Evo 7 Service (Timing Belt) :- updated: then stutter?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

nismodriver

Evo 7 Service (Timing Belt) :- updated: then stutter?

Postby nismodriver » June 16th, 2010, 10:45 pm

I was looking for some info but got it from Dave, and decided to write up on this a bit.

Took the Evo for Service.
Changed the following:-

Timing Belt
Balance Shaft Belt
MD354273 - Tensioner
MD369999 - Pulley
MD156604 - Pulley
1300A069 - Water Pump

A host of Amsoil oils from Dave!

All timing belts and tensioners were purchased from Teknet at really good prices by the way.

Changed spark plugs, changed transfer case oil, diff oil, engine oil, serviced injectors

nismodriver

Re: Evo 7 Service (Timing Belt) :- updated: then stutter?

Postby nismodriver » June 16th, 2010, 10:46 pm

Car breaking up if you mash down and it goes into boost.
Taking it back to the mechanic Saturday.
So we know we looking at either spark or fuel.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 17th, 2010, 12:46 am

Had this same issue recently with colder plugs... check the gap. stock is 0.6-0.7mm.

They usually say don't regap em because of the tip but if you do it carefully it'll be fine. I did reduce mine to 0.55mm and no problems since... if it still does it for you then check the following

Postby crazybalhead » June 17th, 2010, 10:17 am

You probably put the wrong plugs boss.

What plugs did you use?

Postby De Dragon » June 18th, 2010, 12:21 pm

Also who did it for you and what was the cost? PM if necessary. I've got mine coming up shortly so I'm not 100% sure who to take it to.
Thanks

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » June 18th, 2010, 10:59 pm

Thanks Mishi and Crazy, will check this tomorrow , heading to the mechanic tomorrow.
The mechanic bought the plugs, but he should have purchased the right one.

The labour was about 2500-2800 or thereabouts with brand new spark plugs , service injectors and coolant.
Mechanic was Navin from Penal

Postby De Dragon » June 19th, 2010, 5:26 pm

nismodriver wrote:Thanks Mishi and Crazy, will check this tomorrow , heading to the mechanic tomorrow.
The mechanic bought the plugs, but he should have purchased the right one.

The labour was about 2500-2800 or thereabouts with brand new spark plugs , service injectors and coolant.
Mechanic was Navin from Penal

Thanks.

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » June 19th, 2010, 7:19 pm

Plugs has been gapped.
We checked it with a wideband, air/fuel is fine.
We swapped the Plug wires and coil packs, same problem.
Heading by Swami Dave to run some checks... :(

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 19th, 2010, 9:57 pm

What are the type plugs? and did you do the coil test?

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » June 20th, 2010, 5:25 pm

nismodriver wrote:Car breaking up if you mash down and it goes into boost.
Taking it back to the mechanic Saturday.
So we know we looking at either spark or fuel.

Had a problem similar to this couple of weeks aback on the Evo 8..........
(1) Checked Compression.......150...........GOOD!
(2) Checked and changed plugs back to Iridium................GOOD!
(3) Checked possible problem with MAF Sensor............GOOD!
(4) Put car on dyno to check Lean or Rich(possible cause)...........GOOD!
(5)Changed fuel pump to High Performance Walbro.........GOOD!
(6) Even thought the car was firing on 3 cyclinders and not 4.........GOOD!
(7)Checked countless other things,same result.

Laughed my a$$ off when we took out the injector and check em.Together with possible bad gas at the service station and not using the car at all resulting in the settling of sediments in the gas tank.Gas tank was taken out and cleaned.
All in all,she still remains parked up under cover.
Wallet felt the brunt of it when was time to fess up doe for the services!!!

All in all,gotta rem performance cars like these are supposed to give some headache......just my $0.20.

Tx for reading!!!!

W2J

Postby W2J » June 20th, 2010, 8:29 pm

nismodriver wrote:Plugs has been gapped.
We checked it with a wideband, air/fuel is fine.
We swapped the Plug wires and coil packs, same problem.
Heading by Swami Dave to run some checks... :(

once you use the correct plug NGK BPR7EIX or BR8EIX gapping is not needed once you are running under 26psi.

