evo 3 1st gear problem..

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

crash111

evo 3 1st gear problem..

Postby crash111 » August 7th, 2012, 6:46 pm

fellas..i have a lil problem...1st gear in my evo 3 was goin in normal then one day it start givin a lil problem 2 go in and then now it not goin in at all i had the box scrap out everything like new i jus wha a lil insight as to what tht problem cld be...

wana-B-racer

Re: evo 3 1st gear problem..

Postby wana-B-racer » August 9th, 2012, 8:28 am

Pressure plate?

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » August 22nd, 2012, 12:03 pm

Im not a expert but usually when these things happen you can have alot of possibilities, from clutch (master , slave cylinder), clutch, PP, linkages bushings , synchromesh. oil quality

But if its only 1st gear i would more lean to something directly related to that gear, maybe its a bad syncromesh, im just speculating it could be something else. Try changeing the oil and see if it improves .

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » October 7th, 2012, 10:30 am

actually my evo did that once an it was the shifter bushing.!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 7th, 2012, 12:51 pm

1- Check the shifter link bushings (as TrEnD$eTt@ has stated) one of the bushings ont he cable tends not to be a solid rubber type and over time the rubber degrades enough to cause a problem as this... replace with aftermarket bushings or get another cable with a solid rubber and replace it.

Also, if the head of the shifter cable is separating it can cause an issue as well.

2- Check the Shifter base inside the car. Check where the cables are connecting inside and make sure the bushings etc are good. this is an area that tends to dry rot and cause the linkage to just be free.

3- Check gearbox shift arms and syncros... check for free play where the cables connect and see.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 9th, 2012, 9:19 pm

The cable end bushings on the gearbox side can be replaced with bearings.

I've done it on a friend's evo 3 with positive results.

this link on mLR should help
http://lancerregister.com/showthread.ph ... z+bearings

Bearings are the same used in skate boards and scooters.

Soon teknet will have solid bushing replacements, I'm waiting to use this on my VI

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » October 10th, 2012, 9:52 pm

On my evo3 box I made Teflon bushings for the shifter cable , damn that made a huge difference , also used upgraded bushing for the gear lever as well now no play. Firm precise shifting .

Return to “MITSUBISHI”