The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 22nd, 2009, 10:26 am

so because u post a pic of a CS venum, you tink u welcomed back here dry so? getting a likkle delusional diesel boy

QG

Postby QG » April 22nd, 2009, 12:56 pm

venum, this year October will be 2 years since the Lancer was purchased and NO TUNE UPS what so ever was done since I got it from Dealer.

The oil level close to minimun level, the brake pad worn out...drum disc gone (handbrake bearly holding), air filter never changed (i does dust it out and place it back in)...never got injectors cleaned...CVT fluid never changed as well (OF course the dealer gave me brand new fluids from purchased) etc..... :oops: :P
SO i really don't know what oil I have.

P3UNG, me eh lie :lol: :lol:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 22nd, 2009, 12:59 pm

brace yourself

QG

Postby QG » April 22nd, 2009, 1:08 pm

ZeroOne wrote:ok so i did an oil change yesterday and the mech said that they recommend 20w 50 for my car so i said no probs ill change next time.

I asked him wats the difference between the K&N oil filter and the fram and he said pretty much nothing so i was a bit disappointed.

Oh BTW i need all the mounts and 2 front shocks but that guy federal is quite in sando hes a bit too far for me, anywhere else i could get those parts preferably new trying to stay away from DM.

I know the Supervisor for Federals really well, I do most of my shopping and tune ups there (Nissan AD)...make the effort and go, price is really good.

QG

Postby QG » April 22nd, 2009, 1:10 pm

idlemind, 15w 40 is good....yuh cah go wrong

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 22nd, 2009, 1:11 pm

P3UNG right now i using castrol 15w 40. But as idlemind posted the oil rating i see that my mech might have a point because the coolest temp here is around 25 degrees celcius and the SAE 20W-40, 20W-50 is the closest to the high and low temps here so i think i would change to 20w 50 next time.

QT i living quite in St. James so is a long drive to get to sando (well for me) so if i could get them mounts and shocks in pos at a good price ill take that option first.

venum

Postby venum » April 22nd, 2009, 1:26 pm

idlemind wrote:so because u post a pic of a CS venum, you tink u welcomed back here dry so?

DiD I leave Punk :?:

venum, this year October will be 2 years since the Lancer was purchased and NO TUNE UPS what so ever was done since I got it from Dealer.

QG wrote:The oil level close to minimun level, the brake pad worn out...drum disc gone (handbrake bearly holding), air filter never changed (i does dust it out and place it back in)...never got injectors cleaned...CVT fluid never changed as well (OF course the dealer gave me brand new fluids from purchased) etc.....
SO i really don't know what oil I have.

sigh . . .

so remind me again why it even matters what kind of oil u using :?:

here is a simple fix for your low oil problem - top up with some Naisa soyabean oil or dump some pig lard in the engine

the rest of things aren't a problem, they can last forever

QG

Postby QG » April 22nd, 2009, 1:32 pm

hahaha

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 22nd, 2009, 2:20 pm

LOLOL! @ venum...allyuh is the worst... :lol: :lol:

ZeroOne..how it drivin with the 15w 40? i guessin good but nothing wrong with changin it up a bit to see if u get better...oh btw i dunno if in your environs you gettin them parts or if you are...at Federal prices.

learn yuh country...take a 7 o clock saturday morning drive and check out Federal :)

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 22nd, 2009, 2:42 pm

a few friends of mine who are mechs said that it driving at its best so i dont think the change will make a noticable difference. I just want to use what is best for the engine.

i might very well check federal cause i dont think ill get better prices else where but that drive is a killer boy gezz.

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 22nd, 2009, 2:47 pm

..doh re-invent the wheel boss, you want better than best? hmmmmm

doh worry that drive go be the most relaxin thing ever...hehe! make sure n get a good night's rest..haha!

venum

Postby venum » April 22nd, 2009, 3:07 pm

fellas i like what i seeing wrt the oil grades

also consider too that teh type of oil, i.e. mineral, sem-synthetic, full synthetic has some effect on teh engine

teh earlier mitsu engines suffered badly from a disease known as tappet knock when mineral oil was used esp in teh 4G15 DOHC efi, the GDI engines, 4G92\93 EFI and a couple others

there is a whole thread in here about that somewhere

i believe that mitsu has corrected this problem\developed an immunity cuz i do not know of any of teh newer engines that still suffer from it

Blondie doing 110,000km + and she purs like a persian kitty

but she has been running 5W 50 full synth Mobil 1 from 22,000km

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 22nd, 2009, 5:01 pm

actually i thinking about changing to full synthetic too thats the one that you change every 10,000 km right?

but if you have to change oil filter every 5000 km then it doesent make sense.

