Post Your EVO HP/TQ and MODS Thread

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

BlackEvoIV

Post Your EVO HP/TQ and MODS Thread

Postby BlackEvoIV » June 27th, 2010, 12:27 pm

hey

anyone wanna post their dyno figures, mods an/or timeslips on their evo's ?
Last edited by BlackEvoIV on June 27th, 2010, 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

southside crew

Re: Post Your EVO HP/TQ and MODS Thread

Postby southside crew » June 29th, 2010, 11:31 pm

265 HP 289 TQ 12.262 1/4 et best & last pass @ camden...

Pump gas .. 10.0 AFR'S Blitz access ECU

BlackEvoIV

Postby BlackEvoIV » June 30th, 2010, 10:25 am

southside crew wrote:265 HP 289 TQ 12.262 1/4 et best & last pass @ camden...

^ what model evo, and how did u launch it?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » June 30th, 2010, 10:51 am

this thread is useless without dyno charts. I will post my own later

Postby crazybalhead » June 30th, 2010, 11:20 am

I will bite,

A shitty 250/253 with a cat back, test pipe and air filter.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 30th, 2010, 12:57 pm

crazybalhead wrote:A shitty 250/253...

Why yuh b!tchin'...That's WHP isn't it? Which dyno?
Not too far off OEM whp figures, not so?

Postby crazybalhead » June 30th, 2010, 1:14 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:A shitty 250/253...

Why yuh b!tchin'...That's WHP isn't it? Which dyno?
Not too far off OEM whp figures, not so?

LOL, yeah AWHP. Audi's dynojet. :drinking: :drinking:

I know everybody else have they super duper bazillion TQ and HP figures, and also know they watching this thread real cuteye but wouldn't post.

BlackEvoIV

Postby BlackEvoIV » June 30th, 2010, 4:12 pm

interesting so far...
i will update with mine, but some stuff to sort out first..

Postby crazybalhead » July 1st, 2010, 8:26 am

BlackEvoIV wrote:interesting so far...

See, even the frigging OP will not post his!

HAHAHAHAHAAHAHAA!!!!

southside crew

Postby southside crew » July 1st, 2010, 9:16 am

BlackEvoIV wrote:
southside crew wrote:265 HP 289 TQ 12.262 1/4 et best & last pass @ camden...

^ what model evo, and how did u launch it?

EVO III // launch like every other race....

BlackEvoIV

Postby BlackEvoIV » July 1st, 2010, 4:07 pm

crazybalhead wrote:

HAHAHAHAHAAHAHAA!!!!

lollolol sorry for my bad wording.
i do not have a dyno sheet; car is a stock evo iv with a filter.

LevinBZR

Postby LevinBZR » July 4th, 2010, 1:32 am

BlackEvoIV wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

HAHAHAHAHAAHAHAA!!!!

lollolol sorry for my bad wording.
i do not have a dyno sheet; car is a stock evo iv with a filter.

This was potentially a both amusing and informative thread... but after this, most people not going to post... unfortunately.

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 5th, 2010, 2:19 pm

Last dyno by audi I did 345 whp and 369 torque, we were having a boost leak issue and this was at 22psi, since then I upgraded to a 3.5" ets some bigger injectors and retune at 25psi so not sure exactly but the car feels way better. I would estimate about 365 whp butt dyno

hmph

Postby hmph » July 5th, 2010, 4:49 pm

^^ mods?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 5th, 2010, 5:25 pm

evo ix turbo and manifold
megan downpipe and O2 housing
hks 272 cams
water meth
780cc injectors PTE
ets 3.5" intercooler
Apexi power fc
custom intercooler piping
sparktech coil on plug
evo ix flywheel and clutch (act organic)
walbro pump

cant think of anything else it would be interesting to see what it is doing now, maybe soon. The red was before the IX turbo and cams
dyno sheet.JPG

BlackEvoIV

Postby BlackEvoIV » July 5th, 2010, 9:42 pm

^ Very nice

hmph

Postby hmph » July 5th, 2010, 10:26 pm

saltydog wrote:evo ix turbo and manifold
megan downpipe and O2 housing
hks 272 cams
water meth
780cc injectors PTE
ets 3.5" intercooler
Apexi power fc
custom intercooler piping
sparktech coil on plug
evo ix flywheel and clutch (act organic)
walbro pump

cant think of anything else it would be interesting to see what it is doing now, maybe soon. The red was before the IX turbo and cams

good numbers

ecktt

Postby ecktt » July 9th, 2010, 5:19 pm

Evo7 GSR
236-239 whp on Prentice dyno. He tuned the stock ECU to get rid of some knock.

