wtk. best available tires for evo

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

gerard

wtk. best available tires for evo

Postby gerard » May 2nd, 2007, 6:33 pm

hey. i'll soon have to buy tires for my evo 7 i want sone advice on where i can get the original size (235\45\17) and what brand i should go with????

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 2nd, 2007, 7:01 pm

I used nexen 235/45 and they gave a smooth ride ....and they go for about 650 TT :roll:

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 2nd, 2007, 7:06 pm

joel dont u still hvae ur spare rims 4 sale.??

Zandolie

Postby Zandolie » May 2nd, 2007, 8:51 pm

Mudboy wrote:I used nexen 235/45 and they gave a smooth ride ....and they go for about 650 TT :roll:

Nexen's are "OK"...handle well in the wet and are quite affordable. However if you planning on solodex-ing your car at some point in time..you will quickly realize that there is some value in the old Chinese proverb "Cheap ting no good and good ting no cheap!"

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 2nd, 2007, 8:55 pm

but does it make sense 2 spend a decent bit of money behind tyres that u wanna dex in?? doesnt dex destroythem in no time atall??

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 2nd, 2007, 8:56 pm

Zandolie wrote:
Mudboy wrote:I used nexen 235/45 and they gave a smooth ride ....and they go for about 650 TT :roll:

Nexen's are "OK"...handle well in the wet and are quite affordable. However if you planning on solodex-ing your car at some point in time..you will quickly realize that there is some value in the old Chinese proverb "Cheap ting no good and good ting no cheap!"

Ok then , what do u see as the best to use.....

rishi_j

Postby rishi_j » May 2nd, 2007, 9:04 pm

pirelli tires... foreign used... wel daz wa i usin.... sumbody recommended to mi not to use new tires...

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 2nd, 2007, 9:21 pm

y not to use new tires?? :? :? the life span wuld be longer

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » May 2nd, 2007, 11:47 pm

well i don't drive an evo but i use nexen tyres...i think they're ok for everyday driving.

i've heard ppl say they are high performance tyres not sure how true this is as zandolie mentioned above they may not be appropriate for solodexing

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 2nd, 2007, 11:58 pm

try mileage mack or dean's wheels...

pirelli is a damn good and damn expensive brand. so is Michelin.

Buy tyres that carry a "V" or "W" speed rating.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 3rd, 2007, 12:05 am

whats the differnce with the v and w speed ratings??

Freak

Postby Freak » May 3rd, 2007, 8:39 am

Gerard it all depends on what u using your evo to do. If its an everyday driver and it just for the purpose of road use and no kind of racing and motorsport Nexxen might be an ok choice, affordable and from what i hear it has a long thread life. I believe dunlop is a lil higher in price but gives u a lil more room for sporting activites.
Then u have the brands like pirelli and michelin very costly but great tyres for motorsports. I think the michelin gives u a lot of road noise though.

Freak

Postby Freak » May 3rd, 2007, 8:48 am

evokiller wrote:whats the differnce with the v and w speed ratings??

Both v and w rating suggests the tyres can be used in speeds over 200km/h, i think v is around 210-220kmph and w is a lil higher 240kmph.

But isnt ZR rated tyres the best to get?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 3rd, 2007, 9:05 am

evokiller wrote:whats the differnce with the v and w speed ratings??

V rated tyres can run up to 240 KM without risk of blowout

W rated can go up to 270 KM

stock evo 7's run up to 260KM top speed est. so these 2 are the most logical choices...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 3rd, 2007, 10:20 am

MISHI,

Deans wheels, i know for a fact sells sub standard items as NEW items....Dont get roped in.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 3rd, 2007, 10:27 am

Serious..... I did buy my wheels and tyres there... never had an issue... dunno what's changed in the last couple years...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 3rd, 2007, 10:32 am

Exploding tyres.
Rims that are unbalance-able..

On MORE than one occasion..

