Still looking for a forester

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

mikey_c

Still looking for a forester

Postby mikey_c » June 26th, 2009, 2:56 am

Hi guys,

I posted this topic and got some great info and advice

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=251272

So far one roro dealer sent me info on two foresters he said is available import. He said there are no turbo foresters available in singapore or japan at the moment but he can acquire anyone of these two at the auctions. one silver and the other black. 2005 model.
question: what is this auction thing he speaks about?
He also said by law he cannot bring down a vehicle older than 4 years: is this true?
Remember guys this stuff is new to me. He also said a downpayment is required. : how much is the normal percentage of downpayment required for this kind of deal?
But he also said there are a lot of dealers with the 2004 turbo model cross sport and xt for sale.: Do any of you guys know of such dealers? if so can you give me contact info? name and numbers etc....
i have an account with scoobytnt.com but the internet giving problems to load on that site for some reason. i'm at work.
i'm really hoping to own a great forester before the year end. I've decided to get either the cross sport or xt model. I really love how they look and perform. I got some info on how to import the vehicle myself but not sure on which of the dealers in the foreign countries to trust.
Thanks in advance for all the info.
Also is there any known problems with the singapore models? I know one available from singapore.
I tried to post pics of the vehicles the dealer has but not getting through.[/img]

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 26th, 2009, 9:56 am

Use this to upload ur pics....

http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/

The majority of the vehicles are sold via auctions and purchased by RORO, who then seld them 2 you.

I am sure that, those who brought down their own will be happy to assist you with bringing it down yourself...........But you basically have to have the majority of cash upfront, as the bank (if needed) will not give you financing until their security is in effect.

Yes there is a law, that you cannot (in theory) liscence vehicles over 4 years, so yeah you looking at July 05 and up.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 26th, 2009, 10:01 am

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 28th, 2009, 9:43 pm

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » June 30th, 2009, 5:59 am

Wow thanks for all the support guys.

jadez i real laugh with the lalala... thing dread. I get real info there too.

Bacon i checking up on the one for 130k. I think it looking hott. So you know i just have to ask right.... this raj dealer is a reputable one right? I mean like you know his background and stuff? Also it looking like it in Trini already ent?

legacy will definitely keep that in mind. Question: If a dealer charging me 130k, how much on average you think i could save bringing it down myself?

Again many thanks......

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 30th, 2009, 9:58 am

I am not familiar with the dealer, I just saw the Fozz there and remembered you were looking 4 one. So please do your research b4, and yes it looks as if it is in the country from the pics, not sure though.

legacy_specB's option sounds like a good one to me if you have the resources........More exiting too :lol: :lol:

There are well reputed dealers out their so the risk is minimum, chances are you will l end up with a better dealer than most of dem roro dealers using anyway.

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » June 30th, 2009, 12:58 pm

Cool cool,, well i send the raj dealer a mail asking for more info like mileage, engine bay and cabin interior shots and a list of other specs. Depending on his response, i will take it from there. (like actually going and view the ride once he really have it in the country) I think the price not really that bad.

Dread i don't have the the majority of cash upfront. The bank will have to help me so my plan is to borrow about half or so, buy it from a dealer and pay the bank back in different size lump sums when possible. That should help keep the interest kinda low. I don't really know if that will really help. Will have to ask a banking person. You guys have any input on that?
Thanks and later for now....

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » June 30th, 2009, 1:34 pm

Dammit,,, the forester got sold..... O well... keep on looking...

trvs

Postby trvs » June 30th, 2009, 2:28 pm

is this is your first car? :?

i think you should go to a financial institution first and find out you borrowing options/restrictions.

then go see what you can afford to buy and maintain.

just remember, if the bank says you can afford it.. don't mean that you should buy it.

take in mind the maintenance costs that are associated with a normal car and a turbo car..

and then there is insurance.. go get some quotes...

add up the vehicle cost after your loan.. + your insurance quote and decide if that's a good investment for x amount of years.

lets just say for example...

on a 100K loan you would end up with paying 20K in interest and fees at the end of 5 years.

You would also have to make a down payment to get the actual loan.

buying a car is not like going to buy a something off the shelf..

you have to remember the costs involved etc.

Good Luck in your choice...

