The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Re: The Tuning Thread- EJ Motor

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 30th, 2017, 11:12 am

What exhaust manifold setup u have?

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » December 30th, 2017, 11:23 am

Well check thing list up the parts.. and pm prices if u not posting public

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » December 30th, 2017, 1:14 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:What exhaust manifold setup u have?

Tomei expreme twin scroll headers (race version)

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » December 30th, 2017, 1:15 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:Well check thing list up the parts.. and pm prices if u not posting public

Will compile a list soon doh worry

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 30th, 2017, 1:58 pm

Ohok I have the same but looking for a single scroll equal to buy

Lance

Postby Lance » December 30th, 2017, 7:35 pm

cunningham wrote:Can you send a contact for him
Hey man.

I sold this some time back.

cunningham

Postby cunningham » December 30th, 2017, 8:00 pm

Lance wrote:
cunningham wrote:Can you send a contact for him
Hey man.

I sold this some time back.

Aight cool.

Lance

Postby Lance » December 30th, 2017, 8:36 pm

Regarding EL headers, I'm designing, prototyping and building header.

EL design with cast stainless steel countersunk head flanges, cast 4-1 merge collector with an integrated wastegate port. I'm building this one with 304 stainless tubing but I may consider building a 321 option.

I'll update the build process once I get it underway. Image

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 30th, 2017, 11:17 pm

Lance wrote:Regarding EL headers, I'm designing, prototyping and building header.

EL design with cast stainless steel countersunk head flanges, cast 4-1 merge collector with an integrated wastegate port. I'm building this one with 304 stainless tubing but I may consider building a 321 option.

I'll update the build process once I get it underway. Image
Looking forward to this. Very interesting

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » January 4th, 2018, 6:04 pm

Folks. To those of you running foam filters. What do you use to clean them? I don't believe the k&n kit is made for foam.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 15th, 2018, 1:56 pm

Hey fellas wanted tune month end but the person I was going by, I heard some horror stories.. can you guys recommend a good tuner who you had personal experience with.. pm me if need be

Was studying to take the safer route with ekutek..

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 15th, 2018, 1:58 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:Hey fellas wanted tune month end but the person I was going by, I heard some horror stories.. can you guys recommend a good tuner who you had personal experience with.. pm me if need be

pm senting lol

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 15th, 2018, 3:04 pm

RTune been doing my car for the past 4 years... no issues

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 15th, 2018, 5:56 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:Hey fellas wanted tune month end but the person I was going by, I heard some horror stories.. can you guys recommend a good tuner who you had personal experience with.. pm me if need be

Ecutek locks the ECU tho. Something to consider.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » March 28th, 2018, 1:01 pm

Quick question.. you guys have any preference to gauges?..

wanna get a/f ratio and boost.. innovate has a combo gauge with both.. so I was thinking to get that to reduce clutter

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2018, 9:23 pm

I might as well ask here.

As my headers on the ground I was looking at them and they are pretty well built. Same diameter as the exit on the heads and where they all combine, same cross sectional area on the turbo flange.

I have seen men boasting of using pipes with larger internal diameters, does this make a difference if the exit is still equal to stock cross sectional area?

The only advantage I see aftermarket offering is that it may be lighter if weight reduction is on the agenda

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 31st, 2018, 9:34 pm

Bigger also reduces exhaust pressure which would affect turbo spool up significantly...

I don't see the benefits of goin bigger exhaust manifold unless u want to delay turbo spooling. Bigger if ur pushing more exhaust gasses should be fine...but to push more gas u need more cfm...which is dependent on turbo spool.

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2018, 10:17 pm

All in all even if you going with a bigger manifold your head still has the same size exit. Unless you porting and increasing the cross sectional area on the head you're wasting time with headers that have a larger diameter.

Guess I'm keeping my headers.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 1st, 2018, 9:30 pm

On a stock turbo setup or slightly bigger stock size headers is ok but once you start going up in size it becomes the restriction.

