Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 26th, 2007, 6:27 am

k&n drop in filter = $395
new ngk spark plugs = $144
engine oil and filter change= $175

doing 140km/hr and still in 3rd gear....priceless :wink:

xtech

Postby xtech » February 27th, 2007, 8:20 am

boy i does reach 160 in third

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 27th, 2007, 8:25 am

oh, was my celebration a bit premature?

i was only getting up to 100 in 3rd before the tune up
I will have to run it again this afternoon to confirm once i get an open road
my injectors still have to be cleaned though so maybe i just might get some more out of her

xtech

Postby xtech » February 27th, 2007, 9:34 am

wey yuh engine was badly off

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 27th, 2007, 9:40 am

that it was,
of course it doing real good on gas now

venum

Postby venum » February 27th, 2007, 9:06 pm

I get 160km\h in 3rd gear

4G15 DOHC :twisted:

xtech

Postby xtech » February 28th, 2007, 11:32 am

oh my............ :D

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 28th, 2007, 12:18 pm

venum wrote:I get 160km\h in 3rd gear

4G15 DOHC :twisted:

Same here!.... :twisted: :twisted:

xtech

Postby xtech » February 28th, 2007, 3:09 pm

anybody went over 180 with dey GDI ................am ME :fist: i doh know how fast i was going.........Lancer men have over 200km :(

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 28th, 2007, 3:44 pm

i did over 180 i sure, the needle stops at 180 but the rev/min was around 5000 and i was still accelerating like you i may never know :cry:

Postby Greypatch » February 28th, 2007, 7:03 pm

any mech could clean the injectors...
the top assembly has to come off

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 1st, 2007, 6:29 am

i got 575km on a full up for the first time since i got the car

yeh!!!!!

xtech

Postby xtech » March 1st, 2007, 11:15 am

welcome to the club...........i wanted to see how far i could run it so i let it run straight down till the gas light came on an it was 625KM............u know the first GDI galants in Japan trials ran for 1000KM on a tank really good gas over 100 octane..................not any mech can clean dem injectors pally they have to know what dey doing other wise dey go blow ah injector or break seals or "O" rings.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 1st, 2007, 11:21 am

^^i going santa flora by a man call jason, i think u gave me his no.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 1st, 2007, 2:44 pm

dats right he fix me up real good

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 1st, 2007, 3:45 pm

^^ how difficult is it to install a rear disc break set up in a galant, wat special components/parts are needed?
approx. cost?

xtech

Postby xtech » March 1st, 2007, 4:55 pm

should not be difficult............go Bamboo marketing dey have a whole set of those on a shelf.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 1st, 2007, 10:14 pm

xtech wrote:welcome to the club...........i wanted to see how far i could run it so i let it run straight down till the gas light came on an it was 625KM............u know the first GDI galants in Japan trials ran for 1000KM on a tank really good gas over 100 octane..................not any mech can clean dem injectors pally they have to know what dey doing other wise dey go blow ah injector or break seals or "O" rings.

yup, I remember some singaporean tests achieved over 900km on a tankful with the GDI galants........most I ever got was close to 700km and that was REALLY pushing the envelope in terms of running on fumes........normal usage yields me around 620+KM PER TANKFUL.........

aS FOR THE INJECTORS, why yuh think they so hard to come off/access???? they were not meant to be pulled down for servicing by any tom, dick or harnarine! Run yuh regular injector cleaner and you should be good......once I tried the cannister clean and it really didn't make any difference.......Basically, the proximity of the injector to the combustion chamber is so close that any residue that may want to accumulate on the injector outlet, will burn off due to the temp of the chamber....the design is such that the injectors maintain a sort of self cleaning system.....there is no need for such a servicing!!!!!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 1st, 2007, 10:23 pm

how difficult is it to install a rear disc break set up in a galant, wat special components/parts are needed?
approx. cost?

Now whilst this may look cool, oh I have 4 wheel disc brakes, there is really no necessity to install such as the galant ain't no high performance car that requires such intensive braking requirements!!!!!! Most of your stopping power comes from the front discs, and whatever stopping power from the rear that is required is adequately supplied by the rear drums..........so in my opinion, the rear disc won't really aid in anything.....unless yuh just want a different look.......(which I really cyaar argue with you and if you get through, then hit meh ah pm to inform as per cost and other tech specs!)

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 2nd, 2007, 8:42 pm

I eventually got 575km with a 1/4 tank to go so i gud guess cud be 675km maybe?
Although what you said about the injectors makes alot of sense, I was advised by many a mech and service tech that i shud get the injectors cleaned. this guy came recomended and well i going dong be he tom. so i will hit you guys up on monday to tell you how it went. i hope i wont be posting "WTB injectors for GDI galant'

sant74

Postby sant74 » March 3rd, 2007, 4:08 pm

well sometime u have have to take them out to clean them this a pic of a before and after when i took apart my engine to change the rings[Image][/img]

xtech

Postby xtech » March 3rd, 2007, 4:40 pm

nice example of dirty injectors............they are self cleaning but not after running for a couple of months on NPs best gas.Well at least the leaded premium of by gone days. Car does run longer between major injector cleaning on the new unleaded

