turbo_beast369 wrote:venum why shell in d silver one and what grade.....I thinkin bout usin the OEM oil filter since is 10,000 km....buy why so long?
Silver getting Shell because I am a firm believer in Shell products.
Running Shell Helix Plus in teh CK, Shell Rimula Super in teh L200, GlycoShell coolant in CK, 1 CS3 and the L200
wish they made gearbox oil too
Ever since the early days of the CK Lancer (my first true love) I have been using Shell with happy results
when we opened up teh CK's engine it was liek brass inside
here's a lil something for you all on teh Shell Ultra
http://www.shelldubai.com/industrial/tds/helixultra.pdf
Factory fill @ Ferrari and sole service fill says a lot about the quality of the oil, look at some of teh other manufacturers on that document as well
But that is not the reason I use Shell
Shell Ultra is a full synthetic and has special cleaning agents that keep your engine clean
Mitsu engines suffer from a condition known as tappet knock, so they require synthetic or semi-synth oil to prevent\minimize this, there's a whole thread in here somewhere dedicate to that.
essentially because the lighter grade 5W-40 oil gives better lubrication on startup (important in preventing\reducing tappet knock) and teh engine performs better with it. has a lot to do with the CR of teh engine and teh heat produced as well as teh ashing properties of teh burnt oil contaminating teh clean oil blah, blah, blah . . . different convo, different time
The synthetic additives contribute significantly to the performance of the oil and consequently the engine,partly or mainly because it prevents\resists thermal breakdown (loss of chemical properties and lubricity due to heat)
Shell has these agents in their gasoline as well, pity we don't get it locally (prob because Trinis won't pay for it)
I believe (prob because of my conversations with Mechanical Engineers and Mechanical Technicians @ work who maintain industrial compressors and engines that also use special Shell oils) that one of the best things that you can do for your engine is to find a good\great oil and use it constantly
sticking to the same grade, brand and type of good engine oil keeps your engine working well as it constantly has good stuff flowing around in there, lubing the moving parts and in teh case of Shell Ultra, cleaning teh engine.
a good oil doesn't work overnight (taht is what treatments are for) but over tens of thousands of kilometers of mileage coating and protecting teh important moving parts of the engine, protecting from wear and friction damage
None of that 20W 50 mineral crap in my engines
Blondie started out using Mobil 1 (because teh day I needed to do the first oil change my reg parts place was out of Shell, next best thing was Mobil1 pricewise) as it was also highly vaunted in terms of additives and protection, Plus it is also synthetic, I decided to stick with for reasons mentioned above
110,000km later, that engine only slightly blackens the oil after 10,000km when it is time to change and she still runs like she used to when she was 20-something thousand km young
as for why 10,000km change interval - synthetic oils are made for extended usage, they can be run for extended periods of time, 10,000km being the general lifespan
when u pay $70.00 + per quart, u paying for a longer life product that it's 5000km rated rivals
The CS3 Lancers in my charge are high mileage cars that spend a lot of time on the highway, in traffic and do 5000km in ~ 6 weeks, which makes oil changes too frequent an activity for me, esp since I maintain 3 vehicles, so teh 10,000km intervals allow for better time management as I now have to change oil every 3 months
they are also both mostly lady-driven (by my most important ladies) at early and late hours, so reliability is of extreme importance
as for teh filter, I choose Sakura because my personal experience with them has been quite good. this is arguable and has been argued.
my experience with sakura is that they work well. the oil filters handle 10,000km. I have gotten better start-from-cold experience with Sakura than Fram. I find that teh car starts easier, and runs more smoothly with Sakura than Fram
I do not doubt that the OEM and K&N will work better than the Sakura, but for the $$$ of teh Sakura and the excellent performance they give, it is more economical
my logic: why spend teh $$$ of the OEM and K&N when the sakura does teh same job very well.
the 4G18, 4G15 and 4D56T do not have intense oil filtration requirements as maybe a 4G93T, 4G63T or 4M40T DiD
sakura is an great filter for good $$$, FRAM is an OK filter for same $$$ - sakura wins
the air filter from Sakura AS-1047 works well and allows great air flow
OEM filters can be sourced through powerseller W2J cheaper than Diamond Motors
imagine they want $375.00 + VAT for a filter for teh 4D56T that will last 10,000km when 2 sakura costs $100.00 VAT incl, OEM will work better, but is overkill IMHO
K&N is prob $100.00
hope I answered you satisfactorily
now after all that typing allyuh owe me a few LLB, the
new old fart owe me just 1 a few years now, can't get it yet . . .