wtk. best available tires for evo

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

TREX

Postby TREX » May 3rd, 2007, 6:35 pm

Porn Star wrote:You can run 255/40/17 on your evo 7 with no problems. I had that size in Toyo T1R's and they were great. And my car is lowered and no problems with touching.

When I get my Daily Driver this is the Rubber(s) :D I'm putting on for the weekend runs.

Freak

Postby Freak » May 4th, 2007, 8:01 am

Porn Star wrote:You can run 255/40/17 on your evo 7 with no problems. I had that size in Toyo T1R's and they were great. And my car is lowered and no problems with touching.

i was told with the tein springs that i should run no bigger than 235/45/17.
Are u using tein springs as well?

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 4th, 2007, 5:05 pm

Yup. :mrgreen:

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » May 4th, 2007, 7:39 pm

anyone uses dunlop Direzza DZ101..i heard these are really good..grip and whatnot, and its $550 for one. I thinking of trading in my nexxens..starting to ride rough :(

gerard

Postby gerard » May 5th, 2007, 9:38 pm

ok. y i asked s because my car came with potenza RE-01. and that tire real dread. in fact that is the tire of choice on the touge(for those of u who watch the best motoring dvd's) i thinkin bout tryin the maxxis ma-z1 but is not final. and is bout 680 for 1

Postby crazybalhead » May 7th, 2007, 8:29 am

My car also came with Potenzas and like Gerard saying, they real dread. I will be dissapointed with shitty performance. I will have to replace soon and would like something with similar performance.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 8th, 2007, 6:51 pm

But for dex Barry it better to have a set of f used just to run with............it all depends on where u buy yuh f used tyres

TREX

Postby TREX » May 9th, 2007, 6:55 am

Mudboy wrote:But for dex Barry it better to have a set of f used just to run with............it all depends on where u buy yuh f used tyres

Hoss
I Fraid F/used tyres.
An Evo required lots of Grip and yopu dont want to run out.
Besides a reasonable set of new tyres - $3400.00, A set a F/used $1200.00 and foe the life of a new tyres you'ee go through atb least 2 sets of F/used thats (3400 - (1200x2) = $1000.00 difference for piece of mind. foe top shelf tyres that difference might go to $2500 which is still far LESS than you will have to pay if you every run "out of talent" with Shitty tyres and hit your evo. Body parts not cheap.

Thants my take

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » August 6th, 2007, 8:07 pm

what about 18" tyres?
do you guys know where I can get a good set?
right now I using nexxen....are there better brands available?

Postby crazybalhead » February 19th, 2008, 9:44 am

Bump this thread.

So TREX and anybody else, what locally available tyre 235 45 17, would you choose for a daily driver/ occasional dex.

I am leaning towards the goodyear f1's or the dunlops.

Lemme hear allyuh again.

daymean

Postby daymean » February 19th, 2008, 1:02 pm

yer i would like to know this as well as i am looking for new tires very soon
i have found out that 245's in t1-r is $1400 + vat from mileage mack...
what are my other options....???

Postby crazybalhead » February 20th, 2008, 6:50 am

Silence from de balcony.

hmph

Postby hmph » February 20th, 2008, 7:37 am

get Z rated for safety dont go with v or w IMO.

in terms of choices check www.tirerack.com ...just put in your car and u will see the options.

they have a lot of options, i heard milage mack and jack's tyres have some good stuff, check the website and then call them.

if u using it for DD i recommend u get new tyres and good ones..if u are like me, u dont wanna swing around a corner and end up in someone house.

if u into solodex when u buy ur new tyres get a spare set or rims and tyres or just tyres if u dont mind switching (these tyres can be F-used cause u will wear them out fast)

anything else! :D
Last edited by hmph on February 20th, 2008, 7:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

TREX

Postby TREX » February 20th, 2008, 7:40 am

crazybalhead wrote:Bump this thread.

So TREX and anybody else, what locally available tyre 235 45 17, would you choose for a daily driver/ occasional dex.

I am leaning towards the goodyear f1's or the dunlops.

