Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby wagon r » January 19th, 2006, 6:59 am

....glad to be of help.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » January 19th, 2006, 7:23 am

Yea man, glad to hear the magic blue bottle wucking for you too...... :)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 21st, 2006, 9:37 pm

just nice.....

Rudman

Postby Rudman » January 23rd, 2006, 10:23 am

These questions are for Mr. Vega about Galant GDI's, but anyone else can answer.

One of my co-workers owns a Galant GDI and asked me to post up the following 2 questions:

1. Where is the fuel filter? He thinks its behind one of the wheels but he is not sure. He didn't want to pull the hood for me to have a look.

2. Vega, did you eventually get your coil pack stories sorted out? Guess who's looking for one now. Where can one find this infamous item?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » January 24th, 2006, 7:12 am

Thank you Vega for that very informative PM. It should help out my co-worker.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 24th, 2006, 10:41 am

Always willing to help.......hope you get through. Keep us updated.

GDI

Postby GDI » January 26th, 2006, 11:08 am

Ah need some advice.

My Sept 98 Galant is backfiring and sluggish at low speeds. I changed 4 plugs (original) and one coil pack and got a slight improvement. I did a scan at Federal and got error code 91 -Electronic Throttle Valve. Anyone have similar problem? I have never changed the gas filter on this vehicle but don't think that a plugged filter could cause the car to back fire. The problem first started aroung the same time that I filled up my tank so I am in the process of running down the tank b4 I fill up.

Prior to this have have not really had any engine related problems.

Here are some vrg problems that I have come across for other owners.

Dash Clock coming on and off - Remove clock by prising off top with screwdriver use soldering iron on contacts behind LCD.

A/C compressor started to make noise like hell.- Compressor Mash up. installed universal compressor $4700.

Heavy vibration under vehicle when engine hot - Changed tansmission fluid. Problem was viscosity deteriorated so lock up clutch was not engaging properly.

Rah

Postby Rah » January 26th, 2006, 12:42 pm

Hey GDI, i have that same problem with my digital clock. Will give it a try.

Postby wagon r » January 26th, 2006, 4:58 pm

that clock problem is universal......all galants had it....

i never had a compressor probs nor the tranny fluid (as i changed it every 40k kms).

the backfiring....well.....after i sold my car, the guy who bought it said it was a loose AF sensor after the air box.

the problem could be more than one coil pack. you could clean out the entire fuel system as it could be a filter problem as you said.

i'm hoping it's not the GDI pump going bad cause that's quite $$ to replace. you can take it down and clean it out but be very careful as if ou screw it up... :(

keep us posted on the outcome as you go along.

GDI

Postby GDI » January 27th, 2006, 12:32 pm

Problem solved. Taped up the two older coil packs with electrical tape right down to where it goes on to the plug. Car wokkin real good now.

Is ah good ting ah didn't lisen to dem ded wood men in mih office an sell ah good vrg to buy ah Nissan linglow (chinese for wingroad).

[/quote]

Rudman

Postby Rudman » January 27th, 2006, 12:44 pm

GDI wrote:Is ah good ting ah didn't lisen to dem ded wood men in mih office an sell ah good vrg to buy ah Nissan linglow (chinese for wingroad).

BAWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA............ :lol: :lol: :lol:

For this repair, use only genuine Mitisubishi Galant GDI electrical tape. No other tape will do......... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Just $4.00.........Don't forget to look for the Mitsubishi label.

Rah

Postby Rah » February 18th, 2006, 6:50 pm

Hey havent had much discussion in this thread for a while. so let me fix that : )
About to do an oil change, normally change every 5000-6000 km. I have noticed something with my car, the oil always gets black very quickly. Very !. I asked another GDI guy and he has the same problem. Is it us or do yall experience the same thing ? Also think im goin to try a different oil this time. Was reading online about experiences with AMSOIL synthetics, feel im goin to give them a try. Some have oil change intervals of upward of 20000 Km. I can get it in the north for about 230 for four quarts. Might give it a try. While im at it, i remember there was discussion on oil filter. I used a fram last time and wasnt impressed. What are yall using these days ?

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » February 18th, 2006, 7:18 pm

When you say you're not impressed with an oil filter, what exactly do you mean??
How did you evaluate it and what are you looking for?

Rah

Postby Rah » February 18th, 2006, 8:59 pm

Yeah sorry about that, should have been more specific. Basically alot of GDI ppl claim that the oil filter also plays a big part in the noisy tappets situation. Makes sense if u think about it. Somehow the fram didnt fair as well in terms of noice. Doesn't have to be its fault, so i wont totally blame it but looking to try another brand. There is a page in this same thread with that talk but thats a little too much searching. Some day we should set up an index for this thread.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 18th, 2006, 9:09 pm

the filter is under the car not behind the back wheel u have to go under the car .

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » February 18th, 2006, 9:55 pm

I know where the question was asked before in the thread.
But it was never really answered.

I think that the filter would play a large part in the noisy tappet situation because, more restriction = less oil pressure = more tappet noise.

But I'd rather good filtration, regardless of the tappet noise it causes.