Rah

Postby Rah » March 5th, 2007, 8:39 am

Fellas as yall know i have been having problems with tappet noise.........since. The shell treatment( blue bottle oil and filter) never worked for me. The noise got worse of late so I took xtech's advice and tried engine restorer. I got mine at jurawans for fifty five dollars. Went to fill gas and poured it in same time.........when i started up i got tappet noise for less than a minute.........since then ( saturday) i havent heard the pan side as yet. Just want to urge those having trouble with tappet noise to give it a try or wait for further information from me. Just want to see if they on a lil break or if they are gone for good. But for now.........car hasn't sounded this quiet in a while.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 5th, 2007, 9:07 am

^^^^ :roll: yuh see.....................one man took d plunge............anybody else??? i telling all yuh it woks..........try it yuh go like it :mrgreen:

xtech

Postby xtech » March 5th, 2007, 2:42 pm

oh my i found a 2005 model 3.0l Mivec V6........ should i sell it or use it for myself............ :?: when u looking for something u can't find it.....i not looking for it now opps here it comes

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 7th, 2007, 11:54 pm

Rah wrote:Fellas as yall know i have been having problems with tappet noise.........since. The shell treatment( blue bottle oil and filter) never worked for me. The noise got worse of late so I took xtech's advice and tried engine restorer. I got mine at jurawans for fifty five dollars. Went to fill gas and poured it in same time.........when i started up i got tappet noise for less than a minute.........since then ( saturday) i havent heard the pan side as yet. Just want to urge those having trouble with tappet noise to give it a try or wait for further information from me. Just want to see if they on a lil break or if they are gone for good. But for now.........car hasn't sounded this quiet in a while.

I have a problem with this thought!.....you said that you poured in your engine restore when you went to full up..............???? where in the gas tank or engine bay????

The problem with the pan side is that there is some difficulty in achieving adequate oil pressure within the hydraulic lifters......such reduced pressure may be a consequence of your oil filter (not being to deliver adequate pressure when required), oil viscoscity (being too thick or like a 20W50body kinda scenes), or a malfunction within the seals of your lifter assembly!!!!!

Once again let me state:

I bought my car with 71,000 km on it........I have had lifter noise from ever sine.........oil filter type affects such in terms of oil delivery(keep away from FRAM), oil type affects such as a thinner oil tends to run smoother through the system (manf'trs rec'md 10W30 body oil.......we get shell helix at 15W50 which is a lil too thick.........it'll make noise for a while until it breaks down and all is well))..........when my lifters playing the arsre and making noise I usually give the car a hard red-line run and all is well..........

xtech

Postby xtech » March 8th, 2007, 7:37 am

am........it went into the oil........ :roll: anyway an yeah we know all dat u said cause i did all dat an like u the noise does come back now an again with this engine restorer thing it never comes back seriously. now i ONLY hear the noise when i stuck in traffic :( THEN I REALISE IT NOT ME :P It another VR-G :oops:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 11th, 2007, 1:13 am

xtech wrote:am........it went into the oil........ :roll: anyway an yeah we know all dat u said cause i did all dat an like u the noise does come back now an again with this engine restorer thing it never comes back seriously. now i ONLY hear the noise when i stuck in traffic :( THEN I REALISE IT NOT ME :P It another VR-G :oops:

stupid question there *apologies*...... :oops: (ah heel I was inebriated when I posted that)

hmmmm.....yuh have me thinking again.....engine restorer you say........think I'll try it out........is it available at any parts place or only at selected places/locations??? time for an oil change so I wanna give it a try......

hope all goes well *keeps fingers crossed*

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 12th, 2007, 6:36 am

just an update guys......
i had my injectors clean by the mech in Sant Flora, needless to say it was quite dirty, a lot of what seemed to be carbon/sludge build up on and around the injectors.
N.B we realised that the fuel pressure drops after the injectors were cleaned, prob. because the nozzles were no longer restricting the fuel flow. He used the scan tool and checked the pressure which read under the stock pressure. So he had to adjust the pressure via a manual adjustment screw. now the car works fine, dont see much of a diff however but atleast i know its cleaned :wink:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 14th, 2007, 2:19 am

I ain't change oil yet, but I got the engine restorer from local parts place at $70 for a 6 cylinder treatment (they were out of the 4 cylinder).

So I needed to top up some oil as the lifters had become quite noisy due to that. Well I threw in some of the engine restorer and some oil as well (the parts place guy gave me and idea as per the relative size of the 4cylinder treatment can, so I just added the extra from the 6cyl, just to see wah going on).......and then started up. Usually the pan side would play after a top up for a lil while whilst driving and almost all the time at start up........ BUT HELL!!!!!!!!! After start up was tick tick tick den---------------------------------------------------------nothing. I've had 5 starts from cold since adding the restorer and each time was silence!!!!!! During driving the motor feels differently as the lifters seem to be settled and thus operating as they should.

I'm impressed so far............MUCH THANKS for the heads up!

Now is only to actually change oil and filter, and add in the restorer fluid to the mix and observe......

Return to “MITSUBISHI”