363 whp / 351 ft-lbs - Evo IX Turbo on Evo VI (Pump Gas)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

363 whp / 351 ft-lbs - Evo IX Turbo on Evo VI (Pump Gas)

Postby R. Mutt » July 1st, 2009, 10:04 am

363 whp | 351 ft-lbs | 2.0 | 26PSI | 91 Octane Pump | Dynojet Research (Audi) | Tuned by Silvermike & R. Mutt (Ecuflash+Evoscan)

Thanks go out to W2J for his advice and great prices as well as dgobo for the Evo VII ecu without which we could not tune!

I've been reading all the project threads on the forum and it's great to see tuners posting their trials and tribulations, information and knowledge for everyone to gain. Though the forum still has its share of bacchanal it's good to see people sharing their knowledge and the results of their ups and downs on route to their goal without all the bull$hit in between.

To my knowledge this is the highest whp recorded on a stock turbo evo in Trinidad. Keep in mind the U.S. stock-turbo, pump gas record is 378 whp/386 ft-lbs @ 25PSI on 93 octane. There are a lot a big guns coming out though so I think the car will have to break the 400 mark on meth to keep up with the number of guys going "red".

There's a full thread of this build over at the Mitsubishi Madmen Forum on Zorce. Sanctifier has done a great job creating a database of answers to Mitsubishi related questions I see asked over and over again. Feel free to check it out Image
Last edited by R. Mutt on July 11th, 2009, 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » July 1st, 2009, 11:26 am

love the vid!!!! what program did u use to create such a production?

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 1st, 2009, 11:52 am

thanks, Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 and After Effects.

Postby crazybalhead » July 1st, 2009, 1:10 pm

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » July 1st, 2009, 1:24 pm

that car sweet if i could only get some lights like that...

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 1st, 2009, 1:58 pm

One of the best looking vi's I've ever seen :P

Postby crazybalhead » July 1st, 2009, 2:13 pm

The colour sweeet eh Mutt??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thais what Silvermike should do.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 1st, 2009, 2:53 pm

well he going with that bumper self (DAMD)...the whole kits (side skirt and rear bumper extensions are $$$$$ though. The colour and wheels are beautiful man.

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » July 1st, 2009, 7:38 pm

hear nah the video and effects reall boss....wayys....i feeel i might need u to do one for me like that :D :D keep up the good work man..

and the car reall bess to

Postby *KRONIK* » July 1st, 2009, 9:57 pm

me likes it

legoRB

Postby legoRB » July 2nd, 2009, 12:25 am

nice very nice.........
thanks man 4 makin my week......

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 8th, 2009, 2:35 pm

So I hear some talk that people don't believe it's a stock turbo. :lol:

The turbo is indeed a stock IX GSR turbo: TD05HR-16G6C-10.5T Inconel (Aluminium/Steel) alloy...I purchased it myself over a year ago for Mike from lancershop.com

Postby De Dragon » July 8th, 2009, 8:55 pm

Beautiful!

Freak

Postby Freak » July 9th, 2009, 11:39 am

Very impressive.

Postby 16 cycles » July 9th, 2009, 1:47 pm

stock ix turbo - confirmed

well done and keep up the good work

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 10th, 2009, 8:29 pm

well is not a stock evo VI turbo now is it? and the manifold not look stock as well as a whole lot of parts that not stock like pistons etc. The evo IX turbo should easy give you 380 with all those parts you have there.

BTW love the headlights and the video.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » July 11th, 2009, 10:30 am

^^^^^ there's a lil ricer in all of us ryan ,,, :lol: :lol: :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 11th, 2009, 4:17 pm

niceee

btw, Check pm rmutt

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 11th, 2009, 4:26 pm

saltydog wrote:well is not a stock evo VI turbo now is it? and the manifold not look stock as well as a whole lot of parts that not stock like pistons etc.  The evo IX turbo should easy give you 380 with all those parts you have there.

BTW love the headlights and the video.

I don't know where I gave the impression that the car was stock. I'm glad you enjoyed the video. If you look at it again you can see all the parts are listed there as well as the thread I linked to in my first post. 

