Edit: Evo X - really how bad ? Moving from Silvia to Evo8:

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

.:PROZAC:..

Edit: Evo X - really how bad ? Moving from Silvia to Evo8:

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 21st, 2011, 11:39 am

EDIT: Thanks for the time and information guys. I did something rash and foolhardy. I sold everything and got an EVo X. I think I bit off more than I can chew. I didn't realise the plethora of problem'$' that it suffers.

Live and learn I guess.
Regards,
Zac

This is not going to be my daily driver to work. I've sold the silvia and picking up an evo8 RS(USDM)

1:What breaks,maf etc?
The diff has been rebuilt and transfercase upgraded to ShepTrans stg 2.

Stock bottom end with evo 9 turbo/GSC S1 @ 26psi.
2:Should I retune and drop boost to the factory limit for now to improve reliability?

3: Are the bushings on the control arms replaceable and what's their story, is it fairly common for them to deteriorate annually?
Last edited by .:PROZAC:.. on December 3rd, 2011, 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Moving from Silvia to Evo8: advice based on experience p

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 21st, 2011, 11:42 am

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 21st, 2011, 11:43 am

Does anyone seen anything out of the ordinary here or that they would be concerned with:

Exterior:

-EVO 9 MR SSL headlights with OEM HID's
-Nokya Hyper yellow H11 Fogs as daytime running lights
-European spec EVO 7 tail lights
-OEM JDM EVO 9 rear bumper
-DOLUCK carbon front lip
-REXPEED type-C rear lip spoiler
-OEM vortex generator
-Perrin 2" shorty antenna

Suspension/Wheels/Brakes:

-JIC Magic FLT-TAR full track coilover setup (12k/10k)
-Whiteline roll-center correction kit
-Replaced rear LCA bushings with OEM
-15mm hubcentric spacers (bolt on)
-Stoptech Street Performance pads (street)
-Goodrige SS brake lines
-ATE super racing blue brake/clutch fluid
-OEM EVO 9 SE forged BBS (powdercoated gloss black)
-Volks Rays gunmetal lug nuts (cant use though with BBS)
-Aurora snow tires

Engine:

-GSC Power Division S1 camshafts
-OEM EVO 9 16G Turbo (10.5 comp)
-Forge wastegate actuator
-Injen 3" downpipe
-Invidia O2 housing
-Mil.Spec. 100 cell 3" Catalytic Converter
-Megan racing resonated test pipe (track)
-Greddy 80mm catback with resonator removed
-Vibrant Stealth 3" straight through muffler (looks stock)
-Perrin silicone intake tube
-Perrin foam air filter
-Perrin 3.5" bar and plate intercooler
-Perrin Manual Boost Controller (26.5psi)
-Koyo 3" aluminum radiator
-ARP headstuds
-Buschur Racing Upper Intercooler Piping
-AMS lower intercooler piping
-Precision Turbo Engineering 880cc injectors
-Walbro 255 fuel pump
-PCV delete, custom dual catch can setup
-Mil.Spec throttle body shaft seals
-Buschur racing heat shield
-Odyssey Yellowtop mini battery

Drivetrain:

-Sheptrans Stage 2 transfercase (rebuilt busted stock one)
-Exedy stg 1 organic clutch
-Buschur racing aluminum underhood shifter bushings
-Ebay short shifter with aluminum base bushings
-10 mile customs rear diff LSD rebuild (corrected LSD plates to make more aggressive)
-Torque solutions solid motor mounts

Maintenance so far:

-ACD pump went on me last summer, replaced with OEM low mile used part
-Broke the transfer case, rebuilt to stg 2 spec by John Shepherd in Ohio
-A/C compressor took a ****, have a low mile replacement at home to put in
-Only use AMSoil in engine, Mitsu Diaqueen in diffs and Redline cocktail in tranny.

Performance:

1/4 mile 12.01@116.32
Dynojet 382awhp/364awtq 2011/10/01

Extras:

the car will come with:
-stock motor mounts
-stock wastegate actuator
-stock o2 housing
-stock intercooler
-stock rear bumper
-stock suspension

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 24th, 2011, 11:52 pm

Hi PROZAC congrats on the Evo 8.

Long list... I'll read again and throw in my $0.02¢ after.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 25th, 2011, 5:51 am

Nice ride.....

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » October 25th, 2011, 7:12 pm

Congrats .:PROZAC:.. Looks like you got a solid evo from the parts list. She looks beautiful.

@2: The power seems about right given the mod list. Those are tasteful, well balanced mods for reliable power. Just make sure you're not still running the stock diverter valve as it's known to leak at higher boost levels.

Likewise, you don't want to turn up boost much higher...26-27 psi is about as much as you should push through the 16G6 10.5T on pump. You have the right sized injectors to run that boost.

How much boost is the car holding to redline? 22-23psi?

I'd buy an openport 2.0 cable ($170+shipping), buy evoscan ($25) , pull the rom and see what kind of maps are on the car and start logging. It's important to know what timing they are running at peak torque...the stock internals are good to around 400-450whp if your torque curve is smooth...especially when the motor is older. I'd say run 24psi on the street for now until you can get some logs. It would be useful to know what state was the car brought in from and what octane they tuned for.

