***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2009, 11:49 am

IM IN ALSO.

so does anyone know anything about my shifting prob stated above?

Postby janfar » August 10th, 2009, 12:03 pm

Im having the same prob hoss. I think it could be a number of factors.

1. leaking clutch master and slave cylinder.
2. Air in the clutch system.
3. seals not strong enough to exert the force required to move the extreme or in your case heavy duty pressure plate.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 10th, 2009, 12:18 pm

janfar wrote:Which part this fun take place???

We should get together and plan a day for the early evos to run somewhere???

after you blow past us couple sundays ago between manzan and plum mitan???

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2009, 12:20 pm

janfar,i changed the slave seals since that was leaking b4. it did help the prob a bit. maybe the master needs changing also? :cry:

Postby janfar » August 10th, 2009, 12:24 pm

Maybe it does. Where you got the seals purchased.

http://www.dsmtalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209174

idlemind, me hoss :oops: :oops: :oops:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2009, 12:27 pm

janfar,just dropped it off by my mechanic that day and they got everything for me. do you think shifter bushings can cause this also? as in my shifter has alot of play even when in a gear.

Postby janfar » August 10th, 2009, 12:47 pm

Very possible, I need to have mine changed as well, going to have some teflon bushings made and put on my new short throw shifter. The eye bushes on the links over the gearbox looks good in mine. Also check the location of the top water hose from your rad to engine. Sometimes this gets in the way of your linkage causing hard shifting.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2009, 12:53 pm

janfar,hmmmm good info. how much and where are u gonna get the bushings made?

the thing is, first to second is great, second to third is hard and crunchy, third to fourth is better and fourth to fifth is good. reverse gives a lil trouble also. only second to third gives the crunchy feeling tho.

Postby janfar » August 10th, 2009, 1:00 pm

Heres what to do, get someone to change the gears for you while you look down into the engine bay at the shifter links and see if it jams up on something.

Plenty people make teflon stuff now. I havent decided where to go yet, but when i do I could prolly check you and we could head down together.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 10th, 2009, 1:35 pm

yea was u self janfar, yuh taillights sell yuh out :lol:

was a small convoy from mitsucrew,
u passed us where the road open up for overtaking between grande and plum i believe.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 10th, 2009, 1:42 pm

Not all ACT are the same be careful who you buy from. China man say cheap thing no good, make sure you run a GL4 oil in the box if your gears are grating it is because GL5 was used and its eating the brass rings.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2009, 1:48 pm

W2J, :shock: :cry: i still have to check u for a FULL amsoil oil setup yes. just want to get my bushings sorted out first but people keep telling me they can get it then after some time, they cant get it.

Postby janfar » August 10th, 2009, 2:26 pm

idlemind, amount of ppl i does pass on my way to trincity i dont remember, next time flag me down.

Death-Row, Just take down your bushings and take to to a rubber molding company and have them remade.

W2J, point duly noted.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 10th, 2009, 2:28 pm

^ who are those "people" maybe the same type that never raced, built or even own a fast Mitsubishi? I certainly hope its not the same that made you buy a copper setup for a 4WD car that does not have enough power to slip the wheels without doing damage to the TC.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2009, 5:43 pm

live and learn i guess. you and sanctifier gave me some good info, in the process of doing over the car. the car works better based on the info gathered from you guys. thanks. will keep in contact.

Nik

Postby Nik » August 10th, 2009, 9:46 pm

took down the joint today... soon as we pulled the axle out the joint just kinda fell apart... :shock: bearings went rolling all over the place... so will be changing the join this week... both

hummm... from what i'm getting here is it that the copper clutch setup is bad for our cars once used as a daily driver???

my last car (GSR) was running a ACT street & strip setup but my EVO II has ACT 6 puck copper clutch, heavy duty pp, & a slightly lightened flywheel & i have no problems with this.

Postby janfar » August 10th, 2009, 10:18 pm

Nik, i think the problem lies in the launches, where all wheels require torque which means extra force required by the engine to move them. With a copper clutch theirs nearly 0 slippage. So when you get a sudden increase in torque at the wheels all that is transferred to the TC/ GB which could result in sudden snapping or damaging of parts. With a non copper clutch, you would get sudden slippage in the event that you do get a sudden increase in torque. Look at it like a safety feature protecting your TC/GB/

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2009, 10:23 pm

well said janfar. i guess unless u have enough power to break traction, a copper isnt the best for our cars?

i try not to launch my car while i have the copper installed. sorting a few other things out first then ill change clutch setup.

Nik

Postby Nik » August 10th, 2009, 10:26 pm

hummm... i see.... arigato gozaimasu sensei lol

Postby janfar » August 10th, 2009, 10:26 pm

What mods ave you done so far???

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2009, 10:41 pm

Nik wrote:hummm... i see.... arigato gozaimasu sensei lol

:lol: wtf

well wednesday im hoping to change the bushings and have a look at my shifter. see whats going on in there. hopeing to change out some bushings under the car and do some more maint. work. will keep you guys updated on where and how much etc.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » August 11th, 2009, 9:54 am

Just make sure when yuh launching yuh evo you launch hard enough to make all four wheels slip.
Once yuh do that, TC safe.
8-)

W2J

Postby W2J » August 11th, 2009, 10:04 am

^ sean if by chance you get any wheelhop sh!t is going to break, with a pucked disc your chances increase ten fold esp if the idot who bought or sold one without springs. A MB1-HDSS holds 322ft /tq which is perfect for daily driving / racing but I am sure they were advised to go overkill either by wrong research or the want to be experts. I have see clutch forks, fulcrum, slave/master cylinder shatter using extreme PP for daily drivers.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » August 11th, 2009, 10:30 am

I liked the Exedy Twin Disc. Lovely clutch. :mrgreen:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 11th, 2009, 10:48 am

so will a twin disc be over kill for a stock setup if intended to raise horses in the near future? or should i just get a full street and strip setup for now?

W2J

Postby W2J » August 11th, 2009, 10:51 am

^ just go with a ACT SS and make sure you get it through a honest vendor.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 11th, 2009, 10:51 am

Porn Star wrote:I liked the Exedy Twin Disc. Lovely clutch. :mrgreen:

funny I would of taught you were more a Cusco man

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » August 11th, 2009, 11:02 am

Cusco and Exedy is the same clutch. Come on G, you know that.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 11th, 2009, 11:06 am

Porn Star wrote:Cusco and Exedy is the same clutch. Come on G, you know that.

but one blue and the other purple :oops:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 11th, 2009, 12:12 pm

now took the car for a drive. while driving slow, need to double clutch otherwise gears going in hard/crunchy :x

W2J,thnx for the info.

i should be getting some poly. shifter bushings on friday also to install.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”