Mazda 323 hatch RSS-SVT Thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

nareshseep

Mazda 323 hatch RSS-SVT Thread

Postby nareshseep » June 20th, 2008, 9:20 pm

Well this is my start thread on the mazda sport20's smaller brother the rss-svt,

kerb weight : 1170 kg / 2579lb
Power: 125 hp
power to weight = 20.992
torque to weight =
Power-to-weight =110.26 bhp/ton
Turning radius : 10.4 m

ENGINE
[spoiler]http://www.protegefaq.net/
Type ZL-VE
Displacement 1498cc
Cylinders 4
Valvetrain DOHC 16 valve Sequential Valve Timing, direct shim over tappet actuation, timing belt
Horsepower 128hp (130ps) @ 7000r/min (JIS net)
Torque 102lbs/ft (14.4kg·m) @ 4000r/min (JIS net)
Bore & Stroke 78mm x 78.4mm
Compression Ratio 9.4:1
Induction Type Natural
Redline 7500r/min
Alternator output 12V 70A
Ignition type distributor-less coil pack
Fuel system Multipoint EFI
Fuel injector rate 294ml/min
Manual Transmission type F25M-R

Valve Timing
Intake cam duration 230° @ 0.003"
Intake cam opening -3°-32° BTDC
Intake cam closing 53°-18° ABDC
Intake cam lobe height ?
Intake cam base circle ?
Intake valve lift ?
Exhaust cam duration 240° @ 0.003"
Exhaust cam opening 53° BBDC
Exhaust cam closing 7° ATDC
Exhaust cam lobe height ?
Exhaust cam base circle ?
Exhaust valve lift ?
Valve overlap 4°-39°[/spoiler]

MANUAL TRANSMISSION

[spoiler]Type 5MT, FWD
1st gear 3.416:1
2nd gear 1.842:1
3rd gear 1.290:1
4th gear 0.918:1
5th gear 0.731:1
Final drive 4.388:1

Reverse 3.214:1
Differential open
Shift mechanism remote, rod actuation
Clutch cover set load 440kgf (4315N)[/spoiler]

SENSORS

[spoiler]According to red bwoy there are 6 sensors that can go bad:

1. cam
2. crank
3. vvt
4. temperature sensor
5. airflow sensor
6. knock sensor when dat gone make sure an buy de upgraded one wid de black wire

[/spoiler]

SUSPENSION
[spoiler]upgrades Tein springs and original shocks -> 1.5" drop
soon to get tokico hp blues shocks[/spoiler]

ECU
[spoiler]I can't say for the transmission, but get a good electrician to wire your car and make sure you get the ZL-VE ECU. The normal ZL-DE ECU won't activate the SVT and the car will feel like your old engine.

The ZL-VE automatic ECU is in a silver case and has a 4 plug input, the code for it iz ZL-O2. The manual ECU is in a black case and has a 3 plug input, the code for it is either ZL09 or ZL10

Most of the parts from your ZL-DE can work in the ZL-VE.. coilpacks, airflow sensor, cam sensor, alternator.. all is the same just double check the serial numbers to make sure.
(ζђίΰД™)[/spoiler]

PARTS

[spoiler]BrianKhan
Southern Sales
M&N
MAZTUNE
JURAWANS
BOBBYS[/spoiler]

MAINTENANCE

[spoiler]
MECHANICS
David - chase village

ENGINE OIL
10W30 oil, Mobil1 or Redline (ζђίΰД™)
Try the Redline 10W30 oil. dont use anything except 10W30 the VVT will work like sheit if u dont thats the best advice i could give on that ZL-VE! (MAZTUNE)

MANUAL TRANSMISSION
75W90 NS GL-5 Gear Oil 3 quarts

SPARK PLUGS
NGK - BKR5E-11
http://www.ngk.com/results_appNonUS.asp ... iveID=2007 (mazdamig)
for the zm -> ZFR5F
Iridium IX ZFR5FIX-11
V-Power ZFR5F-11
G-Power ZFR5FGP

SUSPENSION (prices at the firm)
rack ends 550
steering end 495
cradle mounts 115
linkages 8" 286
linkages 11" 302
engine mount ~500 each (I think)
[/spoiler]

