Help needed on K&N differences

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Lean Wid IT

Help needed on K&N differences

Postby Lean Wid IT » March 20th, 2007, 12:03 pm

fellas i know it has 2 types of K&N filters rite?......teh drop in and the cone..but which one is better?..in terms of performance?...what teh difference between the2?.

And can someone tell me if a K&n typhoon intake helps?..i now hearin about that for the first time...as i saw one in an evo i may be tempted to put it in a ck4 can this work?...
Last edited by Lean Wid IT on March 20th, 2007, 8:38 pm, edited 3 times in total.

hottstuff

Postby hottstuff » March 20th, 2007, 12:41 pm

It depends on what engine yuh using it on.Carbeaurated or fuel injected?

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » March 20th, 2007, 12:48 pm

fuel injected....4g92 SOHC any recommendations??......drop in? kone? wat?....or wat bout the typhoon intake?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 20th, 2007, 10:17 pm

actually depands on choice.... Drop in is the incognito way of getting better air flow...but still a bit less than cone, but is fairly shielded from heat soak.

The cone is a double edged sword in that it pulls more air, but also can pull more heat.

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » March 21st, 2007, 2:43 am

there's a specific cone filter made for the 4g92/93 sohc which allows for straight air...

http://www.rpw.com.au/shop/index.php?pa ... &Itemid=31

check th site... it's available @ garvin's performance shop in st james tho.

Stay Tuned

Re: Help needed on K&N differences

Postby Stay Tuned » March 21st, 2007, 6:04 am

Lean Wid IT wrote:And can someone tell me if a K&n typhoon intake helps?

If it's the same thing that spirals the air,mythbusters said that it's a myth.IT DOES NOT IMPROVE HORSEPOWER OR FUEL CONSUMPTION

srnoth

Postby srnoth » March 25th, 2007, 2:52 pm

By the way, people forgot to mention that a cone intake is A LOT louder. That can be a positive or a negative. But if you regularly drive with the X past half way, it can get annoyingly loud.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » March 25th, 2007, 9:15 pm

i love the loudness yes. works great for ppl who doh like to walk on the pavement. lol

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: Help needed on K&N differences

Postby Big Z » March 25th, 2007, 9:23 pm

Stay Tuned wrote:
Lean Wid IT wrote:And can someone tell me if a K&n typhoon intake helps?

If it's the same thing that spirals the air,mythbusters said that it's a myth.IT DOES NOT IMPROVE HORSEPOWER OR FUEL CONSUMPTION

WTF you talking bout?

srnoth

Postby srnoth » March 26th, 2007, 6:07 pm

^^He's talking about the 'cyclone' thing they used to advertise on TV. The thing you put in your carburettor that made the air 'spiral' as it entered, and supposedly increased HP and fuel efficiency. It was a hoax though - Mythbusters proved it didn't work.

iamjack

Postby iamjack » March 26th, 2007, 6:23 pm

how much for that specific cone filter for the 4g92 sohc engine?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » March 27th, 2007, 1:17 pm

and who have it or could get it??

srnoth

Postby srnoth » March 27th, 2007, 9:13 pm

iamjack wrote:how much for that specific cone filter for the 4g92 sohc engine?

I paid $495 for it at Car Boutique in St. James. You can get it cheaper than that elsewhere though. The adapter to fit it to the MAF sensor on the 4g92 was $75 or something close to that.

iamjack

Postby iamjack » March 28th, 2007, 10:50 pm

srnoth, have you noticed any significant change since you changed your filter to this cone filter? in terms of performance and gas consumption?

srnoth

Postby srnoth » March 29th, 2007, 12:15 am

^^Yeah, there was definitely an increase in performance, but it was really too loud for my likes. I installed a drop-in K&N instead, and modified the stock system to make it a full Cold Air Intake setup. Same performance as the cone filter but much quiter :wink: . Check here:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &&start=20
srnoth wrote:Here you go... I need an engine clean :( . Still a boss stock CAI though :lol:!

This is looking up from under the bumper, just in front the front wheel:

The only plans I have for the future are to figure out a way to rotate the stock box, so that the air path will be a proper free-flow setup. I might actually be able to do 0-100k in 13 seconds now! :lol: :lol:

What y'all think?
Stephen.

Check here too:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... c&&start=0

iamjack

Postby iamjack » March 29th, 2007, 12:33 am

so is it better to get this specified filter or go for a cold air intake instead? :?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”