Help Needed - STI

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

brakefluid

Re: Help Needed - STI

Postby brakefluid » October 3rd, 2017, 5:06 pm

Firstly you always have little fixing to do. High performance cars need attention. From brakes to fuses to just about anything. Does not mean that something is wrong with the car but high performance requires high attention.

If the car not going into boost it could be as simple as fixing the vacuum line which is a 1 minute fix i cant see why he didnt fix it right away (unless there is more tothe problem ). The car could be tuned to run on super as well. If the oil pressure gauge is working then is no worries just the annoying oil light in the panel but it should be fixed.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 3rd, 2017, 6:57 pm

I'd get a competent mechanic to check those issues out first...

branbran

Postby branbran » October 3rd, 2017, 7:11 pm

Hey Get someone who knows about Subarus to check it sounds like a headache to me also check to see if the gasket blow there are a few ways to check this so get a mechanic to go with you. Don't rush and buy any car before you check it out inside out. Depends on the price of you getting a good deal and would have extra cash to sort it out then it's cool.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 3rd, 2017, 7:42 pm

There are easier ways to get an STI...most cost alot to manage.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 4th, 2017, 8:17 am

Zee wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:There are easier ways to get an STI...most cost alot to manage.

You mean to do a conversion?

I'm actually thinking WRX now.. maybe less stress?
Lol...nah thats not what I was saying.

Budget and ability to maintain is everything with these cars.

Imo good mechanics are few and far apart wrt to skills etc. Working on Subarus is time consuming most times, which mechanics usually charge a premium price for. More downtime at the mechanic in some cases due to the workload of the few 'specialist' mechanics around.

What are ur reasons for wanting a WRX/STi? I suspect peformance that u would not get wit a Honda.

Oh yeah doh waste time and money with conversion. Can be 'fun' if u doing the work.

air wick

Postby air wick » October 5th, 2017, 9:11 am

Make sure the chassis code is GDB (legit STi)

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 5th, 2017, 1:39 pm

Zee wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:
Zee wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:There are easier ways to get an STI...most cost alot to manage.

Imo good mechanics are few and far apart wrt to skills etc. Working on Subarus is time consuming most times, which mechanics usually charge a premium price for. More downtime at the mechanic in some cases due to the workload of the few 'specialist' mechanics around.

What are ur reasons for wanting a WRX/STi? I suspect peformance that u would not get wit a Honda.

Oh yeah doh waste time and money with conversion. Can be 'fun' if u doing the work.

lol, ok..

I should be able to maintain it, once parts are easy to come by

I agree about the mechanic situation - but I have friends who are versed and can assist.

I always wanted a STI, and now I can afford it. I present have a 2016 Civic, and it is about the best car I've owned to date.

I dont want a conversion or even a modded STI, the more original - the better.

thanks for the comments tho
No scn...there are additional things to check for with regards to engine health etc.

1. Observe engine noises upon cold start and run. Some indicators of bad bearing, wrist pin, rods etc are not always noticeable when engine is warm.

2. Observe exhaust during cold start...look for idicators of buring oil due to turbo or valves....never heara of issues with valves tho.

3. Ohhhhh and always pull a learning view from the ecu to check for evidence of knock/deton through reduced timing and IAM.

4. I wouldn't buy if owner used/uses super.

5. Ask if car was tuned and by whom...

6. Do a full suspension and undercarriage check.

Subaru community isnt that close knit but some really good Subaru guys around and we try to assist in any way that we can...

Postby 16 cycles » October 11th, 2017, 9:39 am

viewtopic.php?f=34&t=229229&p=3178299&hilit=gdb#p3178299

^ take a read....

oil light on is a major concern....to me at least...

