2010 GH3 WRX conversion

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

CyrexZ3

2010 GH3 WRX conversion

Postby CyrexZ3 » September 18th, 2017, 12:13 pm

Good day all i was just wondering if it is a waste of money or if it is even possible to convert a GH3 hatch engine to a WRX, or just sell the GH3 and buy a WRX. I really like the body style of the GH imprezas. If the conversion is possible what year WRX would work and would it be cheaper than selling and buying a WRX GH8 if i can find one.

infinite_RPM

Re: 2010 GH3 WRX conversion

Postby infinite_RPM » September 18th, 2017, 2:42 pm

Conversions usually cost more than buying the car outright.. but it could be done.. it's the same engine that comes in the legacy..

I was now looking at some forums.. apparently a lot of guys get the ej20x from the gh8 and swap it into their usdm legacies and use the jdm harness and ecu... If you can reuse your transmission maybe the swap wouldn't be so hard you'd just have to source eng/harness/ecu/mounts/exhaust

CyrexZ3

Postby CyrexZ3 » September 18th, 2017, 4:28 pm

alright i know about the ej20x but ent them does come in the legacy gt. What is the difference from the ej20x in the legacy gt and the impreza gt because it would be easier to source one from a legacy.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » September 19th, 2017, 9:43 am

Check https://www.facebook.com/csmspeedandcustomsales/

They can get an unregistered S-GT (GH8) shell, front half or complete conversion. Did it before and very straightforward once you have the correct parts.

CyrexZ3

Postby CyrexZ3 » September 21st, 2017, 8:53 pm

Ah thanks man

Return to “SUBARU”