First Evo

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

First Evo

Postby De Dragon » February 20th, 2010, 10:45 am

What's your thoughts on purchasing a highly modified Evo as your first Evo? The person has no time/inclination to mod further than what's already on the car. Can adjusting the boost down and learning the car in stages be a sensible way to go? Thanks
Last edited by De Dragon on February 20th, 2010, 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » February 20th, 2010, 10:57 am

yes and no, handling characteristics of a 4wd vehicle with a brain for a suspension with modifications made on an engine might be a long learning curve and with boost down and if no additional map is made for lower boost, drivability may not be the best and could turn you off the vehicle as not being enjoyable.

nes123

Postby nes123 » February 20th, 2010, 1:23 pm

^^^I concur

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 20th, 2010, 2:44 pm

well i am in that situation, learning the handling wasnt that hard (suprisingly my lancer handled almost as good), the hardest part in learning the power is averaging at what rpms the different mods would deliver their power (cams, turbo, etc).

and driving a 4wd for the first time, depending on the amt of mods, may take some getting accustomed to the rpm drop on pull off (play with the cllutch and learn it). and i noticed in mine after driving for a while, pulling off gets harder. and my car hates traffic, does wanna cut off when pulling off after it just dey idling too long

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 20th, 2010, 3:09 pm

go 4 it....

Postby honda hoe » February 22nd, 2010, 10:11 am

Kronik wrote:well i am in that situation, learning the handling wasnt that hard (suprisingly my lancer handled almost as good)

wut?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » February 22nd, 2010, 10:33 am

:| :|

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 22nd, 2010, 10:35 am

^^plenty people could vouch that :lol:

and i serious about it......full strut kit+18" rimz+slightly lower front......did wonders

Postby crazybalhead » February 22nd, 2010, 3:04 pm

My opinion, is to buy one as stock as possible. But that is just my way of doing things.

I think a highly modded evo will inevitably have "issues". I feel strongly that a car must be up to daily use, boost at 4500RPM is not as driveable as say 3500RPM.

Then a gain, a lightly modded Evo will have the driveability with a lot of power eh.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » February 22nd, 2010, 5:30 pm

i think driving a highly modded evo might not be your only problem. mechanical problems might lead soon after if the mods wasnt done well. a stock evo with minor add-ons is more than enough, you would be surprised, i say, look for one close to stock.

ecktt

Postby ecktt » February 22nd, 2010, 8:38 pm

once the block stock and boots not more than 20psi, you should be good think.

Postby honda hoe » February 23rd, 2010, 12:00 pm

to learn to swim u hadda jump in d deep :|

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » February 23rd, 2010, 12:16 pm

honda hoe wrote:to learn to swim u hadda jump in d deep :|

to learn how to avoid constant migraine u leave a fully modified evo alone :lol: :lol:

go from a bone stock evo and build it to how u want it and that way u know what parts u have in ur car

reza

Postby reza » February 23rd, 2010, 8:30 pm

i think u got alot of good advise above....but

what do u mean by "highly modified" :?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » February 23rd, 2010, 9:10 pm

highly modified meaning fully fully modified

2.3 stroker kit etc etc

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 23rd, 2010, 10:21 pm

crazybalhead wrote:My opinion, is to buy one as stock as possible. But that is just my way of doing things.
I think a highly modded evo will inevitably have "issues". I feel strongly that a car must be up to daily use, boost at 4500RPM is not as driveable as say 3500RPM.
"issues"... Yup. EXPENSIVE issues.

And to learn how to spend $$$$$$ buy any fully tweeked 4wd car, Evos included.
Remember if it's so good... why is the current owner selling it in the first place?

Dion76 wrote:to learn how to avoid constant migraine u leave a fully modified evo alone :lol: :lol:
go from a bone stock evo and build it to how u want it and that way u know what parts u have in ur car
Sounds like good advice right there.

One more thing... ANY 4wd car will bite you in the arse if you don't pay CONSTANT attention!
Yup Evos understeer less and handle better than STi's... but Evos are NOT perfect either.
Just think about how many Evos have right (or left) front-end damage compared to any other area.
Evos handle like FWD cars on steroids. DON'T expect to jump in and drive it like you stole it...
because you'll crash it... and still pay installments while you get a patch-up repair locally.

Ease into cornering hard and learn the car's characteristics gradually...or you'll be sorry. :roll:

My $0.02₵

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » February 23rd, 2010, 10:48 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:My opinion, is to buy one as stock as possible. But that is just my way of doing things.

Remember if it's so good... why is the current owner selling it in the first place?

Dion76 wrote:to learn how to avoid constant migraine u leave a fully modified evo alone :lol: :lol:

One more thing... ANY 4wd car will bite you in the arse if you don't pay CONSTANT attention!
Yup Evos understeer less and handle better than STi's... but Evos are NOT perfect either.
Just think about how many Evos have right (or left) front-end damage compared to any other area.
Evos handle like FWD cars on steroids. DON'T expect to jump in and drive it like you stole it...
because you'll crash it... and still pay installments while you get a patch-up repair locally.