Mods:
Greddy turbo back exhaust.

Since then I added an AMS drop-in intercooler and *downgraded* to an Evo 8 turbo. The AMS made a noticeable positive difference with the Evo 7 turbo but the Evo 8 laggie turbo negated the gains and then some. I'm probably at 220 something whp now.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 9th, 2010, 7:52 pm

Evolution 7
Turbo = TD05HR-16G6-9.8T (GSR)
TD05HRA-16G6-9.8T (RS/RS2)
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 9.8
Turbine = GSR - Inconel (steel alloy), RS/RS2=Titanium alloy
Compressor = Aluminium, 68mm wide

Evolution 8
Turbo = TD05HR-16G6-9.8T (GSR / USDM)
TD05HRA-16G6-9.8T (RS/RS2 & NZDM) or 6MT:TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T (model unknown)
Nozzle Area (cm2) = 9.8
Turbine = USDM EVO 8 & JDM GSR =Inconel (steel alloy),
RS=Titanium alloy.
Compressor = Aluminium, 68mm wide
Why is the E8 turbo a downgrade?

obeiron

Postby obeiron » July 10th, 2010, 1:17 am

^ Bit confused as well. Also, why the huge difference in power vs crazybalhead's 8 (250/253 with a cat back, test pipe and air filter...guessing no tuning either)?

Is it just down to a different dyno?

ecktt

Postby ecktt » July 10th, 2010, 8:57 am

Actually the trubo I'm using is

Evolution MR aka "8.5"
GSR = TD05HR-16G6-10.5T

Max boost comes in after 4500 rpm now on 3rd, 4th and 5th, where as the the original turbo would get there just before 3000 rpm all gears. I guess the Titanium alloy Turbine of the Evo7 turbo makes a huge difference. It's logical to assume that since that is the only difference between 8.5 and (much talked about) 9 turbo.

The car was fun to drive with the original turbo. The only up side of this 8.5 turbo is the easy of keeping it out of boost to save a little gas and the possibility of higher boost which hasn't been explored.....yet.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » July 10th, 2010, 10:58 am

ecktt, the EVO 8MR turbo is TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T and it has a titanium alloy wheel. It spools up faster than the normal 8 turbo.
In my stock EVO 8 MR i made 265whp and 263lbft tq.

Also full boost @ 4500rpm sounds very very late...have u checked for boost leaks?

Messi

Postby Messi » July 10th, 2010, 11:06 am

Evo X 303 whp 330wtq. Current mods, TBE, KnN drop in. UICP and Coolingmist WAI M5 nozzle. Lots of other mods to waiting to be installed :)

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 10th, 2010, 12:50 pm

ecktt wrote:Actually the trubo I'm using is

Evolution MR aka "8.5"
GSR = TD05HR-16G6-10.5T

Max boost comes in after 4500 rpm now on 3rd, 4th and 5th, where as the the original turbo would get there just before 3000 rpm all gears. I guess the Titanium alloy Turbine of the Evo7 turbo makes a huge difference. It's logical to assume that since that is the only difference between 8.5 and (much talked about) 9 turbo.

Strange! Except for the titanium wheel, that is almost identical to the TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T used in the E5 and E6 RS/RS2.

My E6 RS2 definately hit max boost before 4500 rpm. You sure there isn't another issue causing this?

ecktt

Postby ecktt » July 10th, 2010, 4:01 pm

I swear mine doesn't have the *A* in it. I wish it was the Titainum version! Either way, the difference between the turbos is chalk and cheese for daily spirted driving.