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 3rd, 2007, 10:35 am

ok.. I'm running nankang ns1's on maxxim rims... so far so good. tyres still have about 65% tread on them... hopefully I won't fall into that category

Postby crazybalhead » May 3rd, 2007, 11:14 am

Somebody answer the question nah man!!!!! Where yuh could get potenzas, while we talking about it!

Freak

Postby Freak » May 3rd, 2007, 11:26 am

i thought we already answered the question
Ok i forgot about bridgestone. Doesnt mileage mac carry bridgestone?

Postby crazybalhead » May 3rd, 2007, 11:49 am

I find allyuh could answer it better. Me en using no nexen nah.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 3rd, 2007, 12:23 pm

Where sells potenza's?

Postby crazybalhead » May 3rd, 2007, 12:25 pm

Thais what I want to know sleeper.

Freak

Postby Freak » May 3rd, 2007, 12:45 pm

ok from the phone book i see bridgestone advertised by Rubber and Chemicals co ltd. 659-3388 but i called and they not answering.

PPM Marketing have foreign used if anyone interested, will even get a set of 4 $250 each.
Other than that bridgestone seems to be hard to get on the whole, if u want used again chippys in chaguanas had a set of potenzas last time i was there.

Postby crazybalhead » May 3rd, 2007, 12:56 pm

I would prefer to buy new yes Freak. I fed up with F-Used tires, I used to do that with the civic and that is just worries. Cracking, dry rot, having to change them often etc.

New for me yes. But I may give those people you put there a call, I saw the sign down in Gasparillow last year too, maybe they do have it.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 3rd, 2007, 1:44 pm

New fer real...i eh trusting no foreign used tyres...
I eh trusting dean wheels either.
I almost deade with a set of BF's i bought when the front tyre exploded Jesssss so!
Whole tyre wall open up
Brand new (deans) bf goodrich. :roll:

DEVI

Postby DEVI » May 3rd, 2007, 2:32 pm

I just bought dunlop 901's 245/40/17 zrated and the same in 205/40/16 for the evo and the mirage .Paid $800 and $550 per tyre and so far i'm very impressed with the grip.Duane recommended these as best value for money i used foreign used michelin pilot sport before and these tyres are very close to the michellins.Why not run these as ure road tyres and buy a set of foreign used for dex ,Gobin has a nice set of evo 8 rims and tyres for sale which should work well for dex.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » May 3rd, 2007, 4:54 pm

rishi_j wrote:pirelli tires... foreign used... wel daz wa i usin.... sumbody recommended to mi not to use new tires...

I used to have these on my Evo in Trinidad.. Z-rated P-Zeros.. got good ones from the German dude in Penal... not imported FU from Japan, but from Germany. No complaints!

$800 a set..

TREX

Postby TREX » May 3rd, 2007, 5:48 pm

Just my 0.02 cents guys
But for your evo get new tyres if u can afford them, don’t waste time with the F/used they don’t last and have probably been heat cycled to death. Besides an evo need good quality tyres for you to really drive it aggressively and even then most budget street tyres just aren’t up to scratch.

A good rule of thumb for an Evo (at least my 6 RS-2) is 2 pairs Front for every 1 pair of rears

I tried the following:
Federal – Good Price $750.00 for 225/45/17, Tough and durable, have the rim guard so protects the Rims, They are hard compounds so they last long(ish) abopuit 12 Months for me but don’t really offer a high level of grip, lots of under steer and sliding. On a relative scale of 1-5 I rate them Dry-3/Wet-2/Ride Quality-4

Toyo T1R- Expensive, soft sidewall so nice flex and good ride quality, softer compound so they might not last as long -8-10 months and u must rotate them regularly or the fronts will be too long to put on the rear. I never liked the Toyo’s I find them over priced and a bit to “bouncyâ€

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 3rd, 2007, 6:04 pm

You can run 255/40/17 on your evo 7 with no problems. I had that size in Toyo T1R's and they were great. And my car is lowered and no problems with touching.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”