Ease into cornering hard and learn the car's characteristics gradually...or you'll be sorry. :roll:

My $0.02₵

true true thing there, i always hear men saying, when buyin performance cars try and get them as bone stock as possible because buying a next man project u dont know whats goin bad, u dunno wa parts in it, u dunno if they did it good and u dunno if is cheap parts, best u buy it stock and put in ur own parts, that way u know u have XYZ in ur car and u know u wont have to change for a while

Postby De Dragon » February 23rd, 2010, 10:54 pm

Dion76 wrote:

to learn how to avoid constant migraine u leave a fully modified evo alone :lol: :lol:

That approach was the initial approach. The problems encountered were getting a stockish one without any issues. Also the intention is to not mod anything for a very long time, until the car's characteristics can be fully learned. Strangely no one seems to know of any real issues with the car, aside from those which we spoke of Dion76, but which is considered minor in the larger scheme of things. Thanks for the info guys and keep it coming please.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » February 23rd, 2010, 10:57 pm

Dion76 wrote:

That approach was the initial approach. The problems encountered were getting a stockish one without any issues. Also the intention is to not mod anything for a very long time, until the car's characteristics can be fully learned. Strangely no one seems to know of any real issues with the car, aside from those which we spoke of Dion76, but which is considered minor in the larger scheme of things. Thanks for the info guys and keep it coming please.

pls be careful eh, cant say u werent warned :| :|

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » February 23rd, 2010, 11:22 pm

these guys bascially covered it. seems like you set on buying this car tho. good luck.

Postby De Dragon » February 23rd, 2010, 11:32 pm

Death-Row wrote:these guys bascially covered it. seems like you set on buying this car tho. good luck.

Not really. I'm more than prepared to walk away if anything looks iffy. There are however highly modified cars that are reliable. If anything that should be a feature of a well done buind IMHO. I'm just trying to get real actual experience from 2Ners

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » February 23rd, 2010, 11:44 pm

some cars also seem well built, soon as u own it, you may not drive it the way it was built to be driven, parts start mashing up. always better to build a car to your likeings, also, you will know what went in where, how long it was there, when it needs changing etc.
Last edited by Death-Row on February 24th, 2010, 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » February 24th, 2010, 12:04 am

Death-Row wrote:some cars also seem well built, soon as u own it, you may not drive it the way it was built to be driven, parts start mashing up. always betting to build a car to your likeings, also, you will know what went in where, how long it was there, when it needs changing etc.

well said :idea:

Postby De Dragon » February 24th, 2010, 12:25 am

Dion76 wrote:
Death-Row wrote:some cars also seem well built, soon as u own it, you may not drive it the way it was built to be driven, parts start mashing up. always betting to build a car to your likeings, also, you will know what went in where, how long it was there, when it needs changing etc.

Agreed, at the end of the day what is needed is well researched ideas, good brand name parts, competent,honest mech to install and a driver who knows the builds limitations.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » February 24th, 2010, 12:31 am

De Dragon,if you do go through with buying this car, get reciepts for all the parts installed if you can, also, alot of people keep somewhat of a log book of the work done on their car, oil changes etc with dates etc. see if he has one. get to know the strengths and weaknesses of the car b4 u actually start driving. :lol:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » February 24th, 2010, 12:32 am

Dion76 wrote:

Agreed, at the end of the day what is needed is well researched ideas, good brand name parts, competent,honest mech to install and a driver who knows the builds limitations.

ur right but the seller cud call d best brand names there is and tell u that there in the engine but what proof u the buyer has that they really in dey

Postby honda hoe » February 24th, 2010, 8:45 am

Sanctifier wrote:

My $0.02₵

look d boss reach :lol: 8-)

Postby honda hoe » February 24th, 2010, 8:45 am

Sanctifier wrote:

maybe he upgrading?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 24th, 2010, 12:40 pm

^ ^ ^ Maybe. But from what I've seen, almost all 2nd hand hi-po cars have issues that will cost serious $$$$ to fix, sooner rather than later. There's always a price to pay for increased rpm / boost / torque...whatever.
With few exceptions...Yuh tweek it... Yuh break it!

That's the reason I decided to build a stockish daily driver E6 Clone...and to use the tweeked E6 RS2 on weekends.

My $0.02₵

SEVin

Postby SEVin » February 24th, 2010, 2:19 pm

Death-Row wrote:i think driving a highly modded evo might not be your only problem. mechanical problems might lead soon after if the mods wasnt done well. a stock evo with minor add-ons is more than enough, you would be surprised, i say, look for one close to stock.

This is the best answer for you...

Return to “MITSUBISHI”