check it this weekend and let allyuh know

Yeah da would b close... Mayb a 2.5 pipe :?:

What about a heat shield Venum :?:

venum

Postby venum » January 12th, 2007, 5:56 pm

frass wrote:What about a heat shield Venum :?:

I toyed with the idea, even with the one I am going to buid for my CK

but I find that the heat shield restricts the air flow to the filter

at least will the heat shields that i have seen

unless you can insulate the filter such that all incoming air flows directly onto teh filter and no engine heat gets to it

but thaz too much stress for such minimal gain

fras

Postby fras » January 14th, 2007, 11:00 am

Saw this on cardomain
Injen CAI
I also searched the injen site but they dont have pics for me to confirm.

Venum u got through with d cvt tranny :?:

fras

Postby fras » January 14th, 2007, 11:38 am

Also there is a small tube (about quater inch) that runs from the intake to the engine (outline in white), what the purpose of this? Does it have something to do with vibration :?: If so is this needed :?:

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 14th, 2007, 3:50 pm

i believe that sprays a mist of gasolene the mixes with the air before it gets to the the cylinders but im not sure if that is correct

venum

Postby venum » January 14th, 2007, 10:51 pm

Nah KiD thaz for blow by oil

frass, it is really not needed

you can place a small 2.5" filter to block it off

btw what engine is that in the pic ?

it isn't a CS3A

it has a MAF sensor on it

it's not GDI

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 14th, 2007, 10:58 pm

well i have the gdi engine and when i disconnected it and tried to start the engine would tumble but not start

fras

Postby fras » January 14th, 2007, 11:26 pm

venum wrote:Nah KiD thaz for blow by oil

Blow by Oil :?

Venum its a 2002 OZrally... not sure what engine.

venum

Postby venum » January 15th, 2007, 5:11 pm

frass wrote:
venum wrote:Nah KiD thaz for blow by oil

Blow by Oil :?

Venum its a 2002 OZrally... not sure what engine.

I serious

if you check teh hose it has oil that gets blown off the top to teh tappet cover

I believe that it is really for air that is trapped at the top of the tappet pan

this air is routed to the intake

if it is a OZ rally, then it may be a 4G93 SOHC non-GDI

venum

Postby venum » January 15th, 2007, 9:16 pm

http://www.amazon.com/AEM-Cold-Air-Inta ... automotive

http://www.amazon.com/AEM-21-434P-Cold- ... automotive

tell me what allyuh think

I believe that this is for the USDM Lancers; ES LS and OZ

It may work on our SDM too, just replace the section with the MAF sensor with a straight-through piece of piping

http://www.aempower.com/ViewProduct.aspx?ProductID=171

Part # 21-434C \R\P\B

it locates teh filter under the car behind the left fog light.

there are installation instructions too

This is taken from the instruction PDF. what i am interested in is the route that they pass the pipe. Similar to the pic FRASS posted

look at where they pass the "lower pipe"

JUS4SHO can you confirm whether the pipe can be routed there in the SDM with 4G18?

Marketed as providing a max gain of 8.9 HP and 13.3 ft-lb of torque @ 3500 rpm on the OZ, which is a 2.0L engine, not sure if it is also a CVT tranny.

I will remove my stock airbox on Sunday to check this option.

the Bypass valve is also optional

This link provides a good idea on the difference between the JDM and teh USDM models - apparently a lot more than I had thought initially

apparently the USDM has a 4G94 non-GDI motor from initial research. So I stand corrected about the engine in Frass' post - it's a 4G94

research to still confirm teh tranny was CVT or mechanical

http://www.mitsubishi-forums.com/t16602-engine-swap.htm

Return to “MITSUBISHI”