GDI Fuel Pump

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Rah

GDI Fuel Pump

Postby Rah » January 5th, 2010, 10:54 am

One of my friends had a problem recently with a GDI Galant (4g94). Basically, one day the car suddenly could not pass 40KM without throwing a check light. However the car was idling and could rev properly within park and drive.
Basically i had one of these cars and i suspected it was the filter however most mechanics wanted him to change the fuel pump. I did some research on this website and realized that many ppl have had similar problems and changed fuel pumps and got no solution.

Well it was the filter, i realize that in many posts ppl recommend to change filter first however many mechanics are quick to condemn the gdi fuel pumps when in a lot of cases the fuel filters are clogged!

My recommendation, any fuel problems, change the fuel filter first before working on the pump. The cheap fuel filters can be got at Sherrifs in south or Jurawan in the North. I think they are from israel, galant uses number 81. Cost is about $90
Originals can be obtained from Faiz and Diamond Motors, not sure cost. By the way i used to use the cheap one but i would change it once a year and i never got any issues.

If the filter doesn't help, try adjusting the fuel pump, i posted the method in another thread or try cleaning (Sanctifier's method)

The adjusting worked well for me, my car would get a slight drop in idle while in traffic, checked and fuel pump was running between 4.5 and 4.8 which is below the 5.0 MPA for galants, adjusted and problem went. Took 15 Mins.....

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » January 5th, 2010, 11:32 am

some good info bro...
Question..: where on the gdi engine is the adjustment done...my engine is the 4G15 gdi lancer...
thanks

Rah

Postby Rah » January 5th, 2010, 5:34 pm

The 4g94 Galant has the fuel regulator and fuel pump in one assembly. The 4g93 has a fuel regulator and pump that fit together. On the 4g94 there is a an adjustment point on the side of the fuel pump/fuel regulator, it looks like a screw. You need to move the intake assembly out of the way. I had a K&N short ram intake, so reaching the "dial" was quite easy. Once you know where the Hi pressure fuel pump is(fuel lines lead to it) you should find the dial. However i really cant confirm whether the adjustment is on the lancer.
You do need a good socket /tool set to find an end that matches up. Once you got one, adjust it in very small adjustments, very small, as in 45 degrees or less.
Best done if you are by an electrician or somebody with a scanner, you can change it and view the difference on the scanner.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » January 5th, 2010, 5:56 pm

ok thanks...
a mech said that he could raise in electronically from a scan tool that why i asked u that question...but thanks 4 the info tho...

xtech

Postby xtech » January 5th, 2010, 6:36 pm

A.W.O.L wrote:ok thanks...
a mech said that he could raise in electronically from a scan tool that why i asked u that question...but thanks 4 the info tho...

he lie ............. but he does need the tool to confirm what he has done.

Dont go messing with thats screw folks unless you got the tool to see what you doing ok

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » January 5th, 2010, 7:20 pm

ok xtech,..but i en let him interfere with anything...i does do my home work 1st...so he cant fool me... :fist:

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » January 5th, 2010, 11:22 pm

I adjusted my GDI Lancer the same way as well... (adjusting the fuel supply)

The screw is located on the throttle body and as said earlier it should be done by someone who has the tools as this basically seems to be another way of advancing the ignition (as far as I can tell, anyone correct me where I am wrong)

It really does help with idling and responsiveness, however if you do it too hard then your engine feels like its racing even when idle.

Which of course means that originally it was advanced to far and I had to go and get it turned down a bit...

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » January 5th, 2010, 11:28 pm

evil_gdi, if u ever get a chance take a pic of the adjustment screw an post it up...
thanks...

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » January 5th, 2010, 11:37 pm

I will see if I can post something tomorrow

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » January 6th, 2010, 8:57 am

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » January 6th, 2010, 9:17 am

Mechanics only think abt money! dey does make you change all kind a things just so they could charge you the labour to put it on!

xtech

Postby xtech » January 6th, 2010, 11:32 am

that is not the screw eh......... u messing with the magnet in the throttle body

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » January 6th, 2010, 2:48 pm

well, that is what the mechanic adjusted and it definitely had an effect on the engine idle and responsiveness...