Postby crazybalhead » October 11th, 2017, 9:59 am

I strongly disagree with "performance cars always have issues" only when people neglect or do nonsense. That oil light on is a worry. No boost, big worry. The sprayer bottle missing means accident and then a shoddy repair in my opinion. I would not buy that car. Just my 2c. Especially not for a daily driver.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 15th, 2017, 11:12 am

Exactly

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2017, 8:00 am

I think i know what STI you are talking about, for the price its a good deal.

get a good mechanic to take a look at it, or check out the previous mechanic and hear what he has to say about it. You wont believe what you would find out.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 22nd, 2017, 8:06 pm

Zee wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:
Zee wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:
Zee wrote:

lol, ok..

I should be able to maintain it, once parts are easy to come by

I agree about the mechanic situation - but I have friends who are versed and can assist.

I always wanted a STI, and now I can afford it. I present have a 2016 Civic, and it is about the best car I've owned to date.

I dont want a conversion or even a modded STI, the more original - the better.

thanks for the comments tho
No scn...there are additional things to check for with regards to engine health etc.

1. Observe engine noises upon cold start and run. Some indicators of bad bearing, wrist pin, rods etc are not always noticeable when engine is warm.

2. Observe exhaust during cold start...look for idicators of buring oil due to turbo or valves....never heara of issues with valves tho.

3. Ohhhhh and always pull a learning view from the ecu to check for evidence of knock/deton through reduced timing and IAM.

4. I wouldn't buy if owner used/uses super.

5. Ask if car was tuned and by whom...

6. Do a full suspension and undercarriage check.

Subaru community isnt that close knit but some really good Subaru guys around and we try to assist in any way that we can...

1. It's hard to do that, unless the person is allowing you to come to their home to view the car - which, in these times is not the case. But good point.

2. Burning oil would be smoke from the exhaust?

3. How do you do that?

4. How come?

5. Agreed

6. Agreed

Thanks alot. I appreciate all the help I can get!

2. Burning oil would be smoke from the exhaust?
Yes during cold start it might be most noticeable as the oil from the turbo's seal leaks into the downpipe and exhaust piping.

3. How do you do that?
Using a tatrix cable or compliant obd2 cable and a laptop with the romraider stand alone software titled learning view.

4. How come?
Our Super or even premium can induce detonation in jdm tuned turbo Subarus. It's just a question of how often and to what magnitude it occurs...sure a tune would fix that once you are able to get a good one locally. Only one guy I would let tune my car locally. Heard of good results via remote tune.

5. Agreed

6. Agreed

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 23rd, 2018, 9:47 pm

Zee wrote:Good day fellow 2nrs,

I am presently in a position to afford a used STI. I was seriously considering taking the plunge but needed some advice from more experienced persons.

So I am looking at a 2003 model (Peanut eye). It's basically stock except for a metal radiator, a blow off valve and an upgraded exhaust. It also has coil overs. It is for sale here on 2nr as well.

The car has some minor issues to be addressed as told by the owner - the hose for the IC sprayer is not working. It does not have a windscreen washer fluid bottle. A hose is loose which is causing loss of boost (not sure about this one). The Boost gauge is not going into boost - it is remaining in vacuum. The oil light is on due to him using aftermarket gauges to monitor temp and pressure. Brake pads need changing.

I want to use the car as a daily driver as I work about 15 mins away from home. I've been told that the car can be tuned to run on super. Is this possible and would it do any damage?

I am a normal driver and this is my first boosted car. I do not plan to launch or race or drive excessively hard for any prolonged period. So the effect on performance won't bother me if there is power loss.

Outside of that, what can you guys guide me on before I take this step.

I look forward to the feedback, thanks!

Those issues are very minor could be fixed by youtubing if you are not too familiar. I would recommend sticking to premium as it gives me extra peace of mind when going into boost.

I also work around 10-15mins away (straight highway) from where i live and $100 in premium lasts me 2-3days im running a peanut eye STI with a stock internals type RA engine 15psi boost ..peakes @17psi and afr @ 10.9 full throttle.

if i cruise to 6th daily i guestimate i could pull off 6-8days on every $100 premium.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 25th, 2018, 3:41 pm

All that to say u have a 6speed gearbox?

Return to “SUBARU”