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » June 30th, 2009, 4:48 pm

Nah jadez, its not my first car. I owned two lancers (ck4, cs3)and a couple other ole car before.
I spoke to a banker and the figures looked ok. Will need to go in to an insurance agent to get the quotes. Don't really know exactly how much on average the xt turbo model is to maintain. Any info on that? My preference was always a stock car from since I know myself so the upgrading thing won't bother me. I know a lot of guys on the upgrading thing though. This should keep my maintenence cost at the basic level (I think). I'm very much willing to take my time and find a forester that I'm comfortable with. The gold one i liked because i think the colour looked cool and should not look real dirty when a lil rain fall like a black vehicle. If you see any like that one Bacon forwarded to me, please don't hesitate to let me know. Thanks.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 30th, 2009, 6:40 pm

cool,

what price range you looking at?

are you over 25?

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » June 30th, 2009, 6:54 pm

I thinking bout not crossin 120k - 130k ish for what i want. 2005 forester. Like the gold and black i liked. I was told it very possible and to have patience. If i coulda bring it in myself maybe 100k - 110k.
Yea more than 25

trvs

Postby trvs » June 30th, 2009, 8:13 pm

^ excellent info there

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » June 30th, 2009, 8:25 pm

Well meh boi, i hope so too because it eh sounding so hard. I want to give it a try...
You know ah hav a few questions:
If a car is eg. 14k us on a site, how much on average everything might cost in TT$ minus the insurance? So i would have a clue on my budget.
Ever heard about : yokohama trading co. ltd? i saw a car on there that a roro dealer advertised for sale.
That is real great info...... Thanks a mil
ps: if you remember anything else on the import matter doh hesitate to send me the info.....
will keep you informed....

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » July 1st, 2009, 12:48 pm

Not seeing one for that price, just calling a figure. Now i know how to manage the price thing. Thanks again.

trvs

Postby trvs » July 1st, 2009, 1:44 pm

well it would be nice if you document your story so other can benefit from it. :P

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » July 1st, 2009, 2:22 pm

you mean like post it somewhere? no prob

trvs

Postby trvs » July 1st, 2009, 3:35 pm

yep yep.. :lol:

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » July 1st, 2009, 9:04 pm

Cool...

By the way, specB, you use sayuri to bring down your car?
If so how long it take from start to finish... average?

Ah know ah asking plenty question but I does have to understand the whole scene before I approach something big like this (at least this big for me......) Thanks again guys....

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » July 1st, 2009, 11:12 pm

yea ur boat got delayed legacy_specB, i remember hearing about that..i tink it was the "morning concert" ?

neways i second that...i delt thru sayuri and im very impressed...ur car was a 5.0 if i remember...i was eyeing it for awhile then it got sold the next week :?

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » July 2nd, 2009, 5:57 am

WTF u serious lol...like u and Saman used to drink beers or wha :mrgreen:

Cuz i tried to negiotiate ah price but it didnt work out as planned lol

I also tried to get a spare key, but wasnt successful. How much keys u got?

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » July 2nd, 2009, 7:42 am

Well i registered and have the ID and password thing with sayuri and looking at the vehicles. So i gotta look at cars not older than four years but seeing this sweet 2004 forester (just like the 2005 one specB posted earlier for sale but got sold)... dammit... I have patience though. Ammmmm.. I suppose to know this Saman guy? The negotiating part could be done only in the auction or also the cars they have stocked? Like it have a trick to it? Thanks for the info guys....

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » July 2nd, 2009, 7:58 am

Hey guess what? One of the local RORO dealers here in Trini sent me a forester available and it's one of the same cars I was viewing on Sayuri... small world eh? I'm not really interested (it has no fogs and it black..... I think black kinda hard to maintain)
He didn't give me a price but I still going an ask him. He ask me what is my maximum CIF budget... wtf is that?

trvs

Postby trvs » July 2nd, 2009, 8:00 am

Cost, Insurance and Freight.

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » July 2nd, 2009, 8:03 am

Cool.... I feeling like I moving kinda sneeky asking him the price and know I not really taking it but is for a good I guess...

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » July 2nd, 2009, 11:04 am

Cool....... Now i guess i just have to take my time and choose something i really satisfied with. You guys put me on the right track...

Return to “SUBARU”