Lemme hear allyuh again.

Both of these are fine IMO, the Goodyear's are very good tyres. I just put on a set of Continentals 225/60/16 on my Sube and I like them very much. (L&Degannes) they are Quiet, have some grip and work well in the rain. U may be able to get 17's to fit the Evo so check it out.

I still find the Federals are good value for the cost.

daymean

Postby daymean » February 20th, 2008, 9:17 am

hmph, yer there are a wide variety of tires on tirerack however whats the chances of u gettin those tires here?? kinda sucks!
i am leaning towards the t1-r's cause they seem to be easily available.....
any reviews on these tires from anyone??

TREX

Postby TREX » February 20th, 2008, 10:27 am

I find they too expensive for what you get. The Dunlops are batter value.

daymean

Postby daymean » February 20th, 2008, 12:50 pm

but in terms of level of grip...does the t1-r have more compared to the dunlop tire u talking of?
where would i get the dunlops?

TREX

Postby TREX » February 20th, 2008, 5:46 pm

daymean wrote:but in terms of level of grip...does the t1-r have more compared to the dunlop tire u talking of?
where would i get the dunlops?

Grip, mmmmmmmmm IMO everything that is NOT a Victoracer has NO Grip
Try mileage Mack, I bought some there a year ago.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 22nd, 2008, 7:56 pm

dunlop fm901 crazy

devi and i both use them and i have no complaints.

234 45 17 and devi uses 245 45 17

i recommend the 245 and the 235 makes the back feel uneasy and ready to slide in wet.

the 245 holds much better and does not touch and looks great

hmph

Postby hmph » February 23rd, 2008, 12:42 am

hmph, yer there are a wide variety of tires on tirerack however whats the chances of u gettin those tires here?? kinda sucks!

i only posted tirerack as a reference, if u use it properly it gives a comparison of all tires in the 235/40/17 range and which are the best for each application. cool stuff. the stock advans are ranked #12

great grip,however, lots of noise and dont last long.

i agree with MadCrix and TREX go with the dunlops.. the toyos are waay expensive!

daymean

Postby daymean » February 23rd, 2008, 12:48 am

ok seems like its the dunlops
i will look around at prices

Postby crazybalhead » February 25th, 2008, 7:06 am

MadCrix wrote:dunlop fm901 crazy

devi and i both use them and i have no complaints.

234 45 17 and devi uses 245 45 17

i recommend the 245 and the 235 makes the back feel uneasy and ready to slide in wet.

the 245 holds much better and does not touch and looks great

Thanks. Will check it out.

daymean

Postby daymean » February 26th, 2008, 11:17 pm

ok so i ended up gettin the toyos ra-1 tires form mileage mack
traction seems to be good so far
price was $1300 per tire.
threadwear is 100 though
i wanted to try this tire so i will let u guys know how it performs
i know the wet traction is very bad but since i dont use this every day and i dont like to drive my car in the rain i didnt mind that....

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 27th, 2008, 7:53 am

Here balhead check them out..

http://www.scoobytnt.com/forum/viewtopi ... highlight=

but it's 225/45 though.

Postby crazybalhead » February 27th, 2008, 8:22 am

Boy websense blocking me here in work. You could copy and paste some details?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 27th, 2008, 9:54 am

Bridgestone Potenza's RE01-R 225/45/ZR17

Price: $1700.00

Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 225/45/ZR17

Price: $1400.00

Andy
683 8099

Postby crazybalhead » February 27th, 2008, 10:02 am

Dammit, that size too small man!!! I will call him anyway though.

Postby crazybalhead » February 27th, 2008, 10:10 am

No answer on phone and no voicemail.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 27th, 2008, 10:42 am

DUNLOP

*clout* *slap* *kick*

yuh head hard yuh know :x :x

Postby crazybalhead » March 4th, 2008, 6:46 am

Arite kant, ah put on the sport max, they holding good. They break away a little earlier than the Poitenzas, but not by much. The ride is better, but the steering tracking a lil squirrelly. But anything better than smooth potenzas!!!!!

Lawd.. :shock:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”