Protege Rough Shift

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Groovemaster

Protege Rough Shift

Postby Groovemaster » October 28th, 2009, 9:37 pm

Tuners, my BJ shifting rough from 1 to 2 & 2 to 3.
1.6ZM Auto 63,000kM. I know for sure the back engine mount kinda bad (No cracks just dead, well so my mech said)

Had d trans oil changed to redline D4, just drain & refill. Checked level recently and reading fine & smelling like new.

Any sensible advice greatly appreciated! :D

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 29th, 2009, 1:03 pm

was the issue present before the oil change?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » October 29th, 2009, 2:59 pm

Let me start from d beginning.....
Bought the car @ 22,000kM ran it for 6 months without changing any oils....
Started to get a jerk when i release the X to cruise in traffic, when RPM reaches 1500 it just drops to 1000 fast so u get a jerk.
On the 7th month changed engine oil (Shell 20W 50) and trans oil with castrol dextron III
That didn't fix the jerk or a rough shift from 1 to 2
Probably about 8 months ago bought some Redline D4 ATF and just drain & refill.....
Jerk still not fixed & now i getting the rough shift :cry:

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » October 30th, 2009, 11:16 am

you should do a proper flush, as opposed to a drain/refill. There could be 'varnish' and other residue and contaminants affecting the operation of the valves in the tranny. Also, when u done the flush, a scanner should be hooked up to ensure there are no faults registered on the ecu which could also affect operation.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » October 30th, 2009, 7:55 pm

Yeah i guess i have 2 flush it & see if the prob still there..........$$$

Timmydiags

Postby Timmydiags » October 31st, 2009, 8:54 am

You should get a scan done frist

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » October 31st, 2009, 3:39 pm

Scan showing nothing! (Chag auto supplies)

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 31st, 2009, 8:32 pm

change yuh mounts first dred then see about the see if the problems still exist start with the cheapest first

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » October 31st, 2009, 9:10 pm

red bwoy wrote:change yuh mounts first dred then see about the see if the problems still exist start with the cheapest first

WORD!!!

mnoel

Postby mnoel » November 13th, 2009, 6:42 pm

Any body try replacing the transission mounts by a studier polyurethane mount . These are performance mounts which will transmitt some more vibration to the car but prevent the tranny moving and mashing up seals .
I am looking for some of these mounts for my 1.6 mazda GLX .( mashed up my transmission running with out oil )

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » November 14th, 2009, 7:20 pm

^^ don't believe the hype with poly mounts eh... keep in mind any mount is a bridge of sorts, linking the mechanical component to the chassis... thus it is impossible to pass vibration to the chassis, but not to the mechanical component (engine, tranny or whateva). Poly mounts originated and have primary use in motorsports, where they have to combat intense levels of torque movement, lateral G's etc etc at the complete loss of occupant comfort.

That said i'd never recommend poly mounts for a domestic application... it will significantly increase vibration to the chassis and whatever else, and bring with it, its own set of problems down the road, like prematurely worn suspension bushings, leaky joints for the a/c and power steering, and the world of rattles from interior parts, namely the dash.

A better solution is poly insertion into a regular oem mount... the rubber core will do the job of suppressing vibration, and the poly outer coating will protect the core and extend the mounts useful life

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » November 14th, 2009, 7:42 pm

^^^^ Well said damie!

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » November 19th, 2009, 3:32 pm

Moneys' tight times are hard so i bought Castrol Mercon V from SS ($30, "We us dat in the 323 u know" with a attitude when I told him dat Mercon V & M-V is not the same) Anyways I drained & refilled my trans. I must say that it is working a little better. The hard shift from 2-3 is gone. There's still a jerk from 1-2 but much softer than b4.
So i plan to do a drain & refill two more times with Redline (as I said moneys' tight :oops: )

Return to “MAZDA”