The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

fras

Postby fras » June 3rd, 2009, 3:01 pm

Ah... nothing beats a gearbox!

Some of the Ck Mivec gearbox are LSD, but I guess they are rear/expensive... But the regular F5M41 gearbox good!

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 3rd, 2009, 4:58 pm

fras i go take meh time lookin for one yes....I love a LSD box boi....I have a Mazda 626 (Cronos) kinda project car ting that jus at a standstill right now but it has a SR18 LSD box and d beyotch does rel grip d road and pulls nice (it turbo of course) so I doh mind takin time to locate one for meh 4G18.....

well I changed my tranny oil 2day by federal...it took 6.5 quarts even tho the owner's manual says 8.1 liters...they used the machine to change it....las change was at 91,351 km and b4 i drove off it was reading 116,604 km....that means I did 25,253 km after the last change....next time should I do it at 20,000 km instead...no I don't have an external oil cooler....

my next 5,000 km oil change comin up soon..this time i goin 2 try d Mobile 1 5w-50 Full Synthetic Oil and take out meh catalytic converter and replace with a thrush barrel...hopefully I see some mileage gains...hopefully

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » June 4th, 2009, 12:46 am

ok guys so i decide to try and change my plug seals myself .....

i took off the packs and plug wires first then unbolted the tappet pan cover....

the gasket and the plug seals i got from maturas, the new ones are the set by the plugs........... the old seals were really hard and compressed a bit......... no visable damage just they were dirty ....i cleaned them and was sure that if i put them back they wouldnt have leaked....but i decided while the cover off just get new ones and done....
(this set turned out to be wrong ..... the gasket would have worked but the seals were too big.....

this is the head without the plug seals..... the oil u see on the right is what drained from the cover, i put it on without the gasket to prevent dust or anything getting in there while i went for parts......car was parked on a lean

had to rush back to the store to get the right parts ........ended up getting this kit for the 4g18 with the gasket and plug seals for 115 vat inclusive.....dunno y they didnt give me this in the first place

new plug seals simply had to be placed ontop of the the pipe.... and the area where the gasket would make a seal was thoroughly and carefully cleaned..... by the time i get back home it was dark had to work with a flash light

cover with new gasket.... just had to fit it into the grove and make sure the flat side was down ......
thats it the jus a matter of change plugs and bolt everything back....

on a side note maturas selling kyb shocks for the cs3 for $420 front and back

car working real nice with the new plugs!!!!!

and yeah i know i need to do an engine wash ....... soon

venum

Postby venum » June 4th, 2009, 8:35 am

^^^ nice well done

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 4th, 2009, 9:03 am

TURBOT I fraid to wash meh engine with all dem sensors...also don't want water gettin into d starter and alternator....water gets into places u can never imagine.....I feel I go take a rag and a bucket ah breeze mix with some kerosene and wipe down d parts seperate yes....

venum on average how much it cost from Robert Chang (Dunno if i got d name correctly but u know who I talkin about) to change yuh cam and crankshaft seals on yuh 4G18....labour alone eh....federal quoted me $800 for the job of changing the cam seal only.....thas with d OEM camshaft seal the labour and other "parts" when I asked him what other "parts" he couldnt answer......so since I done scraping the side cover assembly I go change d crankshaft seal and done one time...

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 4th, 2009, 9:47 am

expect a fairly high cost for labour from Robert

he is my mechanic and well ive come to expect his prices by now...

i could give u his no. if yuh wanna call him

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 4th, 2009, 10:00 am

turbo_beast369, i did an engine wash on my GDI no problems

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 4th, 2009, 10:02 am

OMG!!!

allyuh plug seal right there?
mine are under the head and its an entire gasket not individual seals
great job TURBOT i would cuss if i paid a mechanic to do that :!:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 4th, 2009, 10:03 am

nah fellas....advocate of no engine washing here
i jus spray down the MC with WD40, wipe off and spray down again

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 4th, 2009, 10:49 am

ZeroOne wrote:turbo_beast369, i did an engine wash on my GDI no problems

yeah you go ahead nah....nuttin go happen now....later on is when d problems will occur....corrosion and moisture can be a fast AND slow killer...