Think about it, Flow in via bigger turbo won’t be able to flow out on standard size

Lance

Postby Lance » April 3rd, 2018, 6:51 am

racedriverpro wrote:Bigger also reduces exhaust pressure which would affect turbo spool up significantly...

I don't see the benefits of goin bigger exhaust manifold unless u want to delay turbo spooling. Bigger if ur pushing more exhaust gasses should be fine...but to push more gas u need more cfm...which is dependent on turbo spool.

From my experience and research, this is essentially it.

That being said, people really do underestimate the flow capacity of a stock sized primary tube.

Killer B has a primary sizing of between 1.63-1.75" (post merge collector is around 2.25 -4-1 design). This is just only incrementally larger than stock. This will support 800+whp (keeping in mind that the efficacy of a header design involves more than the tubing diameter).

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 15th, 2018, 7:07 pm

Back to pester you guys again.. just when I thought I fixed everything hear what going on.

When I'm in 2nd,3rd 4th gear.. as engine speed reaches between 3500 - 4500 under wot it feels as though the car is bogging down..

I checked torque Pro while I was driving (not too much parameters work) but the car seems to be injecting the correct amount of fuel.. my assumption is that it may possibly be an ignition prob or boost leak..

Any opinions on what it may be? Just wanna get a general idea before I carry it to mech..

Postby nervewrecker » April 16th, 2018, 5:48 am

Correct amount of fuel for what amount of air? Sure is not dirty maf?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 16th, 2018, 7:27 am

infinite_RPM wrote:Back to pester you guys again.. just when I thought I fixed everything hear what going on.

When I'm in 2nd,3rd 4th gear.. as engine speed reaches between 3500 - 4500 under wot it feels as though the car is bogging down..

I checked torque Pro while I was driving (not too much parameters work) but the car seems to be injecting the correct amount of fuel.. my assumption is that it may possibly be an ignition prob or boost leak..

Any opinions on what it may be? Just wanna get a general idea before I carry it to mech..
Could be incorrect supply of fuel..either too much or too little....

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 16th, 2018, 7:37 am

Well it doesn't read too much of the pids but for some reason the horsepower reading works.. I assuming the horsepower reading is based how much fuel the car is sending so that's what I based that on..

I cleaned the maf in December so I kinda ruled that out.. changing plugs and cleaning the maf myself later before I carry by the mechanic to see if that resolves it..

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 16th, 2018, 7:51 am

Next thing it's the throttle position it's reading and ecu is showing corresponding "horsepower"

Get a wideband installed....or use the sniffer type to determine whether the engine is running rich or lean...

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 16th, 2018, 8:05 am

Im sure isn't throttle position.. i was watching it while I was driving. Did a pull from a stop in 2nd gear.. the hp increased with rpm.. as it reached around peak boost the car cutting the power.

I ordered the innovate afr/boost controller gauge.. should be here this week..

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 16th, 2018, 8:33 am

infinite_RPM wrote:Im sure isn't throttle position.. i was watching it while I was driving. Did a pull from a stop in 2nd gear.. the hp increased with rpm.. as it reached around peak boost the car cutting the power.

I ordered the innovate afr/boost controller gauge.. should be here this week..
Until it reaches....get fuel pressure checked

Postby janfar » April 16th, 2018, 4:30 pm

Did you do a boost leak test?

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 22nd, 2018, 5:04 pm

Cleaned MAF and air filter.. changed plugs.. issue still there

https://youtu.be/HnYbTTQn2aw

That's a vid of what I getting around 47 seconds in.. will try to check the fuel side of things this week..

Got my innovate gauge.. trying to figure out where to put the wideband sensor on the exhaust.. the manual recommends 24" from the turbo but that will be after the cat.. and right after the turbo has the stock o2 sensor..

If I put the two sensors close together will I get inaccurate readings?

Postby nervewrecker » April 22nd, 2018, 5:10 pm

24"?
Mine is like 12", I think manual said so.

Return to “SUBARU”