Rah

Postby Rah » February 19th, 2006, 8:10 am

Good point. I was thinking the same thing yesterday. Its a tradeoff. Sometimes the noise from the tappets can really be annoying doh.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » February 19th, 2006, 9:36 am

^^ Yeah :? I hate it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 23rd, 2006, 1:37 am

But I'd rather good filtration, regardless of the tappet noise it causes.

I don't agree!!!!!

Remember the tappet making noise is an indicator that it not functioning as it should, which by reasoning, would indicate that there may be some off-timing in the opening and closing of whatever valves........and hence some hindrance to performance.

I suggest this because when my tappets beating dey pan the car feels like dead weight......it just not pulling. When no tappet noise car pulls sweetly.........Usually when the lifters making dey arse full ah noise I press out to up the oil pumping/pressure, get rid of noise and car back to good runnings........

I have tried the FRAM and despite all the good things the box say about its filtration, it simply had the lifters making noise non stop.....upon collaboration with meh mech he stated that in his experience/discussions with me eh know who, that the fram "holds back" the oil pressure..........
Last edited by ~Vēġó~ on February 23rd, 2006, 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 23rd, 2006, 1:39 am

And yes Rah, my oil gets black very quickly as well..........Sakura filter is what I've been using with satisfying results.........

Let us know how the Amsoil's working out for you.......

Postby wagon r » February 23rd, 2006, 7:20 am

^i'm glad to see yuh still using the sakura vega.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

....until someone comes up with a radically new formula that has the cars running lexus quiet, shell in the blue bottle and a sakura filter is all you need.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 23rd, 2006, 1:04 pm

I chaged my oil saturday from Quakerstate Syntec to the syntec Mobile in the grey bottle, i used a fram filter (total cost about $300), anyways i started hearing the tappets real loud last nite, i'm very annoyed, i hope it subsides....can this noise have a long term effect any of the engine's components, or affect engine performance?

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2006, 1:58 pm

use the sakura filter man

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2006, 2:01 pm

people you all could service the lifters as well eh..small $$ a no noise..

as for coil packs i know someone who has them but he not cheap...

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2006, 2:02 pm

oh the fue filter usby the right read wheel...

suggestion scrap the entire assembly and go with a sliver fuel filter...

i made the adaptor but will be doing that if i have to change same again

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 23rd, 2006, 2:09 pm

16's or 17's? Which one f***-ups the vrg suspension less?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 23rd, 2006, 9:40 pm

Greypatch wrote:oh the fue filter usby the right read wheel...

suggestion scrap the entire assembly and go with a sliver fuel filter...

i made the adaptor but will be doing that if i have to change same again

Aye ah need to get meh original.......when yuh able to drink up on my side????

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 23rd, 2006, 9:57 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:I chaged my oil saturday from Quakerstate Syntec to the syntec Mobile in the grey bottle, i used a fram filter (total cost about $300), anyways i started hearing the tappets real loud last nite, i'm very annoyed, i hope it subsides....can this noise have a long term effect any of the engine's components, or affect engine performance?

saddes with all due respect, when you go through the entire thread, tedious as it may be, you would discern that we GDI Galant peeps eh really hyped up on the Mobil.......You would find that you would need to top up more regularly with the Mobil than with the blue bottle Helix... We have tried nearly all the "brand name" oils out there with not so pleasing results as what we have had with the Shell Helix (Blue bottle).........(thanks again to wagon r for enlightening us).

Somewhere along the thread we have had discussions wrt FRAM and we have concluded that it is NOT the best configuration to go with if you desire quieter lifters and by extension experiencing power loss........(See my views up above)....... I forsee that your lifter noise will continue as you use the FRAM throughout your oil usage, regardless of engine operating temperature or engine speed.......However with a quick change of filter (even if you use OSAKA filter)you may experience a considerable decreased incidence of lifter noise during operation..........In other words, yuh may get tappets knockin upon start up but once yuh start to go, the noise will go as well.......

venum

Postby venum » February 23rd, 2006, 10:54 pm

talking bout oil getting black quickly

when I first came here looking for advice bout my noisy lifters I was directed to the Shell range of oils,

specifically Shell Helix Plus 15W 50 and the Shell Ultra 10W 40

I had switched to the Shell Helix Plus 15W 50 (blue bottle)

I was advised that I can run this oil for ~ 7500km

so I did

today I changed the oil after ~ 7000 km

the guy who was doing the change told me that the oil was a bit too black

so now I am a bit concerned

can I really safely run the Shell Helix Plus for that mileage?

or should I stick to the conventional 5000km rule?

this is the second time I am changing the oil

the first time was @ a 5000km mileage, cuz I wanted to get rid of the previous engine oil - Castrol GTX 20W 50

kinda of a flush, in a manner of sort

does anyone have any comments?

blazing

Postby blazing » February 24th, 2006, 5:03 am

Firstly, changing the oil at 5000km is not a flush.

Secondly, synthetic blends of oil may offer you better protection and indeed last longer than conventional oils, however, no matter what oil you use, its always better to change every 4000-5000km in a well maintained vehicle.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”