OMG!!!

allyuh plug seal right there?
mine are under the head and its an entire gasket not individual seals
great job TURBOT i would cuss if i paid a mechanic to do that

idlemind thas yet another reason for me to NOT go GDI yes.......

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 4th, 2009, 10:54 am

guys i saw a usdm OZ Rally CS this morning
yellow, PCH, looks like an American chick was in the passenger seat...lol i almost say driving but its LHD.

took a small vid, would post it up in a bit
btw i though my bumpers were huge, there's are giynormus

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 4th, 2009, 10:54 am

original_lollybob wrote:expect a fairly high cost for labour from Robert

I dont mind payin a high cost once I get high quality work the proper way and as close to the books as possibile......gimme an example of a high cost.....

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 4th, 2009, 11:08 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/AEocOoktgIc&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 4th, 2009, 7:56 pm

well fellaz 2day meh engine temperature gone to 3/4...as soon as I see dat i put she in neutral and cut-off ONE TIME on d road while moving and I just roll 2 d side....when I checked everything was good...the 50 amp fuse for d radiator fan motor was good...no coolant leaks....I played up with the electrical clips by d radiator motor but it wasnt really slack or anything...but it did move jus a lil bit in....yesterday d mechanic by federal was workin in that same area disconnecting and connecting the lines to the machine when changing d tranny oil....he may have loosened the clips jus a bit...i let her cool down and she was good to go after....i go jus monitor it for now....

fras

Postby fras » June 4th, 2009, 8:06 pm

idlemind wrote:nah fellas....advocate of no engine washing here
u real sad yes :roll:

Postby ronsin1 » June 4th, 2009, 8:09 pm

idlemind wrote:<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/AEocOoktgIc&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

yuh ain't lie that is ah real small vid

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 4th, 2009, 9:22 pm

well hear the thing with that vid, i thought the cam was sent to photo so i lucky anyting got captured in the first place. but was still was a sight, im sure u maccos will see it around the way.

its a real oz rally though. emblems, bumpers, lhd, the only thing is i saw its 4 lug

fras, wd40 dus make anything work and look good :mrgreen:

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » June 4th, 2009, 11:33 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:well fellaz 2day meh engine temperature gone to 3/4...as soon as I see dat i put she in neutral and cut-off ONE TIME on d road while moving and I just roll 2 d side....when I checked everything was good...the 50 amp fuse for d radiator fan motor was good...no coolant leaks....I played up with the electrical clips by d radiator motor but it wasnt really slack or anything...but it did move jus a lil bit in....yesterday d mechanic by federal was workin in that same area disconnecting and connecting the lines to the machine when changing d tranny oil....he may have loosened the clips jus a bit...i let her cool down and she was good to go after....i go jus monitor it for now....

lord... jus keep one eye on the guage for the next few days...... i hate when mechanics make mistakes with cars.....

QG

Postby QG » June 5th, 2009, 12:56 am

LOL @ vid

venum

Postby venum » June 5th, 2009, 10:59 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:TURBOT I fraid to wash meh engine with all dem sensors...also don't want water gettin into d starter and alternator....water gets into places u can never imagine.....

yuh don't have to tell me bout water getting into all kinda places, I drive thru teh sea with teh L200 already, I know what yuh mean

I wash teh 4G18 regularly

never had a problem

your alternator and starter suppose to have spaces in them to allow water to drain out in teh advent that it gets wet

turbo_beast369 wrote:venum on average how much it cost from Robert Chan to change yuh cam and crankshaft seals on yuh 4G18....labour alone eh....federal quoted me $800 for the job of changing the cam seal only.....thas with d OEM camshaft seal the labour and other "parts" when I asked him what other "parts" he couldnt answer......so since I done scraping the side cover assembly I go change d crankshaft seal and done one time...

can't say what his prices are, I did this a while ago

change cam and crank together, labour is more than the OEM parts

u don't need other parts, just teh 2 seals

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 6th, 2009, 8:32 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:expect a fairly high cost for labour from Robert

