Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Rah

Postby Rah » September 7th, 2005, 8:25 pm

driving 2000 cc galant ( 4g94) No idle screw etc. Electronic right thru. Somehow have a feeling its either a problem with a plug or an injector. Will get it checked weekend. Doubt its the throttle body, had that serviced recently. In fact i do it my self. The 4g94 idles between 650 and 750 depending. One thing i havent heard any galant users talk about is the vibration problem. Its a common problem with galants. Mine has it badly.......need toc hange 2 mounts. Cant get them locally. Need to import. Hey for all u signapore galants. I have a link to the singapore galant site. Cool site. Can actually find pics of most of the trini galants there ( the original owners) Saw a Vr4 from that site down here recently. Guy was doin some serious numbers. Lol. Ne way they also talk about the common problems with these gdi cars. Heres the link =>
http://forums.delphiforums.com/n/main.a ... ub%2Fstart

You need to log on to the delphi forums. But trust me its a decent link. Was real hard to find.... real..lol

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 7th, 2005, 10:20 pm

nice link Rah.........I don't have any vibration problem.......My GDI is a Jap model as well as many of the other galant peeps here. Maybe dais why yuh ain't hear about vibration problem from we..... 8)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 7th, 2005, 10:33 pm

testing something

Rah

Postby Rah » September 9th, 2005, 11:17 am

Yeah Vega. My mechanic swears that the jap galants run betta. But i think it has to do with the fact that most jap galants are the 4g93. The 4g94 is not a fan fav of trini mechanics. Ps nice pic. One one the 1st page is a real nice site. We need to get a local one goin. lOl

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 10th, 2005, 1:09 am

We need to get a local one goin.

something like that kinda in the making..........I've also heard that the Jap models "pull" better than the Singaporean ones......doh know how, seeing that yuh have a 2l and most Jap comes 1.8l........

stang

Postby stang » September 12th, 2005, 10:18 am

Rah wrote:Hey fellas. Getting a problem for about 6 weeks now. Every now and then i get periods where my idling is real off. It drops to 500 from 650-750, when it drops. Car shakes like its about to shut off, it den pops right back up.... .Now it might do this for a few days and then behave for a week. Then start again. Didnt really pay it much attention till recently when the car actually shut off....lol...has shut off twice. Restarting is no problem but now i'm getting alil worried. Any ideas ?

If it’s a 4g94 engine out of Singapore then one thing u could look into is the battery and ground wires...
Had the same problem, the car would have erratic idle and would cut off with the engine light coming on (even while driving)...did a scan and it gave a throttle sensor error.... however the car was also giving a starting problem in the morning (sometimes) ... Changed the battery and the ground wire and hasn't gotten this problem (knock on wood) since....

stang

Postby stang » September 12th, 2005, 10:24 am

its either a problem with a plug or an injector

If it’s a gdi engine then don’t take down the injectors!!!...Tried this with mine and first of all u have to really take apart the top of the engine to get to the injectors and secondly the rubbers are impossible to get in Trinidad. Took them down to clean and due to the age of the car and that they are located in the chamber...normal rubbers won't work...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 14th, 2005, 12:17 am

^^^^that plenum is a real biyatch to get off..........

Rah

Postby Rah » September 15th, 2005, 7:27 am

^^^^^^^ Lol. Quite true. Even taking down the throttle body is a chore. Stang thanks for the advice. Will check my battery wires. Vega i think your right bout the 4g93s havin better pull. Read on a site somewhere that they have more hp than the 4g94 but the latter has higher top end. Been searching the net recently for a site i had found earlier in the year with different stories for different mods for these engines. No clue why i didnt bookmark it. One thing they said was fittin these cars with a k&n ramfilter could up the hp by up to 8 hp. Found the K&n filters, some look like they even have a maf sensor built in.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » September 19th, 2005, 9:16 pm

don't 4g60's & 90's series motors have an idle circuit that has , a by pass valve built in to vary the air / fuel ratio at idle and therefore control idle speed. :mrgreen:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 25th, 2005, 7:11 pm

Hey all..........was kinda browsing around for a 1.8 gdi service manual again (I have some pdf stuff like for body, suspension but not for the 1.8) and came across some interesting reading in this long arse thread.........

http://www.automotiveforums.com/t191295-fuel_consumption.html

Postby Greypatch » September 26th, 2005, 11:18 am

took down my injectors twice never had any problems :|

solo

Postby solo » September 26th, 2005, 12:37 pm

So fellas, what oil allyuh decide upon that quieting down the Hydra tappets?
(thread real long, plenty good information to sift through before finding this out)

Postby wagon r » September 26th, 2005, 4:53 pm

.....damn good find there vega. the reading was damn long but very informative. never woulda thought of the diesel oil though..has me thinking.