Gerrard

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » June 21st, 2010, 7:36 am

Gerrard, Randy, you guys onto something.
We placed a wideband on it, great Air/Fuel ratio.
Took it to Dave. Put up the laptop on it, no error codes, O2 seems fine, we then went into the engine bay.
Dave popped the Spark plug wire, took one look and say, "dize the problem right dey Rob".

Plugs were BKRs and not BPRs.
Swapped them and BOOM. Problem fix. :)

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 21st, 2010, 8:01 am

BPR8EIX I assume...

Postby crazybalhead » June 21st, 2010, 9:54 am

nismodriver wrote:Gerrard, Randy, you guys onto something.
We placed a wideband on it, great Air/Fuel ratio.
Took it to Dave. Put up the laptop on it, no error codes, O2 seems fine, we then went into the engine bay.
Dave popped the Spark plug wire, took one look and say, "dize the problem right dey Rob".

Plugs were BKRs and not BPRs.
Swapped them and BOOM. Problem fix. :)

Exactly, THE bkkkkkkk have a protruding tip.

Postby crazybalhead » June 21st, 2010, 9:55 am

Time to change that orgly Avatar.

Postby Dave » June 21st, 2010, 10:17 am

lol at dize the problem right dey Rob
we used some stock IGR7A-G plugs
Both the firing end of the BP and BK are the same Crazy, the difference is the height to where the coil or wire makes contact with the head of the plug. The BK is shorter than the BP hence the coil or wire would not make full contact to fire off the plug. The BK could be used once the 2 COP setup was removed and a universal wire set was also used.

W2J

Postby W2J » June 21st, 2010, 10:39 am

Dave wrote:lol at dize the problem right dey Rob
we used some stock IGR7A-G plugs
Both the firing end of the BP and BK are the same Crazy, the difference is the height to where the coil or wire makes contact with the head of the plug. The BK is shorter than the BP hence the coil or wire would not make full contact to fire off the plug. The BK could be used once the 2 COP setup was removed and a universal wire set was also used.

The threaded (firing end) length on the bk is 51mm shorter than BP and the BR. Robin let's hope it was a oversight, undersight and nosight by the mechanic made using the wrong plugs because you would not want your timing to be off in the same manner. People need to understand Evo's are not B15's.

Postby crazybalhead » June 21st, 2010, 10:51 am

W2J, remember last year when I bought my car same problem??? Well some rocket scientist put the same plugs as Robin's car.

You really need someone who knows these cars.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 21st, 2010, 11:50 am

Which is why we always search websites, forums and other owners for ALL info regarding these cars before making purchase decisions on items...

Don't worry RALLIdriver (is a 4g63 yuh have not SR20 :lol: ) with the amout of owners/ tuners here you'll be safe and should have a rewarding experience with ur car.

W2J

Postby W2J » June 21st, 2010, 2:32 pm

crazybalhead wrote:W2J, remember last year when I bought my car same problem??? Well some rocket scientist put the same plugs as Robin's car.

You really need someone who knows these cars.

yup yup I remember well, where did you get the plugs to buy same place who always have instock :twisted: n.b. your account here is about to go dormant eh :lol:

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » June 22nd, 2010, 9:00 pm

Boy the only thing I didnt buy was plugs and coolant, and the mechanic said he'd organize that.
I know next time yes! Thing is, he always fixing Evos ...really weird!

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » June 24th, 2010, 10:32 am

nismodriver wrote:Boy the only thing I didnt buy was plugs and coolant, and the mechanic said he'd organize that.
I know next time yes! Thing is, he always fixing Evos ...really weird!

Who is dat mechanic again?????????????? :lol: :lol:

keyon williams

Postby keyon williams » June 24th, 2010, 7:48 pm

ah wah a evo to buy

hmph

Postby hmph » June 24th, 2010, 8:33 pm

lol thats why DIY and fix ur car, no problems, you no exactly what happened when and u say 2800 :)

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 5th, 2010, 3:01 pm

is this a red car by chance

rishi_j

Postby rishi_j » July 5th, 2010, 6:07 pm

hmph wrote:lol thats why DIY and fix ur car, no problems, you no exactly what happened when and u say 2800 :)

statement full of win

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » July 6th, 2010, 11:50 pm

Red? Nopez!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”