RIMS
16x7" 195/45/16 50mm stock offset
17x7" 205/40/17 42mm+ offset

AFTERMARKET and SUPPORT FORUMS
[spoiler]MAZDA LINKS

RACING BEAT

CORKSPORT
[/spoiler]
FINDINGS
[spoiler]The manual (zmde) states that these cars should not be kickstarted, if done damage to the exhaust sensor will occur.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &&start=20

the ZL-VE has 290cc red injectors (maztune) (normal is 160cc)

Shift knob
thread pitch 10x1.25mm

Brake caliper piston size is 60mm, as opposed to the normal 40mm, when servicing calipers ask for the caliiper kit for the mx6 (red bwoy)[/spoiler]
Last edited by nareshseep on June 24th, 2010, 9:50 am, edited 52 times in total.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 20th, 2008, 9:27 pm

you got the car?...

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » June 21st, 2008, 9:43 am

cam, crank, vvt, an temp, pray de airflow sensor doh goh anh oh yeah de knock sensor when dat gone make sure an buy de upgraded one wid de black wire

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 23rd, 2008, 8:13 am

ghostbusters wrote:you got the car?...

got the car, been a while since driving gears, have to make the clutch my friend again :)

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 23rd, 2008, 8:16 am

pulling nice?, good luck, das a great car

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 23rd, 2008, 8:22 am

It pulls great !! which mechanic provide the best service for these vehicles?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 23rd, 2008, 11:15 am

i does go by david in chase village, but he does be busy real often, , das after the gas station heading south by sonny's auto spares

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » June 23rd, 2008, 11:40 am

boi do like me get a zm-de manual an use it as reference an do de usual tune up an service yuhself an with de help yuh could find on the forum yuh orn the major things yuh culd head by de mechanic i like tuh know at all times what right or wrong wid my car so i always in it checkin cleanin an servicing

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » June 23rd, 2008, 2:30 pm

nareshseep U have a zl-ve & gearbox also?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 23rd, 2008, 4:18 pm

^^ yes,

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 23rd, 2008, 6:45 pm

ζђίΰД™ you know where i could find and the price for the head gasket seal for this car?

islandp5

1.5 zl motor

Postby islandp5 » June 23rd, 2008, 8:04 pm

am having some bad break up with my 1.5 zl motor, it tends too break up at about 4000-5000 rpm in 2 3 gears it tends to come off the line real dead also,the only thing i am looking to change is the coil i have already change one. with a stage 4 spec clutch in there i feel it should be pulling much better,so please let me know what u think, could it be the timing also. its 5-speed

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » June 23rd, 2008, 8:19 pm

nareshseep, I was told that Brian Khan has it. 678-9182. Dunno who else will carry it. Did the engine come in the car? or was it a conversion? Do you have the manual vvt brain?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » June 23rd, 2008, 10:48 pm

nareshseep wrote:ζђίΰД™ you know where i could find and the price for the head gasket seal for this car?

it supposed to be de same as de zm-de or zl-de de only difference in the engines apart from the vvt is displacement and timing most of the parts ar de same i bought most of my parts by southern sales an dey mostly brought de zm-de an everythin works fine

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » June 24th, 2008, 6:44 am

I know for sure that the Tappit pan Gasket is different. I didn't have to change mine, so I can't say if it's similar to the ZM or ZL. Just have your mechanic take it out and go Southern Sales with it.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 24th, 2008, 12:41 pm

ζђίΰД™ wrote:nareshseep, I was told that Brian Khan has it. 678-9182. Dunno who else will carry it. Did the engine come in the car? or was it a conversion? Do you have the manual vvt brain?

Well the hatchback is stock, so i guess that it have the manual brain, she is gorgeous and the handling is superb.
Last edited by nareshseep on June 24th, 2008, 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 24th, 2008, 1:00 pm

Can these manual 323 be jumpstarted? and does the zl-ve come with extractors?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 24th, 2008, 4:37 pm

zl-ve has 4-2-1 exhaust manifold, i put it im my zm-de, good stuff

Return to “MAZDA”