Page 1 of 3
Evo as a daily driver?
Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 2:30 pm
by hmph
i am getting an evo IX soon and i want to use it as a daily driver....i live in the east and going to port of spain. any advice?
Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 3:15 pm
by MISHI
Paging Devi and Sanctifier...
Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 9:57 pm
by wagonrunner
MISHI wrote:Paging Devi and Sanctifier...
yuh leff out crazybaldhead
Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 11:16 pm
by MISHI
Paging Devi, Sactifier and Crazybaldhead
probably nothing much. I mean traffic alone will annoy anyone with a manual setup...
if you gonna boost only thing I think would be an issue would be fuel
Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 11:46 pm
by hmph
thanks,, i accustommed to the traffic and i know some backroads...
Posted: November 24th, 2007, 12:38 am
by southside crew
I don't have any new model Evo.. But I use my car sometimes everyday from south to central ..and other runnings.. no problems.. (evo 3) just make sure and do regular service.. the car was made to use jus like any other car...( with a lil more HP!

Lol..)
Posted: November 24th, 2007, 8:20 am
by Sanctifier
Preventative maintenance is KING. Stick to regular schedule. Evos are usually very reliable.
Daily driver use is no problem... just buy shares in a gas station.
BTW IMHO a 4wd Evo/Subbie is NOT a good "jump-in-and-drive hard" option.
Take time to learn the handling first or you will CRASH.
4wd Evo is like a FWD car on steroids... It will put you in DEEP sh!t VERY quickly.
Talk to TREX. Even after years of Solodex in FWD, he said it took almost a year to get fully comfortable with handling.
Posted: November 24th, 2007, 9:27 am
by transporter001
When you say it burns a lot of gas, how much km's do you get from a tank? ($120)
Posted: November 24th, 2007, 2:12 pm
by hmph
transporter001,people told me u get like 250-300km on a full tank at best.
Sanctifier,any maintenance schdule u could recommend i dont know much about maintaining evos and when.
Posted: November 24th, 2007, 5:17 pm
by Sanctifier
^ ^ ^ Yup, it's all right there on
-->The Mitsubishi MadMen
Just register for free at
Zorce.com and start reading about Maintenance... Tuning Tips...
Turbo selection... Road Tests... Everything about

Tech...
Everybody's $0.02¢

Posted: November 24th, 2007, 5:24 pm
by Zandolie
hmph wrote:transporter001,people told me u get like 250-300km on a full tank at best.
Sanctifier,any maintenance schdule u could recommend i dont know much about maintaining evos and when.
I get 180-200 on $100 premium in my TME. Mine is not stock, neither is it a daily driver.....with that said my 2.7 Gas Hilux get about 400 on $200.
If you have no problem with Traffic and a Clutch..then go for it. I drove mine daily for a while...then that daily driving novelty wore out.
Posted: November 24th, 2007, 5:32 pm
by Sanctifier
transporter001 wrote:When you say it burns a lot of gas, how much km's do you get from a tank? ($120)
Never checked... BUT from the Gas Station opposite Ellerslie Plaza in Maraval - to - Licencing Office in San Fernando - to - Four Roads, Diego Martin - to - Mausica - To Gas Station in Maraval...
$90.00 in Premium

... shall we say with some "spirited driving?"

Posted: November 24th, 2007, 7:00 pm
by hmph
thanks Sanctifier,
Posted: November 25th, 2007, 1:51 pm
by Sinister_Audio
you plannin to keep your car stock?
like with the stock clutch?
if its the stock clutch... then traffic shouldnt be all that bad...
considering you comin from east to west every day then back.
but in time when you do decide to change it... buy sports balm or icy hot in equal proportion, cuz yuh left foot gonna be killin yuh! esp with that tripple disc copper

Posted: November 26th, 2007, 3:19 am
by JJ16
hmph, U BIG IN D DANCE BRO

one more evo for me 2 gape at on the roads lol
Sanctifier, u does REALL DRIVE JED !!!
southside crew, do u plan on selling your evo 3 anytime soon..plus which one is yours? u have any pics..u know how long i wanted a evo3..if u have any pics email me some nah plz...or post it which ever u want...and well if u plan on ever selling it.>PM me a price plz..dont worry we cud keep it private
and well honestly i live central and go to school in port of spain..and i had a 4 PUCK ACT Full copper UNSPRUNG clutch and somehow i dont know..i didnt find traffic use 2 bother me nah..somehow i doh find a clutch all that with traffic and my clutch was "stiff" according to some ppl.but i started off driving manual with the ACT copper clutch so i guess i jus got use 2 it..and not 2 a stock clutch to feel the pain..
Posted: November 26th, 2007, 5:40 pm
by crazybalhead
yeah good for daily driver and buyoing groceries etc. Can also fit a cooler nicely in the trunk.
Don't monkey too much with it and it won't monkey too much with you.

Posted: November 26th, 2007, 7:51 pm
by wagonrunner
crazybalhead,
now if it only it came with a COO COME BURR dispenser for yuh doubles.

Posted: November 26th, 2007, 10:05 pm
by Razkal
Evo 9 is sheit, doh even buy that crap...

Posted: November 26th, 2007, 10:18 pm
by hmph
well we know razkal not getting to drive it.... u could really tell u good padnas boy...
Posted: November 26th, 2007, 11:41 pm
by southside crew
JasonJohn... Yellow with black bonnet and black n silver rims..
how many do you know?
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 2:32 am
by Razkal
nah seriously the evo 9 has to be the worst car ever to buy...
i hear a talk it cant even dream of running close to a 1st gen rx7 with a RB20ET not to mention even considering running down a medalist with a RB20DET
and thats around corners and cones with the boost controllers on the medalist and rx7 set to 3psi
hmph, just buy a bus ticket and done yes

Posted: November 27th, 2007, 6:56 am
by hmph
yeah boy that rx-7 real bad boy....and that medalist HMPH! it just get paint and looking real good....i will deal with you accordingly at a later time Razkal,
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 1:07 pm
by TREX
Razkal wrote:nah seriously the evo 9 has to be the worst car ever to buy...
i hear a talk it cant even dream of running close to a 1st gen rx7 with a RB20ET not to mention even considering running down a medalist with a RB20DET :shock:
and thats around corners and cones with the boost controllers on the medalist and rx7 set to 3psi :?
hmph, just buy a bus ticket and done yes :lol:
If u cant keep up with those 2 cars using a E9 then U have a right to take the the BUS or buy better tires Hoss. U not anyehare near approacing the level of Grip that an E9 has.
Sorry!!
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 1:33 pm
by hmph
sarcasm....
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 2:27 pm
by crazybalhead
hmph wrote:sarcasm....
Trex is getting along in age..please be patient with him.
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 2:29 pm
by hmph
crazybalhead wrote:hmph wrote:sarcasm....
oh well....
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 3:51 pm
by TREX
hmph wrote:crazybalhead wrote:hmph wrote:sarcasm....
oh well....
Yes Jr be patent with me, especially if U cant keep up with the "old man" :D
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 4:13 pm
by Sanctifier
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 4:45 pm
by TREX
Sanctifier wrote:TREX wrote:Yes Jr be patent with me, especially if U cant keep up with the "old man" :D
Like a padna once said from the sidelines...
R.Mutt wrote:SHOTS FIRED!
:2gunfire:
... :skurred:
... :drama:
... :lol:
WAde, U like sheit eh!!!!!
remember I have No talent.
Posted: November 27th, 2007, 4:49 pm
by Sanctifier
Hi
TREX how yuh goin.
Leave me outta dis one padna...
BTW who yuh tryin to fool wit dis "no talent" sh!t... not me.