BTW castrol HD 15w 40 falls under what class?

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 22nd, 2009, 7:15 pm

Ok so all the talk about the perfect combination of oil type and oil grade, I was wondering if anyone ever heard of or tried Zmax additive to their oil and or gas...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 22nd, 2009, 7:25 pm

dont know bout the ZMax but many of us used Engine Restore in the tin.
I tried it once and it was ok, was jus to use until the oil change.

ZeroOne, all CS lancers and forward supposed to be running on Fully Synthetic Oil...unless u doing sumtin like over 200,000km

GDI in particular is a must due to high compression

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 22nd, 2009, 8:39 pm

hmmm i dont think im using fully synthetic oil. at least the bottle doesent say so. Its the castrol Hd 15w 40 costs 125.00.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 22nd, 2009, 8:56 pm

its probably semi-synthetic which is good as well.
try the full and see.
how much km's on the ride?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 22nd, 2009, 9:07 pm

it just approaching 118,500

Postby ronsin1 » April 23rd, 2009, 6:32 am

I was actually think of using zman and also emailed the company to be the trinidad distrubitor but when I did some online research there were alot of complaints about the product on diffrent online forums also there were a lot of law suits filed by persons who used the product and f"ed the engine

there are also a couple of threads in the tech forum about it

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 23rd, 2009, 11:28 am

well that's an eye opener :shock: ...hmmm! well i'll check out the tech forum and see whats the scene...but i guess it designed for a certain class or high performance engines..maybe! :?

oh and where i can get a good barrel...lookin for sumtin carbon fiber with chrome tip..about 2 inches..

well a lil guinea pig update: been usin super plus jectron in the ride and all seems well for the past month now. (the ride is a DM - CS3A 1.6L SOHC 4G18)

venum

Postby venum » April 23rd, 2009, 12:11 pm

ZeroOne wrote:actually i thinking about changing to full synthetic too thats the one that you change every 10,000 km right?

but if you have to change oil filter every 5000 km then it doesent make sense.

BTW castrol HD 15w 40 falls under what class?

full synthetic changes at 10,000km intervals and you need to use a good filter with the oil

Sakura C1011 is what I use and have been using all teh time

Sakura filters work great in my experience and I am using them on the 3 Lancers and teh L200

you can also use K&N, OEM, Bosch filters for teh 10,000km intervals

that castrol seems liek mineral or semi-synth, full synth oild are clearly labelled so

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 23rd, 2009, 12:22 pm

orrr so thats the difference between the fram oil filter and the K&N. ill switch to full synth next oil change, the thing is that i dont think the previous owner used full synth.

BTW DM have the mounts cheaper than Federal as for the shocks you dont wanna know the price.

QG

Postby QG » April 23rd, 2009, 12:48 pm

cool^...that's a surprise :)

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 23rd, 2009, 1:34 pm

aye does anybody have the OEM Part Number for the 4G18 Water pump?
i remembered seein it somewhere on one of these threads...does anyone have it offhand?

boost11

Postby boost11 » April 23rd, 2009, 1:47 pm

turbo_beast369, 4g18 SOHC water pump: MD370803

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 23rd, 2009, 4:06 pm

what i realise that if i use anyother filter other than the sakura my lifters make noise both in the ck and cs , flow rate i guess?

fras

Postby fras » April 23rd, 2009, 4:41 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:what i realise that if i use anyother filter other than the sakura my lifters make noise both in the ck and cs , flow rate i guess?
interesting... i only use fram oil filter, would have to experiment with others!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 23rd, 2009, 7:07 pm

hmmm ive used fram and now K&N havent noticed no difference

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 23rd, 2009, 8:48 pm

boost11 wrote:turbo_beast369, 4g18 SOHC water pump: MD370803

Thanks Man!!

venum

Postby venum » April 23rd, 2009, 10:24 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:what i realise that if i use anyother filter other than the sakura my lifters make noise both in the ck and cs , flow rate i guess?

that is because sakura's are great filters

i never heard of a 4G18 making tappet noise, u area first to me

Return to “MITSUBISHI”