.....btw, notice everyone driving legnums eh... :mrgreen:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 27th, 2005, 9:16 am

heehee like yuhself eh G......and yuh eh read where some dood block off he EGR valve to get rid of lifter noise???...... solo bhai is blue bottle Shell Helix 15W50.....buh ent you arsk dat already somwhere in dis thread??? lol

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 27th, 2005, 9:20 am

stustunz wrote:mega i had a new fuel pump fitted and injectors cleaned when i first got the car that chaged jake sheit.
An update on what i have done after last week and talking on here i decided to block off the egr valve. well bugger me ye ha i just got 555km out of a tank of gas and it still has some gas in the tank so id say i should get around 580 to 600 as compared to 480 to 500 i was getting so im pretty damn happy.
(this is with a resistor in the temperature sender unit and thermo switch for the fan as the ecu normally controls this)with the egr valve blocked off no more noisey lifter cause this is what cloggs the backs of the valves causing the noisey lifters)
IF you would like pics or any more info im happy to let you know what i have done as this has caused me alot of anger in the past 2 yrs that i have owned the car.
Cheers Stu

solo

Postby solo » September 27th, 2005, 10:00 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:solo bhai is blue bottle Shell Helix 15W50.....buh ent you arsk dat already somwhere in dis thread??? lol

I did? LOL pallie yuh have tuh remember is ah whole lotta scotch drink Sunday fuh the wallerfield las lap eh, so Monday was stale drunk business lol.
Well ah order the blue bottle from Terran so ah guh give allyuh de feed back too...

Postby Greypatch » September 29th, 2005, 10:47 am

you have ah galant mamoo

solo

Postby solo » September 29th, 2005, 11:39 am

Greypatch wrote:you have ah galant mamoo

No dawg, buh ah have hydra tappets and they start tuh make some noise nah...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 14th, 2005, 10:55 am

patch ask chang 'bout the coil packs fuh meh nah.........since allyuh does deal good.

Rah

Postby Rah » October 23rd, 2005, 1:55 pm

Vega i forgot to tell u bout that, but last time i was there Robert had some coil packs for real, know yall battling that a while. I changed mounts last week on the galant. Car is feeling like a new car. It neva felt like this, got the recommendation off the singapore site and its true........if you have vibrations problems, the mounts could definitely be it. My transmission and left rear where damaged. Changed all though. Got the parts from japan. Cost 1000 for the 4, shipping was a beyotch doh. Still worth it. :D

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 23rd, 2005, 10:48 pm

^^^$1000 TT ????? that price real good if is so............Glad to know you got you problem solved 8)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 23rd, 2005, 10:56 pm

BTW, I acquired a set of coil packs for around $1400........although I made a template for meh mechanic, he still went and bought a set that not lining up properly.......only one bolt holding, but it's pretty tight.

Now I'm wondering whether these variations in c/p's for the same kinda engine mean anything like a difference in the voltage/current they outputting to the plugs.

No backfiring but I feel the new set pulling the car a bit lazier....and I still puffing some black smoke when I press out......say what, I done clean out the K&N, disc. battery fuh the night and gonna run him tomorrow and see...... need to change plugs too!

Postby wagon r » October 24th, 2005, 7:18 am

^could be the c/p for the GDI lancer. i bought a set of those once and they wouldn't line up either.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 24th, 2005, 9:07 pm

well the c/p had vr-g on it (bamboo stylee)........however it seemed to be pulling the car pretty decently.....no more pax pax noise.......the only thing I notice is that the idle kinda erratic, dropping to like 400rpm and then kicking back up to normal.......I'm hoping that it's the ecu trying to sort itself back in scenes. A similar thing had happened when I had changed plugs and disconnected the battery overnight, and then it sort itself out after a while.......

Still wondering if the output voltage/current of this set is any different from what I had......

Postby wagon r » October 25th, 2005, 7:57 am

turns out the guy who bought my car got some shudders yesterday after the car saw me. he said as he pulled off the car hesitated and it cut off on him once over the weekend.

.....i tell him the car just sad she's gorne because it never happened to me. :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 25th, 2005, 10:22 pm

^^^^I feel so.........he'll have to learn how to control that beast

Still wondering if the output voltage/current of this set is any different from what I had......

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » October 28th, 2005, 7:26 am

I sat down last night and read all 29 pages of this thread :morning:
and I must say I learned a lot.

I think that my tappets make some noise too. Just for a couple minutes under a cold start. I'll try this shell helix next oil change and see if it helps.

Props for an informative thread!

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » October 28th, 2005, 7:32 am

Yea, you cah go wrong switching to Shell Helix plus 15W50 (Blue bottle). I tried it after reading about Vega's results with it (somewhere in this thread) and the lifters have never been quieter. :D

All 29 pages!!! :shock: U had some free time on your hands. This thread is a good place to start when yuh now get yuh Mitsu. PM terran when yuh want the oil, he giving yuh the bess price sooo far, $78/gal.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 29th, 2005, 10:28 pm

^^^glad to know allyuh happy 8)

Return to “MITSUBISHI”