Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 13th, 2007, 2:57 pm

Well, if the blue bottle oil and the engine restore doesn't work, then more than likely the hydraulic lifters will need servicing/cleaning.

To get the kit and labour to service the 16 valves was costing more than $2500 last time I checked.

I dunno if U could live with the pan side or spend that money on a 4G15.

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » April 13th, 2007, 3:16 pm

bro my engine iz ah 4g92 mivec

Rudman

Postby Rudman » April 13th, 2007, 3:33 pm

Oh, sorry, my bad!... :D

Well U could cost the job yourself. Its $100 per valve to change the lash adjuster plus labour. May be justified to spend that money on a MIVEC.

or U could try to open the tappet pan and have a look to see what gunk is there

Up to you.

P.S. go to the begining of this thread to see what other options are there.

venum

Postby venum » April 14th, 2007, 8:05 pm

DriFT_KiNG wrote:^^so u saying that once u getting that kind of noise u better off changing yuh engine

nah pal, doh study Rudman, he just messing with you

if teh engine restorer and the synthetic oil didn't work, then you need to get those lifters serviced

they too far gone.

it will cost close to what Rudman quoted, but it is justified on that MIVEC engine

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 19th, 2007, 11:12 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:~˜VëgŲ˜~, can u remember the part nos. of the replacement belts/chains, fan belt etc, that wud usually have to be changed after 100k
have u ever changed the filter in ur transmision? if so wey u get it to buy and how much of a pain is it to change?

Hey man, will try to get the #'s for you......I have kept the old ones for that same purpose (can't do that now 'cause it too late to go outside).......somewhere in this thread has some numbers that I posted for timing belt and powersteering belt......

As for the filter IN the transmission (it have one?....lol), I haven't changed that........external one is no worries to get nor to change.....
sakura tc 1018 I believe........or was it 1028 :oops:

1500km with engine restorer.......NO PAN SIDE!!!!!!!!! :wink:

Postby X_Factor » April 19th, 2007, 11:42 pm

can't do that now 'cause it too late to go outside

if someone had ah cold stag...yuh done reach out side eh

or U could try to open the tappet pan and have a look to see what gunk is there

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 20th, 2007, 12:35 am

Might be time to inspect/ replace lifters....

robbie4774

Postby robbie4774 » April 20th, 2007, 8:43 pm

dudes i have a problem with a ck2a, after starting and warm up for about 3 mins. i would get a force or hold back while driving on the road, clean injectors,throttle body, did dianogtics, what is the problem? notice this about three weeks ago, not get a fast pull off either!!!!!!!!!!

blazing

Postby blazing » April 20th, 2007, 11:33 pm

tps ?

kpillos

noisy engine

Postby kpillos » April 22nd, 2007, 2:53 am

can anyone tell me where can i get the lifters locally and at what cost ,man i tired of changing different oils and treatments for this problem,
most parts place say that they have to order it first and then give a final price .
i feel we the drivers of Gallant cars should form an organisation and deal with one supplier for business for importing gallant parts , not diamond motors who are way to expensive. we could negotiate with the supplier for effective stock prices in importation , anyone interested email me at pilg8138@yahoo.com

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 22nd, 2007, 11:43 am

Hey man, will try to get the #'s for you......I have kept the old ones for that same purpose (can't do that now 'cause it too late to go outside).......somewhere in this thread has some numbers that I posted for timing belt and powersteering belt......

Thanks man pls doh forget me

Rah

Postby Rah » April 27th, 2007, 1:36 pm

Hey people. Trying to find a coil pack for a friend. So far only FAIZ has and cost is like 1800, found that a lil high. Anybody know where else i can get one ?

Rah

Postby Rah » April 27th, 2007, 1:45 pm

Hey halfbreed i was reading earlier on where you said you cleaned your injectors and noticed the fuel pressure dropped and had to be adjusted manually. Did the check engine light come on. Anybody else ever got this problem ? I actually did when i had mine cleaned, the scan tool was not picking up anything. After a day it cleared though. Hearing what you said i believe i have the same problem. Recently the light has been coming back on but does not stay long enough to get it scanned. The error is not staying on the system and i generally believe it is the same issue, my mechanic and i were talking about it and i came and read it here !. No clue about the manual adjustment though.

xtech

Postby xtech » April 27th, 2007, 2:12 pm

i know his mech.... he said he used the scan tool to electronically raise or lower the pressure.......on the fly

Rah

Postby Rah » April 27th, 2007, 3:25 pm

Can i ask who is the mech ?

xtech

Postby xtech » April 27th, 2007, 4:00 pm

yes u can ask...............................

sant74

Postby sant74 » May 1st, 2007, 8:29 pm

hey i put in engine restoreabout 2 wks ago during an oil change (shell 15w 50) and i have noticed a dramatic derease in the tappet noise. i waited to make sure that it wasnt for a day or 2 but so far so good. DO i have to add the engine restore at every oil change though?

