Post Your EVO HP/TQ and MODS Thread

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Sanctifier

Re: Post Your EVO HP/TQ and MODS Thread

Postby Sanctifier » October 1st, 2010, 7:01 pm

GEAR_HEAD wrote:Sanctifier, when will the car be ready to compete in solodex?
^ ^ ^ Good question. :? Right now your guess is as good as mine...
At the rate the bills keep coming...before I die from heart failure... (I hope!) :lol: :lol:

Seriously...larger family early this year put another stop to ALL projects.
Engine & gearbox rebuild...wider rims & tyres...chassis prep & paint...then actual build time.
Only just starting to buy parts (and tools) again...so we'll see how it goes this time around. :roll:

W2J wrote:...why the hell would you want to rev to 9k when a green will not be able to flow past 7800rpm?
BTW W2J, this is what happens in Autocross...
EVOlutionary on Evom.net wrote:Last year...I was riding the rev limiter at 8000rpms in 2nd gear, sometimes for a whole second or two. I know a certain national championship winning EVO that in some events would ride it for at least 3 seconds in some spots, although his rev limiter is a little bit lower than mine. I feel there is definitely time to make up there by being able to accellerate through the whole section.

I bet if you looked at logs from AX runs you would be surprised how much time you spend between 5000 and 6500 rpms. Remember, the more grip you have and the faster you become, the more time you will spend at higher speeds and higher RPMs. Then again, your region may favor tighter, slower courses. . .
His $0.02¢ (running a 4.535 final drive)... and with a 4.875 final drive, that's why I need 9000 rpm if I want to win.

Postby crazybalhead » October 4th, 2010, 7:43 am

Sanctifier, don't mean to be an ass, but after all this analysis and prep, you WILL come to dex and have your ass handed to you by a stock Evo V or worse a very modified Ignis.

The nut behind the wheel first my friend.

But low down torque and quick spool does help.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 4th, 2010, 1:19 pm

^ ^ ^ But of course! I am in no doubt that that will happen! I have said that from the beginning. Maybe by a stock Ignis, too!
Hell, put John Powell on a bicycle and he should be able to beat me in my Evo 6 in my rookie year. :lol:

You expect me...with ZERO track experience...in my fifties...to do a DIY build of an Evo 6...make ZERO mistakes in the build...come to Solodex...and actually WIN in my rookie year???
The name is Wade, padna...NOT Lewis Hamilton,...or clivew from MLR, padna.

I have ALWAYS said that I expect to get a cutazz for at least the first TWO years...but then my goal is to win the Class Championship in Year #3, after developing the car and getting some track experience under my belt. 8-)
Last edited by Sanctifier on October 4th, 2010, 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » October 4th, 2010, 1:29 pm

Scene.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 4th, 2010, 1:35 pm

^ ^ ^ At least the reading and analysis allowed me to buy the right model Evo when it came along.

Just think how much WORSE the cutazz would be if I did no analysis...and little or no prep at all. :shock:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”