ADVICE: Timing belt burst-Damages I Occured

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

mitsubishi

ADVICE: Timing belt burst-Damages I Occured

Postby mitsubishi » July 30th, 2007, 8:20 am

Hey guys and gals, I have a 1998 CK4 lancer (1.6SOHC, 4G92). Last week Thursday my Timing belt burst and the tappets broke and some valves bent. I got it used in the bamboo and put it in. The problem now is slight loss of power, tappets or something making real noise and I find that the engine shaking a bit. I am getting a lot of vibration especially when I in stop and the gear is in drive. The mechanic told me to come in on Tuesday to tighten something on the tappets and that should stop the noise. I don’t know much about cars so I would like to get some advice on what this mechanic should really be doing.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: ADVICE: Timing belt burst-Damages I Occured

Postby MISHI » July 30th, 2007, 11:51 am

mitsubishi wrote:Hey guys and gals, I have a 1998 CK4 lancer (1.6SOHC, 4G92). Last week Thursday my Timing belt burst and the tappets broke and some valves bent. I got it used in the bamboo and put it in. The problem now is slight loss of power, tappets or something making real noise and I find that the engine shaking a bit. I am getting a lot of vibration especially when I in stop and the gear is in drive. The mechanic told me to come in on Tuesday to tighten something on the tappets and that should stop the noise. I don’t know much about cars so I would like to get some advice on what this mechanic should really be doing.

believe me when I say this..... after a timing bely snap, your engine will never be the same again.....

It's quite possible that there are more things that may be damaged and need to be replaced.

does the car smoke? If so that may be a telltale sign that something is still wrong. Remember, it's the pistons that are striking the valves and the force of that alone can also damage the piston as the valves start to bend. That could explain your power loss and vibration.

As well, a loss of poer can also be attributed to the timing belt not installed with the timing marks properly set. Even 1 tooth out of set can affect performance.

But seems to me (though it's just speculation) that something is still amiss in that engine and you may have to take down the head and inspect the valves, pistons etc....

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » July 30th, 2007, 12:25 pm

Yuh rel scaring meh dey boy. I put in the used vavles and used tappets. When i start on mornings the car smokes whitish smoke. I used the car on friday and today and little in between those days. The mechanic said to let it break in before he tightens it up. If he does not fix it well, who can u recommend and how much might it cost. I need some one who charges reasonable. I already short on funds as it is. Do u have a contact number?? PM me when u reply so i will check the thread. Thanks man.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » July 30th, 2007, 1:54 pm

trying to get some more details here..........did u change all the valves when u put in the new belt..... if not some may be bent....best thing to do is follow the mech advice.....if this dont work remove head and rebuild with BRAND NEW VALVES....actually easily available and not very expensive.....this happened to me ..an i thought my valves wernt bent but they were.....most times when this happens the damage is just valves...

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » July 30th, 2007, 2:46 pm

Thanks Devi, I gonna run it until Wednesday and stop in at the mechanic to tighten whatever he said he needed to and then see what happens.

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » July 30th, 2007, 4:10 pm

oh btw devi, i did not replace all the valves, only some that seemed to be obviously bent.

Postby X_Factor » July 30th, 2007, 5:34 pm

when it broke...did u try to start back the car?..

start lookin for new valves and maybe a new head and pistons

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » July 30th, 2007, 5:45 pm

yeah, i tried starting about four times

venum

Postby venum » July 30th, 2007, 6:06 pm

Devi pretty much on teh ball as well as MISHI

you need to do a complete rebuild with that kind of damage

a snapped timing belt does some messed up damage and only a proper rebuild can really bring teh engine back as close to original working condition

evokiller

Postby evokiller » July 30th, 2007, 7:35 pm

glad 2 see u got sorted out mitsubishi

blazing

Postby blazing » July 31st, 2007, 12:06 am

oh snap :shock:

literally

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » July 31st, 2007, 7:42 am

:arrow: :arrow: :arrow: :arrow:

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » July 31st, 2007, 2:57 pm

:arrow: :arrow: :arrow:

Postby X_Factor » July 31st, 2007, 3:42 pm

if yuh plan on sellin ur engine for parts lemme know

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » August 2nd, 2007, 10:16 am

ok guys, i feel meh mechanic try ah fast one on me yesterday. I went in to tighten the tappets and the noise ease up just ah little bit but still quite audible. The vibration continues as before and meh performance still lacking. So after the guy tighten the tappets, the car doh want to idle or stay running and the engine light staying on. He said that the computer needs to be reset and he charging meh $150 just to do that. But i see he reach down under the dash on the right side and do something there. Is there the reset button is for the brain because isn't the brain itself in the middle behind the dash??????? Well the car started to run again and the engine light came off. He said I need to come in one more time to do some more adjustments and all the vibrations and the tappet noise should go and the performance shoud be back. Wat doo u guys think??????

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 2nd, 2007, 11:51 am

Though I don't really know what he's doing, I'm not the mechanic. If that's what he says, let him finish the job at least before you make any major decisions. Though personally I still believe there's more damage than you think....

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » August 3rd, 2007, 9:15 am

:arrow: :arrow:

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » August 6th, 2007, 12:54 pm

boss.. been there.. done that... after i spent over 3k to try and bring th engine back i did an engine swap... i agree with mishi... the engine may never be the same again... cause after i changed th timing belt all th valves and a sh!t load of work the engine still performed like crap... i mean it was better than th initial working but nothin close to what it was like before th belt burst...

Return to “MITSUBISHI”