Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » November 13th, 2007, 11:28 pm

well i does DRIVE my car so i does change oil regular...

3mths or less, i use castrol gtx 20-50

Postby 3stagevtec » November 16th, 2007, 1:04 pm

bump for the engine restorer...

so far, i've seen alot of good reviews on the product.. yet to see a definite bad...

Postby *KRONIK* » November 20th, 2007, 7:10 pm

so i should run the oil longer?
cuz i noticed that the oil duz get rel thin around 5000km and my FORMER!!! noisy tappit problem used to get rel agitated around that milage!

if not the mobil! wat is good oil!
i never hear ppl say anyhting bad bout MOBIL so i figured it good!

Postby X_Factor » November 20th, 2007, 7:38 pm

^^ the mobil is good eh..one of the best no doubt..but im jus saying if u changing ur oil every 5000k's IMO u wasting that full synt. cause some say its good to 10k's and its like 65$ per quart..

i gonna change to Quaker 10W30 synthetic blend over the weekend

Postby ronsin1 » December 27th, 2007, 6:44 am

Bump for shark8180

venum

Postby venum » December 27th, 2007, 10:59 pm

I using teh mobil in teh gf CS3 lancer

primarily because of the 10,000km oil change intervals

*Dre*

Postby *Dre* » January 6th, 2008, 2:21 pm

Hello guys, I too was one of the frustrated Mitsubishi Lancer owners with this damn noisy tappets :evil: , that's until I saw this thread. I must say, all hail Engine Restorer, the cure to my noisy problems. I've tried all kind of things, from engine flush to different treatments. I was ready to push this car off a cliff but just one use of Engine Restorer and my engine is quiet as ever. :D Can anyone tell after how many km's should I change my oil, I'm now using Shell Helix Plus 15w-50

Postby ronsin1 » January 6th, 2008, 5:03 pm

^^^ every 5000 kms

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 8th, 2008, 2:13 am

i just tried Schaefer's 20-50 an that quieted down mine quite a bit only on start up it a little noisy an after a few mins its quiet maybe i shud have used 10-40 instead, the other day i had to watch my tach top make sure the engine was on :oops:

Postby *KRONIK* » January 8th, 2008, 5:42 pm

shoulda try the RESTORE!

*Dre*

Postby *Dre* » January 8th, 2008, 10:06 pm

Well, if you're as frustrated as I was, by all means try it. Most mechanics will say not to, its for oil compression and consumption. But the can also says lubrication, so go ahead. It works, I tried it Friday, and not a sound since.

xtech

Postby xtech » January 9th, 2008, 6:23 pm

u will not hear nuttin ever until about 3 oil changes which is when the build up of copper silver an lead start to break down....................don't use another can of engine restorer until u hear the tick tick tick...............u have been warned this thing is not a oil treatment.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 9th, 2008, 6:38 pm

hmmm..

bad experience i trust??? :shock: :shock:

xtech

Postby xtech » January 9th, 2008, 6:55 pm

i introduced a fella to it an he use it everytime had a oil change...............Well lets just cut out the long story he stick a lifter with it

venum

Postby venum » January 9th, 2008, 10:32 pm

i have not used the treatment since

i was testing whether i needed it

if the noise came back, then I would use it

and the noise never came back

*Dre*

Postby *Dre* » January 10th, 2008, 6:11 am

:shock: wow :shock: thanks for the advice bro. will wait until i hear the noise again. but, i only used half can though

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 10th, 2008, 6:20 am

with my ck i would clean out trottle body and intake with amzoil power foam and i dont understand it eh but my lifter lash noise use to be gone

Postby *KRONIK* » January 10th, 2008, 6:45 pm

hmmmm...

will keep that in mind!

i have so far only used one can of the said product!

rite now my oil at 4800Km and the noise is very slight on startup (u hadda listen 4 it).

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2008, 8:21 pm

rite!

we back at this!

rite now my mobil at about 8300KM and i looking to change oil after the carnival!

problem...............

my tappits start back knocking....

do i use another can of RESTORE????????
with my oil change????????

or wait for the noise to come back after one week with the new oil (cuz i know it will)

then add a can of restore??

or if i add the restore will my lifter stick???

and which shell oil duz work good on the 4g15 DOHC??

i feel i goin and done with the MOBIL ting!

holla

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :twisted: :twisted:

blazing

Postby blazing » February 4th, 2008, 10:20 pm

i have been using the blue bottle shell since i had my car..4g15 dohc and never get tappet noise until 6000km after oil change. Now ive switched to the full syn shell oil.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 5th, 2008, 8:16 am

I no longer worry about lifter noise.......... but dais because i gorne

<------------------------

venum

Postby venum » February 5th, 2008, 11:15 am

^^^ so yuh leave we eh uncle

I added another can of the Engine Restore on my last oil change cuz the lifter noise was returning

that stuff selling hot, plenty places I checked didn't have

Postby ronsin1 » February 5th, 2008, 11:41 am

where you got it venum was looking for it and can't find any

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 5th, 2008, 12:52 pm

:oops: :oops: :oops:
anybody can please tell me how noisy lifters sound?

yeah i serious
:oops:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 5th, 2008, 2:10 pm

tick, tick, tick, tick, tick......................tick, tick.... :|

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 5th, 2008, 2:19 pm

^right, so what causes this ticking

forgive me if it was asked before
but you see how much pages this is??

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 5th, 2008, 2:47 pm

These are the hydraulic valve lifters. They "tick" either when they are receiving insufficient lubrication, or in the worse case, when they are sticking due to gum and varnish, and need cleaning.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 5th, 2008, 3:11 pm

^ thanks Rudman, i also heard that using the wrong body oil over time, can do this too. true?

venum

Postby venum » February 5th, 2008, 3:22 pm

idlemind take a pen and tap it repeatedly on a wooden desk or table rapidly

that's the sound

the caus eof the noise - just as Rudman said

as for teh oil, yes, too heavy a body will cause it

GDI suppose to be using semi-synthetic or full-synthetic (preferably)

it's a common Mitsubishi ailment

ronsin1 got by Faiz in Marabella - $65.00
Last edited by venum on February 5th, 2008, 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 5th, 2008, 3:34 pm

oh ho :lol: thanks there

a GDI mech once told me that once you change the oil in the GDI Galant for the first time since they arrive from Singapore/Japan, the lifters begin to make noise because of the oil we're supplied.

i firmly believe that GDI suppose to use full synthetic oils only, but his statement had me wondering if the Asian oils are substantially different.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”