Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Rah

Postby Rah » August 5th, 2005, 4:18 pm

yeah lifters started back making noise about 2mth ago. Brrr.... Next oil change will try the shell.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 5th, 2005, 7:54 pm

^^^so RC didn't service yuh valvetrain assembly one time in dat engine wuk????

firetruck firetruck firetruck.........I really badly need dem fleckin coil packs now sah......car starting to bun real blasted gyas :evil:

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 10th, 2005, 1:17 am

FELLAS MY MECHANIC CURED MY HYDRAULIC LIFTER (LASHER) NOISE
THERE ARE 2 METHODS

SHORT MEATHOD

1) DRAIN ENGINE OIL WHILE ENGINE IS WARM, THEN FILL UP THE ENGINE WITH CHEAP TRANSMISSION OIL (EQUAL TO THE AMOUT U WILL USE IN REGULAR OIL),
LET IDLE FOR ABOUT 8-10 MINS, DRAIN TRANNIE OIL, REPLACE WITH FRESH MOTOR OIL AND FILTER , REPLACE OIL AFTER 1500K TO REMOVE ANY TRANNIE OIL THAT MAY BE LEFT

LONG MEATHOD
2) THIS MEATHOD REQUIRES REMOVING THE LIFTERS AND SOAKING THEM IN DIESEL OR KEROSENE OVER NIGHT (NOTE VERY IMPORTANT DO NOT REMOVE LIFTERS IF U DONT KNOW WHAT U DOING, THEY ARE VERY DELICATE EG THEY NEED TO BE STORED UPSIDE DOWN ETC.)

IF THE ABOVE 2 MEATHODS DONT WORK U WILL HAVE TO REPLACE YOUR LIFTER

HE USED THE FIRST MEATHOD ON MY CAR AND MY LIFTER NOSE WAS REALLLLL BAD AT LEAST 4 WERE MAKING NOISE , NOW MY ENGINE QUIET , LIKE BRAND NEW
I SO HAPPY :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

WHAT HE SAID THIS A COMMON PROBLEM IT IS NOT ISOLATED TO MITSUBISHI, THEY CHEVY AND THE MAZDAS HAVE THIS AS A MAJOR PROBLEM IN THE STATES..

IF ALL YUH WAH HE HELP CALL HIS SHOP
BOOST FACTORY @ 734-5124 OR 693-2760 ASK FOR WAZIR OR SINGH, TELL THEM RYAN REFERED YUH TO HIM .......

Postby wagon r » August 10th, 2005, 7:05 am

.....i might take yuh up on dat.....but i have to see how things go here in about three weeks.

Postby Greypatch » August 10th, 2005, 2:59 pm

i did that a while back but only usea 1 quart or trans fluid...
was very wuiet for a while...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 10th, 2005, 5:51 pm

I fraid jed, buh say what, that tranny oil business may help meh out........but the thing is meh lifters does only get noisy when the oil now change for a few hundred kilos and then when is past my oil change interval....

Saleem

Postby Saleem » August 10th, 2005, 10:38 pm

way sa :!: Ay Vega try the tranny oil thingy ...........then lemme know if it really woking. tHEN I`LL TRY IT :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: love the ideas fellas. keep us posted JUS 4 SHO..........

Postby Greypatch » August 11th, 2005, 10:00 am

it works peeps

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 11th, 2005, 8:12 pm

Saleem wrote:way sa :!: Ay Vega try the tranny oil thingy ...........then lemme know if it really woking. tHEN I`LL TRY IT :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: love the ideas fellas. keep us posted JUS 4 SHO..........

fork you Saleem :lol: I eh being no bobolee :lol: :lol: :lol: .........yet anyway 8)

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » August 11th, 2005, 9:04 pm

FELLAS MY MECHANIC CURED MY HYDRAULIC LIFTER (LASHER) NOISE
THERE ARE 2 METHODS

Average Price??????

Interested.

I have Witco desperadoes under my hood.

Sounding like a diesel.......How I hate dat sound.

Make it sound like u driving ah ol' car :oops: :? :? :( :D :)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 11th, 2005, 10:26 pm

^^^what vehicle again??? and what oil yuh using???

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 15th, 2005, 10:44 pm

boy morf the oil cost $30 and well yuh regular oil change

up till now i am noise free :mrgreen:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » August 17th, 2005, 11:57 am

Ah kinda new to this forum thing, but I have been reading this thread for a while and decided to follow Vega's advice, the Blue Bottle thing nah, on the next oil change.

I got my lancer last year and ever since I can remember the damm tappets ticking like hell :evil: I've tried Castrol Syntec 5W50 and Redline 20W50, that didn't work. My mechanic last time told me to even try Castrol straight 50W :shock: I tried it and it worked for 1 month but the engine felt sluggish as hell, never going back there.

Upon using the magic blue bottle, that engine never sounded quieter :D Is 3 weeks now it running reel quiet. The engine also feeling like it want to run away (ah suppose after running 50W!)