I dont mind payin a high cost once I get high quality work the proper way and as close to the books as possibile......gimme an example of a high cost.....

i tryin to find some receipts buh i cah find anythin these days.. i remember a while back to take apart the entire engine and change all d seals, clean everythin, clean/replace tappits and put everythin back together was bout 2 grand.

but there was odda stuff involved in that stay as well... suspension, brakes etc.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 6th, 2009, 7:12 pm

venum wrote:
turbo_beast369 wrote:TURBOT I fraid to wash meh engine with all dem sensors...also don't want water gettin into d starter and alternator....water gets into places u can never imagine.....

yuh don't have to tell me bout water getting into all kinda places, I drive thru teh sea with teh L200 already, I know what yuh mean

I wash teh 4G18 regularly

never had a problem

your alternator and starter suppose to have spaces in them to allow water to drain out in teh advent that it gets wet

turbo_beast369 wrote:venum on average how much it cost from Robert Chan to change yuh cam and crankshaft seals on yuh 4G18....labour alone eh....federal quoted me $800 for the job of changing the cam seal only.....thas with d OEM camshaft seal the labour and other "parts" when I asked him what other "parts" he couldnt answer......so since I done scraping the side cover assembly I go change d crankshaft seal and done one time...

can't say what his prices are, I did this a while ago

change cam and crank together, labour is more than the OEM parts

u don't need other parts, just teh 2 seals

what you use to wash ur 4G18 and what method u use....

I know is only the 2 seals I go need but he said "other parts" thas all...but I find $800 rel steep jus for one seal change...i know its a few hours work but still that 2 much....look original_lollybob pay bout 2 grand for engine and suspension job...thas wayyy more work than to just change a cam seal.....the cam seal is bout $90 and well the crank should be around $150 so....

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 6th, 2009, 7:58 pm

venum, are you saying that an engine wash is no biggie?

Postby ronsin1 » June 7th, 2009, 7:57 am

I have washed my GDI engine on many ocassions without any problems

With the 4g18 I am bit hesitant to wash

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » June 7th, 2009, 5:48 pm

I was checkin out some sites and I saw some ppl installed the 4G69 Mivec 2.4 that came in the 04' - 06' USDM Ralliart Lancers. This swap is a bolt for bolt swap from the 4G18...but it's costly to get everything working as you need a good bit of parts...but not as costly as buying an EVO lol....if i had d money I would have done it...maybe someday when I get rich....

venum

Postby venum » June 7th, 2009, 7:59 pm

ZeroOne wrote:venum, are you saying that an engine wash is no biggie?

YES no biggie

did it several times ob both CS3

I would be more afraid of washing a GDI

dunno how ronsin1 backwards so, must be liming with idlemind too much

teh method that teh service station that I go to uses as follows:

let engine cool

spray down engine with degreaser mixture (kerosene, soap, etc)

spray down with water

use compressed air to blow out water

start engine and let idle

drive car for a while after

however the best washes i used to get (place closed down now), procedure

let engine cool

spray with special degreaser only (no kerosene, soap etc)

start car

spray down with water

use compressed air to blow out water

that special degreaser was teh best, u could have eaten off it after

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 7th, 2009, 8:05 pm

allyuh like lazy man thing, use allyuh hand and scrub

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 7th, 2009, 8:36 pm

thanks venum i have a GDI so i guess that means no engine wash for me but now that you mention it I never saw how the station does the engine wash.

So idlemind, you mind tellin us how you do your "engine wash"?

OH i also tried the Ds thing you was tellin us to do and it was fun car hit 120 in about 6 seconds, but i realise that as soon as i shift into DS the GDI light went off so it burn some more of my expensive premium gas, but for the spped it worth it.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 7th, 2009, 8:42 pm

idlemind wrote:nah fellas....advocate of no engine washing here

thats how^

yeah man after awhile the thrill beats the pocket anyday
glad u had fun, jus be careful.

fellas Ds also assists with braking too
esp when u doing speeds u not supposed to be doing
jus remember to slow down first and not jus slap it into Ds

original_lollybob