I bet you DIDN'T know...

Posted: May 17th, 2009, 7:20 pm
by MISHI
I'm bored... so let's start something new. Post something concerning mitsubishi or any of its parts / cars that made you say (I DIDN'T know that)

For example...

I bet you didn't know that the lancer rally car

Is based on the lancer cedia

and NOT the evo

Posted: May 17th, 2009, 7:28 pm
by MISHI
again, I bet you didn't know

The evo X does NOT have a reverse gear.

To save weight, the 5-speed manual transmission has no dedicated reverse gear. Instead, it uses an arrangement in which first and third gears engage with an idler gear on a separate shaft to reverse the direction of rotation.

Posted: May 17th, 2009, 7:33 pm
by MISHI
The PX33 car was the FIRST mitsubishi to have 4wd

Posted: May 17th, 2009, 10:45 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
cool :lol:

Posted: May 17th, 2009, 10:45 pm
by venum
I bet u didn't know that MISHI sold the Evo

new owner is a previous Subaru owner . . . a chick, now seen teh light

and I bet u didn't know that MITSUBISHI L200's have some of teh longest torsion bars that the other 4x4 pickup trucks on teh market

Posted: May 17th, 2009, 10:47 pm
by *KRONIK*
i bey yall didnt know that the 1st gen daihatsu terios and the Ck lancer carry the same brake pads..........

Posted: May 17th, 2009, 10:55 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
swing some technical stuff about the mitsubishi

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 12:02 am
by Kronik
*KRONIK* wrote:i bey yall didnt know that the 1st gen daihatsu terios and the Ck lancer carry the same brake pads..........

and to add to this, the CS lancer and Almera carry the same brake pads as well

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 12:12 am
by MISHI
I bet you didn't know that the lancer evo has an Identical copy called the Proton PERT

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 12:27 am
by MISHI
also, that Mitsubishi is not someone's name, but 2. According to wikipedia:

The name Mitsubishi is a portmanteau of mitsu ("three") and hishi (literally, "water chestnut", often used in Japanese to denote a diamond or rhombus).[

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 1:30 am
by janfar
Did u know that the rear main seal and all the gearbox seals of the Evo 1-3 are used in the CK lancers!!!

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 9:14 am
by MISHI
CK4 to be exact.

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 3:31 pm
by R@lli@rt
Nope, i didn't know any of these things... :oops:

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 6:18 pm
by Silvermike
I bet u didnt know engine load on a evolution with a stock-like turbo is calculated by this formula:

100 + (psi of boost X 7)

Given the stock boost cut is at 230 load... this means u will bounce ure head at roughly 20-21psi.... this is so bcuz the load limit has to be exceeded for over 1 second for it to engage.

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 6:35 pm
by 2nil
bet u didnt know d B15 sunny and d ck4 lancer uses d same front rotor bearing.........d ck2 rotor bearing is smaller....... :)

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 7:45 pm
by Rudman
Real Mitsu nerd thread here boi!.... :shock:

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 9:39 pm
by idlemind
^ent

Bet you didnt know that half this sheit could be made up because the majority of us didnt know :|

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 11:17 pm
by srnoth
Bet some of you didn't know that there is no such thing as a 'tiptronic' transmission in the CK lancers... it's just a regular 4sp tranny with a different brain!

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 12:28 am
by Maserati
MISHI wrote:I bet you didn't know that the lancer evo has an Identical copy called the Proton PERT

ah there was a thread on this in the car park forum a good while back, was pretty interesting

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 8:04 am
by janfar
I bet you didnt know that AE92-101 corolla carries the same fuel filter as the Evo 1-3.

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 10:00 am
by scientist
Bet you didn't know most mitsubishi's carry the same Cam Seals

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 10:00 am
by scientist
Bet you didn't know Evo 5-9 Carry the same rear control arms

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 10:01 am
by scientist
Bet you didn't know that it is easier to list parts that are not the same between an E39A galant and a 1st gen eclipse?

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 6:17 pm
by hindian
bet you didn't know that the 1600 GSR box lancer uses the MIVEC clutch disc