Thanks Vega, another happy customer.

Postby Greypatch » August 17th, 2005, 2:13 pm

nice to hear that man

stang

Postby stang » August 17th, 2005, 2:24 pm

Vega's advice, the Blue Bottle thing nah, on the next oil change

everyone talking about the blue shell 20w50 which is a mix blend right...anybody tried the grey full syn which is 10w40...i think...
wanna know if this is too light for a 5 year old car..also its a gdi galant..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 17th, 2005, 8:51 pm

^^^^there was a thread with a fellow galantian who was using it........no complaints from him except the price.............we tell him the cheaper one doing the same wuk!!!!

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 18th, 2005, 7:48 am

Vega, which part in north yuh getting blue bottle Helix for $95 :?:
I have to pay $115/gallon here in south :!:

Postby Greypatch » August 18th, 2005, 8:04 am

south check ms food city boi 80 $ ah bottle

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 18th, 2005, 8:15 am

That sounding like bess price soo far, which part MS dey?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » August 18th, 2005, 2:42 pm

^^Never mind, just looked it up in the phone book, this place in Siparia, Erin Rd.

Postby wagon r » August 19th, 2005, 7:09 am

....and ah charging vega for royalty rights....

....because i am the founding father of the "Magic Blue Bottle"....but is all in de 2nr family. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 19th, 2005, 7:31 am

JUS4SHO wrote:Short Method
1) Drain engine oil while engine is warm, then fill up the engine with cheap transmission oil (equal to the amout u will use in regular oil),

Let idle for about 8-10 mins, drain trannie oil, replace with fresh motor oil and filter , replace oil after 1500k to remove any trannie oil that may be left

Long Method
2) This meathod requires removing the lifters and soaking them in diesel or kerosene over night (Note very important do not remove lifters if u dont know what u doing, they are very delicate eg they need to be stored upside down etc.)...

SHO I think that 8-10 min. is much too long to run at idle with such a light viscosity lube.
You will risk burnt bearings doing that IMHO. That's a lot worse than tappet noise.
Did "at idle" thing with another engine using flushing oil... Yup... burnt bearings!

Yup warm-up engine first... try trannie fluid (or "flushing oil" much better)
Then disable ignition (check Manual) and crank engine repeatedly. (Use charged battery :lol:)
BTW don't keep switch "on" all the time for 5 min. Starter might overheat... Crank and stop etc.
Less likely to damage bearings then... (Less "load"... no combustion pressure.)

Second method is best (Outlined in Mitsu Workshop Manual.)
I can scan and post pages if you guys want... Comments?

My $0.02c :D

Rah

Postby Rah » August 19th, 2005, 8:38 am

You can get the blue bottle on ariapita avenue up north. Cant remember the name of th e place. Its almost opposite Motor city. Got mine for $95. Grey bottle worked in the earlys for me. BUt it was too much on my pocket.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 22nd, 2005, 10:05 am

Yup warm-up engine first... try trannie fluid (or "flushing oil" much better)
Then disable ignition (check Manual) and crank engine repeatedly. (Use charged battery )
BTW don't keep switch "on" all the time for 5 min. Starter might overheat... Crank and stop etc.
Less likely to damage bearings then... (Less "load"... no combustion pressure.)

I have read of this...........

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 22nd, 2005, 10:07 am

Rudman wrote:Vega, which part in north yuh getting blue bottle Helix for $95 :?:
I have to pay $115/gallon here in south :!:

I knows nutting about north, but here in good ole rio claro is $90-95.....

And yeah, wagon r was the discoverer of the blue bottle :wink:

Rah

Postby Rah » September 6th, 2005, 12:15 pm

Hey fellas. Getting a problem for about 6 weeks now. Every now and then i get periods where my idling is real off. It drops to 500 from 650-750, when it drops. Car shakes like its about to shut off, it den pops right back up.... .Now it might do this for a few days and then behave for a week. Then start again. Didnt really pay it much attention till recently when the car actually shut off....lol...has shut off twice. Restarting is no problem but now i'm getting alil worried. Any ideas ?

altec

Postby altec » September 6th, 2005, 5:26 pm

sho, since the transmission cleaning how the ticking noise?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 6th, 2005, 11:37 pm

Rah I get somthing similar occasionally as well......except the shutting off. I honestly don't know what could be the cause though. :? :?:

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » September 7th, 2005, 11:10 am

^

check/change plugs, wires etc.

checks ur TPS and ICS sensors. they might just want a lil cleaning etc.

i used to get some minor fluctuation but after plugs, wires were changed (and coil pack)...along with checkin the idle speed timing (lil adjustment screw) and the Idle control sensor...everything was fine.

Rah..where do u have ur base idle set at? u may need to turn it up just a bit (50rpm or so). but ur problem is soundin progressive so it may need lookin into.

and WHAT are u driving?

8)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 7th, 2005, 8:23 pm

^^^I feel is the coil pack giving that effect for me.......soon soon they shall be changed 8)

Return to “MITSUBISHI”