Yeah I'm pretty sure there is no other issue. The e7 turbo died (machine shop fault) and I put in the E8.5 turbo. I might send it to get converted into an FP Green or Red. There were no other issues with the car that day. All I wanted to do was put on a china exhaust manifold...big mistake.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » July 10th, 2010, 6:10 pm

as far as i know the evo 8 mr turbo is TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T, its the same as the E6RS2 turbo but the wastegate holes are different shaped. My E8 MR turbo is the TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T and it certainly aint as lazy as u describe...

i dont think that turbo can be converted to a red or green as it is not fully a 10.5. It is a 10.5 'hotside' mated to a 9.8 'coldside'. The evo 9 turbo TDO5HR-16G6C-10.5T is 10.5 on both sides and these are used to make the green and the bbk's.

what other mods does the car have?

ecktt

Postby ecktt » July 10th, 2010, 7:08 pm

GEAR_HEAD wrote:...what other mods does the car have?

Nothing....well last week I switched to a TephraMod Rom. Needs a tune though.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » July 10th, 2010, 8:33 pm

Tephra's roms are great, what version are u using?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 11th, 2010, 11:13 am

GEAR_HEAD wrote:...i dont think that turbo can be converted to a red or green as it is not fully a 10.5. It is a 10.5 'hotside' mated to a 9.8 'coldside'. The evo 9 turbo TDO5HR-16G6C-10.5T is 10.5 on both sides and these are used to make the green and the bbk's...
i dont think that turbo can be converted... Ahmm...Yup, conversion is possible...but maybe unwise.
If there are issues now, a replacement HTA compressor housing & wheel may not solve them.
IMHO solve the current issues first, then upgrade...or better yet, just buying "new" may be cheaper in the long run.

BTW ecktt an FP Red is too laggy. An HTA Red flows almost as much as a GT35R. IMHO not much good on a daily-driven 2.0L.
Sanctifier wrote:OEM 9 .................. 41 (44?) lb./min.
BBK Lite ............... 47 lb./min.
FP Green (Gen 1) .... 47 lb./min.
Tomei ARMS .......... 48 lb./min.
BBK Full ................ 51 lb./min.
GT3076R ............... 53 lb/min
FP 73HTA Green ..... 54 (56?) lb./min.
FP HTA 3076 .......... 57 lb./min.
FP Red (Gen 1) ....... 57 lb./min.
FP xxHTA RED ........ 64 lb/min.
GT35R .................. 65 lb./min.
FP 82HTA Black ....... 68 lb./min.
GT37R .................. 75 lb./min.
An HTA Green is a better choice for a "lightly" modified 2.0L in a daily driver.
FP HTA Green = Quick spool...plus headroom for future upgrades.

10.5 on both sides... Ahmm...Nope, the "10.5" only refers to the nominal surface area of the turbine nozzle in sq. cm.
The same is true for all other numbers: "9.0" (Evo 4) / "9.8" (Evo 7) etc. which refer to different sizes of turbine housings.

As far as FP models are concerned, all they need is the bigger "10.5" turbine combination for the upgrade.
The "compressor side" is then replaced; assuming there are no issues with the centre-section or "hot-side" (turbine side).

My $0.02¢

ecktt

Postby ecktt » July 11th, 2010, 11:50 am

@GEAR_HEAD : currently 5.10. Was running a hacked E8 7.10 but most of the "cool stuff" was not working but had huge hi-res maps (man, did that help smoothen out a tune). I saw somewhere that Tephra gave Cossie a beta of a V7.10 9055001 which will run on the my E7. Maybe by then i'll have my turbo issue sorted out.

@Sanctifier: I rather save some cash by getting an E9 turbo than a green. Not that there is anything wrong with a green but the performance delta would not be that much. I was considering a Red since its a drop in replacement and would (to me) warrant the cost for the power increase achievable. But I am sure you are right about the laggieness but it has its advantages (staying out of boost, cooler running turbo). I hoping the TephraMod 7.10 with its anti lag, launch map and switchable maps will allow me to overcome some of that lag should the occasion arise that the need for speed exists.

@Messi : did you turn up boost?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”