Indeed it is not the stock vi turbo if you think that to be so important based on your definition of "stock turbo". Didn't mean to mislead if it came across that way. I made a point of specifying the turbo model in the video. The consensus on most forums of stock turbo is a stock model turbo...be it vii, viii, or ix. The point is the car is making the power via an oem turbo not aftermarket, even so the variation in turbocharger design between the cp and ct model doesn't justify it as a completely different turbo, it's simply a more efficient variation of the Mitsubishi td05-hra-16g

I don't consider forged pistons a power adder unless you are playing with compression ratio or more efficient coatings...it's more preventive maintainance given the car is 10 years old. Why try to make big number only to have the internals fail from years of abuse.

You've been doing this much longer than me. I'll simply say I'm content where the car is at given the mods and I think there's another 10whp or so to be gained. On the contrary i dont think 380 whp is something easily done on a stock evo turbo and pump gas otherwise more people would be making it. That said I'm confident it will be making over 400whp on meth or race gas.
Last edited by R. Mutt on June 2nd, 2011, 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » July 12th, 2009, 11:47 am

awesome job guys.....that's more power than my car with a GT37R...hehehe..
well done!! 0X

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 12th, 2009, 3:30 pm

more than a 37R? On what motor MaelstroM?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 12th, 2009, 3:49 pm

saltydog wrote:well is not a stock evo VI turbo now is it? and the manifold not look stock as well as a whole lot of parts that not stock like pistons etc. The evo IX turbo should easy give you 380 with all those parts you have there.

granted 363whp is nothing to shout about, When i was tuning I was more focused on area under the curve and safety for my daily map. The timing/ fueling I landed on was set to account for the variability in gas and extreme heat. Note I was on the dyno @ 4pm, 33*C heat.

Eventually I'll throw in some c16 and do a glory run to see what she has... but I am a novice, taking things slow.

Postby De Dragon » July 12th, 2009, 4:23 pm

Silvermike wrote:
saltydog wrote:well is not a stock evo VI turbo now is it? and the manifold not look stock as well as a whole lot of parts that not stock like pistons etc. The evo IX turbo should easy give you 380 with all those parts you have there.

granted 363whp is nothing to shout about, When i was tuning I was more focused on area under the curve and safety for my daily map. The timing/ fueling I landed on was set to account for the variability in gas and extreme heat. Note I was on the dyno @ 4pm, 33*C heat.

Eventually I'll throw in some c16 and do a glory run to see what she has... but I am a novice, taking things slow.

Man, f@$k de British and bun de flag! That's some excellent stuff that you've done there.

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 13th, 2009, 7:58 pm

not crying you down, the power is very good for the road, just I know there is more in it with all the parts on the car. Normally for a stock car with this turbo I would only shoot for 350 ish as the internals with our gas would not last. it certainly have more power than mine, do you have cams as well?

and safety in tuning is the key to happyness :lol:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 13th, 2009, 8:05 pm

ofcourse there is more in it... not worth trying on straight pump tho...

QG

Postby QG » July 13th, 2009, 11:11 pm

Good job fellas

silver racer

Postby silver racer » July 14th, 2009, 9:32 am

bOOsTmaN wrote:that car sweet if i could only get some lights like that...

4 rel.. ist time i've seen the one piece single lense. looks gr8

hmph

Postby hmph » July 14th, 2009, 10:39 am

nice numbers bro, give me till end of year :lol: :lol:

highest car with a stock ix turbo in the states is 401whp, so your numbers are excellent considering their numbers are uncorrected and ours are SAE corrected.

check out AMS's dyno numbers (are in FL so "similiar" weather) and they use the same dyno as audi and same SAE correction.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 14th, 2009, 10:42 am

the lower octane here is really holding back the car's potential... when i get time i will do a run on 110oct. If i dont break 400 i will cry.

hmph

Postby hmph » July 14th, 2009, 10:45 am

the lower octane here is really holding back the car's potential... when i get time i will do a run on 110oct. If i dont break 400 i will cry.

go speed density (might gain 10whp :D )

q16 should put u above 400whp with an aggressive tune.

i looking for ppl to bring e85 with me now lol

Return to “MITSUBISHI”