You could also gain some free power by switching from maf to speed density...depends on how much time you are looking to spend tuning the car....that's a much longer conversation though.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 25th, 2011, 9:46 pm

Thanks meng. Al said I should talk to you. It's originally from NY but all the mods were done here in Ontario for Sunoco 94.
Those are great pointers, thanks again.
Z

Postby crazybalhead » October 27th, 2011, 5:42 pm

Look into Amsoil for ALL fluids.

Looks like a pretty standard wishlist of parts there on a nicely modded (not insane) car.

How it pulling?

Learn to drive it as well. It's not a RWD Silvia. Hard, mad launches doh work, as yuh find out. Read plenty plenty on EVOm.

Congrats on getting a good car finally. :D

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » October 31st, 2011, 3:14 pm

Nooooooooooooooooo....................

apool69

Postby apool69 » November 11th, 2011, 10:08 am

im doin the same thing lol i have my Silvia for sale and i now bot a evo 8 mr

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 2nd, 2011, 4:58 pm

I bit the bullet and went with an 08 GSR Evox instead. Completely stock and 14km.

and the old S

Sanctifier

Re: Edit: Evo X - really how bad ? Moving from Silvia to Evo

Postby Sanctifier » December 3rd, 2011, 4:05 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:...I did something rash and foolhardy. I sold everything and got an EVo X. I think I bit off more than I can chew. I didn't realise the plethora of problem'$' that it suffers...
I did something rash and foolhardy. I sold everything and got an EVo X... OUCH! Yup I agree with you.
Compared to the specs of the E8 you sold, IMHO that was a rash move.

Okay with the experience of hindsight, what are the biggest shortcomings of the Evo X compared to your old E8?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 4th, 2011, 9:34 pm

So far nothing has broken. I do experience the tight entry to 3rd from upshift at any RPM. It's only from 2-3 and it's been reported by all x owners on evom. This is with a stock clutch, aftermarket users report the same. ok the ratios on the box, this is a rally car. I wish there was a 6th and better final drive. I do alot of highway driving and 3900 in 5th and 120 , I feel bad for the engine.
The gas mileage, it's a boosted car but nothing like all the 2.0 dets I've owned. What a pig and I rarely spank it.
Things I alredy have my eye on:
1: Fuel pump relay / already swapped out for the newer non defective one.
2: MAF - sigh, just waiting for it to spaz out.
3: AWS/ACD pump..keeping and eye on fluid.
I'm sorry but I really like an accelerator cable. i just like to get into my car and not rely and too much electronics.
Factory ride is awesome, least conmfortable recaros I've ever sat in. The interior is really cheaply made.
Seriously the paint. I love this quote:
" that mitsubishi put the thinnest coat of paint so that I can go faster makes me all fuzzy"

Yes I have buyer's remorse.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 5th, 2011, 2:43 pm

^ ^ ^ How about the handling? Are the turn-in, understeer & brakes better/worse than your old E8?

I know your E8 was an RS with LSD, but does E10's AYC offer more/less feel to the driver on oversteer, or does it feel just as "numb" as the older Evo GSRs?

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 6th, 2011, 3:59 pm

I love my evo x. Sucks that you dislike yours so much.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 6th, 2011, 4:05 pm

On a recent maracas run, the fat girl left all her siblings behind. No evo 6,7 or 8 was able to keep up.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 6th, 2011, 5:32 pm

Maybe you can give me some feedback Porn Star...
Your E7 GSR had an AYC (yup you said it was disconnected for a long time) but do you remember if your E10's AYC offers more/less feel to the driver on oversteer, or does it feel just as "numb" as the older Evo 7 GSRs?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 6th, 2011, 8:15 pm

^ see, now the deal with that is the cars are all modded in some way: whether by different wheel/ tyre combo, suspension, power, ability of drivers, being"chicken" etc... :lol:

I think OEM for OEM everything would see slightly different.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 7th, 2011, 9:51 am

Sanctifier wrote:Maybe you can give me some feedback Porn Star...
Your E7 GSR had an AYC (yup you said it was disconnected for a long time) but do you remember if your E10's AYC offers more/less feel to the driver on oversteer, or does it feel just as "numb" as the older Evo 7 GSRs?

I actually think my Evo X handles much better than my Evo VII ever did.
However, my X does have HKS Hipermax Coliovers so I guess that would help.
Also, with traction control turned OFF,OFF, the X oversteers quite nicely.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 7th, 2011, 10:49 am

Porn Star wrote:I love my evo x. Sucks that you dislike yours so much.

lol. i'll admit the crux of my issues have to do with my ability to throw large amounts of cash at it like I did older cars.
It's a wonderful car and it will grow on me.
Love the fact it looks like another lancer on road, disklike the lancer guys wanting to race me.

As for oversteer, car is parked. Will have to get back to you in spring. :/

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 17th, 2011, 10:44 am

shoulda keep the silvia :P

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 19th, 2011, 10:55 am

Death-Row wrote:shoulda keep the silvia

or the E8.