Rah

Postby Rah » January 6th, 2010, 3:07 pm

Yeah sorry, that is not what i was talking about, don't know what that does but i don't doubt a change in performance. The adjustment dial is on the fuel pump or should be..trace the two fuel lines that pass close to the throttle body and intake, they should terminate at the hi pressure fuel pump. On the galant you don't need to take off the GDI cover, yours looks similar.

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » January 6th, 2010, 3:23 pm

thx for that info,

so could anyone say what exactly is the change that was made by adjusting that screw?

and xtech, it looks like u have a pretty good knowledge of these engines.. ah hoping u could give me a rundown on where to find the adjustment screw Rah talkin bout

xtech

Postby xtech » January 6th, 2010, 3:35 pm

that screw adjust the starting position for the motor that turns the throttle open an close.

dont mess with the only gold colored hex knot bolt on the fuel pump unless you got a scan tool to see what you doing

:? :?

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » January 6th, 2010, 4:26 pm

yeh yeh...

thx for that info,

well ah goin and look for it but ah wouldnt touch it :roll:

really interested in this topic cause ah sufferin ah while now and all de mechs ah bouncin up on my side (sta rosa hghts) - once they see/hear GDI like they wallet does start to bark as if they go bite meh and take a piece out!

so ah doing de homework and ah go get there...

thanks to you and Rah for the info so far

Rah

Postby Rah » January 6th, 2010, 8:29 pm

Not a problem, if you need a good mechanic, there is one up trincity. Pm.

xtech

Re: GDI Fuel Pump

Postby xtech » February 25th, 2011, 2:11 pm

where u from

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 25th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Good info...

Rah you talking bout Alex or Kevin?

xtech, i got my cable working so im going to check what pressure i run and see if it helps coz i do notice an idle of around 500-600rpm

Rah the filter you speak of is in the gas tank pump? Coz i want to change mine...its the tea bag looking one right? If so where did you get it?

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » February 25th, 2011, 7:10 pm

^^ x2

xtech

Postby xtech » February 26th, 2011, 8:50 am

i took mine out an cleaned it with the tap......water pressure from inside out.......... an just put it out to dry.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 26th, 2011, 9:02 am

Yea we did that to mine too, but Dave was saying that these things have a lifespan and should be changed at a 100,000km coz the pores swell and restrict gas intake overtime

xtech

Postby xtech » February 26th, 2011, 9:09 am

i was talking about the intank..........but yes i washed the external as well. good as new but i used chemicals in the water to loose the dirt from the cloth

Postby rollingstock » March 1st, 2011, 3:41 pm

idlemind wrote:Good info...

Rah you talking bout Alex or Kevin?

xtech, i got my cable working so im going to check what pressure i run and see if it helps coz i do notice an idle of around 500-600rpm

Rah the filter you speak of is in the gas tank pump? Coz i want to change mine...its the tea bag looking one right? If so where did you get it?

The intank filter has larger pores and allow bigger particles to pass through, the external filter which is under the fender in the Galant (not sure about lancer) is the one that gets clogged and restricts flow. The intank filter usually doesn't need changing regularly but a cleaning would help.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 1st, 2011, 5:39 pm

Oh rite, I forgot Galants have the extra filter...unfortunately the CS doesnt have it.

Postby rollingstock » March 1st, 2011, 5:50 pm

Can still add one to keep the pump clean, no one i know actually maintains their gas tank myself included so it doesn't hurt especially if you let your tank run really low.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 1st, 2011, 6:03 pm

yea AWOL and I were actually discussing this with Dave recently...considering installing it in the engine bay though, jus for the ease to clean and reinstall.

Postby rollingstock » March 1st, 2011, 6:11 pm

If you do don't use the cheap filters, they tend to cause a restriction and lead to fuel starvation at high loads, and erratic idle.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 1st, 2011, 9:14 pm

ahhh...I hear you, well surely we'll get a fuel rail error once the high pressure pump in the engine not getting enough gas. Any recommendations on a good inline filter?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”