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 1st, 2007, 10:06 pm

What is this engine restoresant74,?

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » May 2nd, 2007, 12:31 am

Who are your mechanics? I always hear about some man down south (all he fixes is VRG's) anyone know if this is true?

xtech

Postby xtech » May 2nd, 2007, 6:26 am

yeah the Deep South GDI Mechanic man......if anybody want find him he is located Santa Flora. Jason is his name an he very good on Mitsubishi GDI cars Cedia or VRG both the 4G93 and the newer 4G94 even the Nissan GDI equivalent it was not his specialty but since his sister brought a VRG a couple of years back well he tinkered and destroyed but now he a Boss........749-2388.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » May 2nd, 2007, 6:30 am

Thanks xtech, i've been looking for that info a long time now. Anyone here used him already beside xtech? Anyone know where to locate an AWD Tranny?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » May 2nd, 2007, 4:01 pm

sant74 wrote:hey i put in engine restoreabout 2 wks ago during an oil change (shell 15w 50) and i have noticed a dramatic derease in the tappet noise. i waited to make sure that it wasnt for a day or 2 but so far so good. DO i have to add the engine restore at every oil change though?

3000km since my last oil change with engine restore and the tappets are still quiet.... :D

Yea Sant74, the container says every oil change, but I only going to add it when I think its necessary (i.e. when the noise comes back)

Who knows? maybe its effectiveness will be diminished at the oil change and that's why they say its necessary to replenish......i'll soon find out when the is due in 3 weeks.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 3rd, 2007, 6:25 am

Yes yes i can testify to the abilities of Jason as he was the guy i went to, and yes we did drive the car with the tool on to monitor the fuel pressure which he had to adjust manually. The check light did infact come on but only during heavy acceleration, and it did not stay on. My advice to you is to have ur mech run with u with the scan tool plugged into the car so he can see if the pressure fluctuates, if hes not willing to do that then u can make an appointment by jason, he will do all he can to make sure ur are satisfied.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 3rd, 2007, 6:27 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~,
like you forget me homes?
Halfbreed07 wrote:
~˜VëgŲ˜~, can u remember the part nos. of the replacement belts/chains, fan belt etc, that wud usually have to be changed after 100k
have u ever changed the filter in ur transmision? if so wey u get it to buy and how much of a pain is it to change?

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » May 4th, 2007, 1:26 pm

What about these guys

1: Anil Ramdeen

2: Robert Chan

Check this thread http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=124583

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 7th, 2007, 6:36 am

^^Cud be but my experience is with Jason that who i can vouch for, unlike most other ppl who only "heard" about these guys.

Rah

Postby Rah » May 15th, 2007, 6:37 am

Hey ppl, little update on the restorer. First time i tried it, it only worked for like 5 days, but i was losing oil at the time, not much but still was losing. Tried it again recently and well its been cool so far ( close to two weeks). Think my oil loss was the problem. For those who didnt get it to work the 1st time , don't give up, still might have hope. Just need to identify what is wrong.

Another thing, i had asked recently but didnt get a reply, I am having a problem with my coil packs, actually its not he pack itself but the tubing that extends from it. Its torn, we have used epoxy on it but i would prefer to change it. I would imagine that this(the tubing) would be hard to get so anybody knows where i can get a used coil pack or preferably just the tubing. Tried faiz a while back, but they only had the igniter (coil pack) and the whole make up, not the tubing. Whole make up by them is 1800 so...........lol
Rah

Rudman

Postby Rudman » May 15th, 2007, 8:02 am

My update on the engine restore. Running for 5000 km now and still no noisy hydraulic lifters. Waiting to see if the quietness will continue after I change oil.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 15th, 2007, 10:57 am

jusjase44 wrote:What about these guys

1: Anil Ramdeen

2: Robert Chan

Check this thread http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=124583

i found out about him here on trinituner about 2 yrs now and he has always been up to standard.. he knows his stuff and can dianose and fix in a short space of time... ony problem is his price is a bit high , am nto complaining tho as his service is worth it ..he is straight up and tells u what is wrong and what needs to be changed ..

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 16th, 2007, 10:08 am

If you looking for value for money check Jason d man is a real boss and i going by him saturday to check out an idle problem i'm having, will post problem and diagnosis as soon as i get it rectified.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”