Ck4 brakes problems helpppp...

Posted: March 4th, 2010, 2:01 pm
by Millitant youth
ok fellas i have a ck and the brakes does work like sheit... i thought was only mine but meh padna and meh brother have ck lancers and it does do the same... any advice on what i can do... and by the way i wanna upgrade meh front brake to some bigger ones real big ones wat allyuh go do fuh meh link me up tuners...

Posted: March 4th, 2010, 9:08 pm
by Nixin
Millitant youth, this is a common issue with the ck lancers, to improve my braking quality I got rid of my drum brakes and installed rear disc brakes, and also got rid of them crappy brake pads and installed wagner brake pads. I must say i experienced a significant improvement in braking power.

Posted: March 5th, 2010, 12:05 pm
by Millitant youth
ok thank s... by the way you know where i can get the disc brakes and what price???

Posted: March 5th, 2010, 9:53 pm
by Nixin
the complete setup fetches anywhere between $2200 to $2800 AFAIK. you can create a WTB thread in the auto parts classifieds forum and checkout the feedback, also at those prices make sure they come with handbrake cable.

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 3:27 pm
by Kronik
Nixin wrote:Millitant youth, this is a common issue with the ck lancers, to improve my braking quality I got rid of my drum brakes and installed rear disc brakes, and also got rid of them crappy brake pads and installed wagner brake pads. I must say i experienced a significant improvement in braking power.

OEM pads are wayy better than wagner. i have had wagner which shattered one of my rotors because one of the chunks of metal it does have in the pads cut into my rotor at several points and shattered the inside half of the rotor..........wagner is a shitty pad to use

OEM pads are the best to use with stock rotors, and aftermarket or high performance pad should be used with upgraded rotors (ie slotted rotors)

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 7:43 pm
by Nixin
Kronik, I totally agree. oem pads would definitely be the best choice to use with stock rotors, but one of the main reasons I chose wagner as compared to oem was the price. Never heard of anyone getting those problems with wagner, but is certainly something to look at.

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 7:50 pm
by rossi
Had a CK4 and used Wagner as well.
Didn't get any problems as was stated before (Kronik). That kinda problem must have cost you though.

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 10:32 pm
by Kronik
believe me, i am not the only one who has gotten rotor damage from wagner, i have gotten it most severe though because of what i used to do with my car.

i honestly found that the pads brand "silver" (made by schnider) worked best as a alternative, not harsh on the rotors at all, and allows for a nice smooth braking, and most importantly, it does not grab the rotor aggressively causing you to skate

and roSs][, i just swapped out the rotors, changed the two sides while i was at it. was real glad the caliper wasnt damaged though!!

Nixin, i prefer to pay the extra for the OEM, with my aggressive driving, it lasted 1 1/2 years before i sold the car, and it still had some months life left on it

if you guys use wagner, i recommend you pass your fingers along the rotor (when it cold of course), and see if you feeling bumps and ridges on it caused by the cutting up of the rotor by the wagner

Posted: March 13th, 2010, 11:50 am
by Millitant youth
yeah but i have slotted rotors on my car and i does use wagner and still getting that problem... when i rolling in traffic and like if i jus mash my brakes real hard the car does still be rolling and doh tlk for when i drivin hard sometimes it does work real good and sometime it dont... i fed up change cylinder rubbers,fluid,bleed meh brakes...etc.

Posted: March 13th, 2010, 4:08 pm
by QuickPc's
Millitant youth, boss check th rubbers in your master cylinder and also make sure your booster isn't leaking... you can also change out the rubbers in the caliper and ensure the sliding pins are properly greased... also ensure the unit in the drum isn't leaking...

as for problems with wagner please remember there are 2 grades of wagner available here in trinidad and most people endup gettin th poor quality pad... i never once had any problem @ all with wagner and that's all i ever use...

Posted: March 14th, 2010, 9:23 am
by altec
check this link, if it works with you then i doing it too :lol: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... t=#3342944

Posted: March 14th, 2010, 2:16 pm
by Nixin
^^^ good find there altec.