KYB part numbers for anyone looking for EVO 1-2 struts

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

God Bless the Black Top*

KYB part numbers for anyone looking for EVO 1-2 struts

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 8th, 2010, 9:53 am

yeah fellas,

looking desperately for evo 1 2 3 shocks... can anyone help point to a place that i can get a pair? i have bought two sets of wrong shocks in the process (sad story) and the idea that i'm getting from ppl in the bamboo is that it's near impossible to find?

help.

You can cross reference OEM part numbers from your shocks - got it sorted, and got OEM KYB excel-g's. They seem to share the same part number and damper rate as the CK/CS lancers - clever Japanese.

Evo1 and CD GSR KYB part numbers are:

334072/73 Front left and Right.

I'm a 100% sure that this will work on both these models, NOT on the CE9A Evos and later model GSRs because of the ARB fitting that needs to be on the damper. Please use the OEM part number on your shock to cross reference with KYB in the future.

hope mods leave this post around for future ref.
Last edited by God Bless the Black Top* on July 9th, 2010, 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

LevinBZR

Re: ah catchin meh tail to find evo shocks!

Postby LevinBZR » July 8th, 2010, 1:01 pm

^^^ Look out for the Moderators. There was a set in the classified section recently. Also I know someone who brought in a shell that supposed to be scrapped (I won't be surprized if it endz up on the road whole though). I'll ask him. Peace.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 8th, 2010, 2:18 pm

Change the topic and some of the body and we'll make this technical for anyone trying to get them.

Original part numbers

CD9A (a.k.a E 1 - 2)

Front
L - MR131791 (CB MIVEC compatible)
R - MR131792 (CB MIVEC compatible)

Rear

L & R - MB914897 (CB MIVEC, CB GSR compatible)

CE9A (a.k.a E 3)

(Early Model) L - MR171047
(Later Model) L - MR197259

(Early Model) R - MR171048
(Later Model) R - MR197260

Rear

L & R - MR171055

Evo 3 (CE9A) suspension not compatible with GSR or MIVEC. Do a search online and try your luck.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 8th, 2010, 2:30 pm

funny you post this:

i actually bought the KYB GR2's for the mivec/CB and it does not actually work.

the spring is larger in diameter on the Evo 1 2 3 - btw CE9A for 2 & 3 both with the ARB fitting on shock.

OEM from new cost $5500 TTD before shipping :/

KYB old part numbers for CD9A and CB5A were 333124/5 before they stopped making it.

all this knowledge, and i'm still without shocks... :(

Postby crazybalhead » July 8th, 2010, 2:47 pm

Buy a set a coilovers nah meng??? If you can get them!

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 8th, 2010, 3:01 pm

^^ i wish man, but i've got enough payments to make monthly (mortgage) as it is... just not viable.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 8th, 2010, 3:02 pm

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:funny you post this:

i actually bought the KYB GR2's for the mivec/CB and it does not actually work.

the spring is larger in diameter on the Evo 1 2 3 - btw CE9A for 2 & 3 both with the ARB fitting on shock.

OEM from new cost $5500 TTD before shipping :/

KYB old part numbers for CD9A and CB5A were 333124/5 before they stopped making it.

all this knowledge, and i'm still without shocks... :(

The CE9A shocks are different to the CD9A. The MIVEC won't work for that. Is it an evo 3?

gimme the chass #

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 8th, 2010, 3:09 pm

it's an Evo 1 - is it that the spring is different on the e2 and e3?

the diameter of an evo 1 spring is almost 7.5 inches... i expected an e2 and e3 suspension to work albeit the ARB fitting on shock.

chassis code is CD9A (not cb3 bobol lawl)

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 8th, 2010, 3:14 pm

CD9A CD5A CE9A

Spring (non ABS) MR103322

Spring (inc ABS) MR103323

All carry same spring but ABS/ non ABS may be the issue

the rears are different though. CD9A - MR130229 CE9A - MR198060

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 8th, 2010, 3:28 pm

Part numbers are not the issue - oems are almost the same brand new as a coilover kit.

Just need a spare set used or whatever

I know some guys use kyb gr2s - 333318/19 but the spring seat is wayyyy off

Don't know how they get em to fit up?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 9th, 2010, 1:18 am

these are what the shocks i got incorrectly, ie it does not share the same damper size as the ck mivec from 97-2002 (333318/9). this is what it looks like vs the oem:

hope this can be some help to ppl in the future. the spring seat is WAY off, also the height of the damper...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: KYB part numbers for anyone looking for EVO 1-2 struts

Postby MISHI » July 10th, 2010, 1:10 am

Congrats man...

Lemme add something for extra ref:

http://www.cnauto.com/A08-Suspension/Sh ... UBISHI.htm

Return to “MITSUBISHI”