The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » April 14th, 2009, 4:33 pm

P3UNG, 4 ALL!!!! :mrgreen:

P3UNG, see ya there then!

whizzard

Postby whizzard » April 15th, 2009, 12:20 am

Hey wud u guys recommend buying a local used cs3 with 115k milage?
I've heard rumors that the engine or transmission would need to be changed at around 150k, is there any truth to this?

Postby ronsin1 » April 15th, 2009, 10:29 am

why would it have to change at 150K

with regular and proper maintenance the engine and transmission will stand up to

whizzard

Postby whizzard » April 15th, 2009, 10:33 am

rainman wrote:Oil, ATF and filter, timing belt, water pump, plugs, suspension bushings, air filter, tire rotation, hoses and belts inspection/change, flush radiator, brake pads and shoes inspection/replacement, throttle body service, wheel bearings, change A/C filter. not in any particular order just listed them as i remember it.

Thanks for the response, would all of the above most likely need to be changed?

Postby ronsin1 » April 15th, 2009, 10:38 am

^^^ yes for a 100K service thoise are the recommended service items

the timing belt tensioner also needs to be changed

whizzard

Postby whizzard » April 15th, 2009, 10:41 am

Do you have an idea of the estimated cost for the 100k service for a CS3?

Postby ronsin1 » April 15th, 2009, 10:44 am

Check this thread Venum had posted a detail listing of his 100K service cost

whizzard

Postby whizzard » April 15th, 2009, 10:52 am

tnx

venum

Postby venum » April 15th, 2009, 11:37 am

ok fellas and gal

thanx for teh concern

my dog seems to be doing well-ish

she is on antibiotics for now

still can't find teh thing, so cannot conclude if she ate it yet or not

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 15th, 2009, 12:18 pm

where is d A/C Filter located on a local '02 CS3???? is it easy to locate and change or should a A/C man dig up in that...

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » April 15th, 2009, 12:39 pm

venum, glad the wuppie is doing well! Erm, wonder where "the thing" went?!!!

whizzard, never underestimate the power of rountine and proper tune-ups!
take care of your ride and she takes good care of you :wink:

turbo_beast369, i dunno :oops:
but really interested in finding out too! :mrgreen:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 15th, 2009, 3:58 pm

what about adjusting valve lash clearances on a 4G18...is that necessary?

Postby ronsin1 » April 15th, 2009, 3:59 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:where is d A/C Filter located on a local '02 CS3???? is it easy to locate and change or should a A/C man dig up in that...

Should be right behind the glove compartment

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 15th, 2009, 4:14 pm

^^ daz pressure to access

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 15th, 2009, 9:28 pm

Ms. @rt see ya there....may 3rd

whizzard did u ask the person who u buyin it from, if they have a service log?..some ppl take really good care of their cars..but still after 100k there are those sticky areas to look out for.

venum

Postby venum » April 16th, 2009, 8:25 am

ok

seems my dog didn't eat the thing

blood test indicates that she has tick fever - entirely odd for a dog with no ticks

maybe the thing masking as tick fever

Postby Rainman » April 16th, 2009, 9:50 am

conspiracy!!! :shock:

QG

Postby QG » April 16th, 2009, 11:39 am

P3UNG, i wanted to ask you this question...does your bent rim affects your air pressure of the tyres?

venum, that's good news.

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 16th, 2009, 3:04 pm

P3UNG, i wanted to ask you this question...does your bent rim affects your air pressure of the tyres?

yeah man...i believe they do.

note that i had a lil spin out "fun"....and resealed 3 of my tires, so that coupled with the dent or "bend" in the rim im dealing with.

i put air like every 2 wks! my psi drops from 44 to 41/40 front and 44 to 42 rear....but i'm actually checkin air pressure again this evening as its end of week, to see how they goin. they been lookin pretty good though but when i check them this evening i will post n let u know.

QG

Postby QG » April 16th, 2009, 4:29 pm

I had that problem when I had the stock OZ rims that were dished/bent. My tyres however, use to air out...leaving me to change tyre at any given time and day while driving :( :cry: even after hours on the highway.

Carrried the wheels to the tyre man and he kept on sealing the ends because the tyres were good :lol: ....until he got fed up and told me "HEAR NAH, DO NOT COME BACK BY ME UNTIL YOU CHANGE THEM RIMS NAH...THEM RIMS DISHED".

