Max safe boost.
Posted: April 1st, 2008, 7:08 am
by Skanky
What's the maximum safe boost I can run on a stock evo7 gsr?
Posted: April 1st, 2008, 3:52 pm
by crazybalhead
Skanky, how yuh cussing up everybody so boy, yuh doh know is bad etiqiette to ask men how much boost they running, or how much you could run safely???

Posted: April 1st, 2008, 4:06 pm
by Skanky
Etikette...how dat does taste with bake? Fellas on tuner like a virgin with their boost figures....
tight lipped

Posted: April 1st, 2008, 4:14 pm
by crazybalhead
Yup (sorry for de typo)
I running stock, no controller nothing, and it hits about 17 lbs. So I think at least that safe.
Posted: April 1st, 2008, 7:33 pm
by W2J
boost as in PSI or boost as in CFM? evo7 motors are known under proper tuning to withstand over 450whp
Posted: April 1st, 2008, 8:00 pm
by Swift Boy
crazybalhead wrote:Skanky, how yuh cussing up everybody so boy, yuh doh know is bad etiqiette to ask men how much boost they running, or how much you could run safely???
Especially mitsubishi men ent

Posted: April 1st, 2008, 8:03 pm
by hmph
yeah i would say 21 lbs (peak) with a good tune!
Posted: April 1st, 2008, 8:59 pm
by Skanky
Boost as in PSI.Thinking around 20 peak?
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 6:53 am
by hmph
Boost as in PSI.Thinking around 20 peak?
Skanky,BWDMC??? i invisible or what?
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 7:08 am
by Skanky
Hard luck there hmph I was preoccupied while I was posting.

Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 9:54 am
by W2J
hmph wrote:yeah i would say 21 lbs (peak) with a good tune!
with stock injectors and stock turbo 23psi max since you will around 90% IDC. put some 670's with a GSS342/400-791 and you should have some fun around 26psi with stock turbo. The main problem is the JDM evo's are tuned for real aggressive timing and very rich fuel maps which creates alot of hot points resulting in Knock, once you get a reflash or Emanage you will see at least 20hp more once properly tuned with conservative AFR's
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 9:56 am
by hmph
with stock injectors and stock turbo 23psi max since you will around 90% IDC
My IDC was 90% at certain points at 19 psi!
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 10:05 am
by W2J
how much was your boost spiking to before it was settling at 19 bro? besides you had a TD05HRA-16G6C-10.5T which flows about 50cfm more than a TD05HR-16G6-9.8T (GSR). WHAT IS YOUR POINT?
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 10:09 am
by hmph
how much was your boost spiking to before it was settling at 19 bro? besides you had a TD05HRA-16G6C-10.5T which flows about 50cfm more than a TD05HR-16G6-9.8T (GSR). WHAT IS YOUR POINT?
true but no boost spike..19 psi peak and taper to 18/17.
i really dont have a point!
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 10:29 am
by W2J

ok.
nah there might have been other reason why it was reaching 90% IDC like super rich conditions ect or lean spool but remember the turbo in the 9 is bigger than in the 7 and it is still 560cc injectors
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 10:32 am
by Razkal
I would suggest you dont interfere with the stock boost settings unless you know how much knock ur getting, evos and scubies are known for knocking on our sheit gas even if they're completely stock, raising boost will just compound the risks u are already taking.
Once you can determine this and possibly reflash, then refer to W2J's post and work from there, i've honestly never met any evo owner who ran their stock set up past 22psi, average was around 21psi, i think using 22psi will still be running the injectors at close to their threshold though...
Invest in an Emanage or EVOscan man...

Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 10:33 am
by hmph
nah there might have been other reason why it was reaching 90% IDC like super rich conditions ect or lean spool but remember the turbo in the 9 is bigger than in the 7 and it is still 560cc injectors
true ...
we real spam the man thread bout injectors though
hard luck
Skanky
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 10:35 am
by hmph
I would suggest you dont interfere with the stock boost settings unless you know how much knock ur getting, evos and scubies are known for knocking on our sheit gas even if they're completely stock, raising boost will just compound the risks u are already taking.
Once you can determine this and possibly reflash, then refer to W2J's post and work from there, i've honestly never met any evo owner who ran their stock set up past 22psi, average was around 21psi, i think using 22psi will still be running the injectors at close to their threshold though...
Invest in an Emanage or EVOscan man...
look how u jump in the convo!
nah he using Evoscan already, R Mutt already removed all knock, i dont know what he waiting on to turn up boost!!
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 10:49 am
by W2J
i dont know what he waiting on to turn up boost!!
maybe a controller

I know this place that sells plenty stuff for evo's

Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 10:54 am
by hmph
maybe a controller I know this place that sells plenty stuff for evo's
and let me guess INSTOCK right?
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 11:03 am
by Skanky
Yep fellas thanks for the help.I wonder what place that is W2J?

Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 11:16 am
by W2J
hmph wrote:maybe a controller I know this place that sells plenty stuff for evo's
and let me guess INSTOCK right?
Skanky wrote:Yep fellas thanks for the help.I wonder what place that is W2J?
you won't believe how much oe and aftermarket parts this man stocking for the evo of late, you can even buy blank keys

that is if your's came with one or your one

Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 11:20 am
by hmph
Skanky, i told u to buy the Greddy boost controller from "this man"... and he have a nice Evo with a wicked spoiler!
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 12:29 pm
by R. Mutt
If you're running pump gas I would shoot for around 20 psig tapering to around 17/18 by redline. Combination of running out the efficiency range of the 9.8T and the lean afrs with c/o maxed out injectors and you might start to encounter some knock issues.
Posted: April 2nd, 2008, 12:37 pm
by daymean
i am getting 21psi peak and it droping of to around 16/17 by redline....
thats stock but its ah 8 mr.
i think IDC was around 85% about...
Posted: April 6th, 2008, 1:21 pm
by White CZ4A
evo motors have been up to and over 28psi with stock internals
And held out in the long run!
Posted: April 6th, 2008, 4:29 pm
by gerard
IMO safe boost is about 19 psi if ur bone stock. i personally want to go up to no more than 23 on our shitty 95 octane with the right supporting mods(and a tune) and the stock turbo (9.8t) and stock internals.