I got them repaired and traded it in (to get discount) for my current rims I have on now. Headache gone :mrgreen:

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 16th, 2009, 6:00 pm

well i checked the pressure.... both front tires were at 39 psi, however the right rear was at 38 and the left rear was at 40.

not too good for me...cause is either i go back to my stock wheels (which i still have) or be content toppin up the psi every 2 - 3 wks......buyin new rims is not an option. that's why i was askin bout them rim repair dudes.

but i not bad like your previous set cause mine dont air out...well i dont give them time to anyways..cause i actually used to run them at 38 all around till i noticed unusually quick wear on my 340 treadwear tires in the front...ive had the tires and rims since last Nov.

so first step is to repair, then im gonna be ok...cause i havent seen a set to out do my current. ( i like that matte black finish with the machined/dulled lip look )

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 16th, 2009, 7:48 pm

how come allyuh runnin so much pressure?

QG

Postby QG » April 16th, 2009, 8:09 pm

I was running at recommended psi...i think it's 30-32psi or so.

P3UNG, at least your problem is not as bad as mines nah...you know how hard it was to change tyre after limes and with alcohol in the head, pressure!!

venum

Postby venum » April 17th, 2009, 8:38 am

wow that is real pressure there :!:

i running 28 psi right round

i using 30 psi in my L200 :!:

if your rin dished - fix it man,

those high pressures may cause the leakage

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 17th, 2009, 8:05 pm

QG dude as far as i see i'm good compared to your old woes...hehe! i doh hadda worry bout them things.

turbo_beast369 my tires psi rating is 44, i was surprised cause i used to keep them at 38 all around till i noticed how quickly they were wearing and i actually checked the specs.

venum you think i can run my 205/40 R17 ns1 nankangs at a lower psi? ...plus i waiting on some spare funds n time to fix them rims.

i trying to keep muh driving under 120...and thus this will reduce my hard or sustained braking. i feel i gallery muhself too much n i wasnt careful...so i payin the lil price for not being as careful as i should have been.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 18th, 2009, 8:36 am

another question.....if yuh runnin nitrogen ent d tyre wont heat up as much as d normal air? so yuh could be able to a higher level ah nitro.....now mind u i have stock 14's no fancy rims on 205/60 series tyres and in mileage mack 1st man say put (nitrogen) 35 psi, 2nd man say 28 psi, 3rd man say 30 or 32 psi....now i am confused becuz how would i know d precise air pressure so i can get maximum life out ah d tyre...i does make sure suspension parts and alignment in order as well....any assistance anyone please......oh and fleck ride quality becuz i done have gas shocks that does ride like a truck........

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 18th, 2009, 10:31 am

well turbo' man....that nitrogen scene, i dunno nah! everybody tryin a ting, i wanted to know about it too but the simplest way to look at it is ask yourself...what do they use in the tires of f1 racing cars, nascar n the like?

manufacturer aint go be wrong so just follow what they say..pressure up them tires and roll on....if u usin the nitrogen as its lighter u gonna have to have higher psi to meet the tire requirement (atleast that's what im thinkin the mileage mack guys tryin to say)

harder tires shorter suspension life...softer tires longer suspension life.

them 205/60 should ride nice...no? other things like cruising speed, braking hard n cornering also affect tire life

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 18th, 2009, 12:16 pm

P3UNG.....manufacturers spec is what i tryin to figure out...i have Kumho Ecsta DX tyres......the 205/60 does ride normal on smooth (obviously) and in very slight bumpy road but when yuh hit a descent size whole it does sound like a loud bang like something go mash up even when d car loaded worse yet when I alone...is dem blasted KYB Gas Shocks i had put on....if I had oil shocks it would have been MUCH smoother but no parts place to my knowledge (apart from DM) sells oil only shocks.....

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 18th, 2009, 1:49 pm

for the shocks, check out ebay as an option...im sure you'll find parts u need on ebay motors for a good price.

yo! check the tirewall, the psi specs there man...and you go be good!

that loud bang comin from the front or the back? check them engine mounts jus in case or if them rubbers busted on the top of your front shocks...louda bang soundin weird even for gas shocks.

whizzard

Postby whizzard » April 18th, 2009, 4:03 pm

P3UNG wrote:whizzard did u ask the person who u buyin it from, if they have a service log?..some ppl take really good care of their cars..but still after 100k there are those sticky areas to look out for.

Changed my mind, decided to go RORO, seems safer

Return to “MITSUBISHI”