Maztune mom BJ familia build

MAZDA People United - it continues here

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » March 30th, 2010, 8:14 pm

MAZTUNE
engine swap for this car

You think its is possible with an adapter plate and the right mods i can get a rotary mount on this activematic transmission ?

MAZTUNE

Re: MAZTUNE mom's 2001 BJ Familia RS build

Postby MAZTUNE » June 29th, 2010, 10:28 am

doing some brake upgrades, will post up as soon as we are done.

MAZTUNE

Re:

Postby MAZTUNE » June 29th, 2010, 10:31 am

gready123456 wrote:MAZTUNE
engine swap for this car

You think its is possible with an adapter plate and the right mods i can get a rotary mount on this activematic transmission ?

2 problems, the ZL-VE ECU is directly linked to the transmission to work the activematic. Also a rotary will break this already weak F-type transmission

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 19th, 2010, 1:34 pm

ok time to do some brake upgrades. The brake lines have to be changed to a disc brake type so we brought in a set of Corksport Steel Braided lines for the BJ Familia/Protege at a cost $1200.00 for the set.

So we removed the ugly drum brakes by taking out the 2 17mm bolt and nuts off the shock, the 17mm off the trailing arms and rear sub-frame arms removed. Now the 2 subframe arms are different to the one of the drums, so they either have to be shortened or replaced by ones from a disc brake model.

We then installed the rear brake lines on the discbrakes and just put the ABS sensor to one side, careful not to pull on the wire. (had some issues with ABS codes when we put up the shocks :oops: ) . The new arms were installed with minor troubles then replaced all bolts.

DSC00534.JPG
DSC00537.JPG
DSC00535.JPG
Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 10th, 2010, 9:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 19th, 2010, 1:38 pm

So Maztune its not a direct bolt up?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 21st, 2010, 2:27 pm

nareshseep wrote:So Maztune its not a direct bolt up?

from drum to disc...no. if you are taking it off a complete RSS rear subframe it will be a direct boltup.

libra

Postby libra » July 21st, 2010, 7:10 pm

why rear disk so hard to get ..........

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 21st, 2010, 7:38 pm

Cause they didn't make many like my car. :P

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 21st, 2010, 7:44 pm

rear disc not so hard to get you will just have to convert to five hole .........
four hole rear disc hard to get because afaik tht was a JDM only package the USA only got rear disc in five hole ..........i think

libra

Postby libra » July 21st, 2010, 8:06 pm

cool .... i already buy rims an ting i ent goin tru all that nah ..... wildcard yuh like ting eh :( ..... showin off on yuh pal

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 22nd, 2010, 10:45 pm

red bwoy wrote:rear disc not so hard to get you will just have to convert to five hole .........
four hole rear disc hard to get because afaik tht was a JDM only package the USA only got rear disc in five hole ..........i think

yup sport20 5 hole setups easier to come by.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 23rd, 2010, 12:33 am

since we on braking check this MazdaSpeed Protege with MazdaSpeed 6 Brakes, for the guys with 5 hole

Size of rotors are listed:
front: 12.58 in/320mm
rear: 12.35 in/314mm

http://www.mazdamp3.com/forum/showthrea ... =123773253

Last edited by nareshseep on July 23rd, 2010, 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

libra

Postby libra » July 23rd, 2010, 8:55 am

:shock: :shocked!: :faint:

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 23rd, 2010, 12:30 pm

Just now libra will be rocking that he getting the itch for a conversion.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 23rd, 2010, 1:47 pm

oh yeah with those brakes you cant use anything less than 17's

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 23rd, 2010, 2:43 pm

And I will offer him my thread to look for rims too then. LMFAO!

libra

Postby libra » July 23rd, 2010, 5:41 pm

doa encourage dem ting nah man .......... how ah go pay fer school lol
Last edited by libra on August 31st, 2010, 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 23rd, 2010, 6:41 pm

Dat looking real good. I just not feeling the purple Oil and hand brakes. Why dat on any how, tell me you just start the car and take that pic?)

But yeah dude save to it and do the conversion. You self say you don't have no wife nor child to worry about. :P

libra

Postby libra » July 23rd, 2010, 7:01 pm

thaz pink .. the hold and fog light icon blue.. indicators lookin kinda aqua blue .. batt and door light cud not change ....... and no i did not start jus had the ignition on "ON"

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 23rd, 2010, 7:08 pm

Oh yeah, I now see you don't have no RPM.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 7th, 2010, 12:22 pm

nareshseep wrote:since we on braking check this MazdaSpeed Protege with MazdaSpeed 6 Brakes, for the guys with 5 hole

Size of rotors are listed:
front: 12.58 in/320mm
rear: 12.35 in/314mm

http://www.mazdamp3.com/forum/showthrea ... =123773253

if you guys only knew how those msp's does run eh...its a 2.0 turbo, pallie in FL have it running alongside a mopar stage 2 srt4 :shock: sweetness I say and them brakes win

dervynayr

Postby dervynayr » September 9th, 2010, 7:11 pm

OMG!! I Want em'!! :shock: :shock: :twisted:

jmarson

Postby jmarson » December 20th, 2010, 1:10 pm

fellas, yes i'm a newbie but i have a sport 20 that i enjoy very much but the parts replacement stressing me out. the car undertook a major overhaul : suspension (i had tokico shocks and tein springs from bk in 2008) so just replace arms and ends. the tranny got a seal over and i fixed a shifting problem. the engine got new seals, belt pre-tensioner. THE PROBLEM is the car is buckling like it can't maintain a good idle. changed coilpacks, put in ngk plug wires and spark plugs and no good. the problem seems to be the MAF and i'm suffering here. IT APPEARS THE 1.6 protege MAF CAN'T WORK on my 2.0 Sport 20. i did my research and saw some online and even the MAF on 2002 vitaras should work. does anyone know if anf MAFs are here for the FS-ZE engine asap?

788-4203 jason

jmarson

Postby jmarson » December 20th, 2010, 1:12 pm

mazda part no : FP 39

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 20th, 2010, 1:55 pm

jmarson wrote:mazda part no : FP 39

I should be able to order this in for you. 2-3weeks for delivery. give me a call at 783-5064 for more details.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 20th, 2010, 1:59 pm

ok so decided to put in the Cosmo Racing Cold Air intake in my mom's car. Official thing lol. So removed my makeup cold air with a 3" filter to 2.5" reducer. This system is a complete 2.5" mandrilled alumium piping with built in watertrap right before the MAF. not bad for $1800.00!! So the kit is a direct bolt in with a simple 10mm mount/bracket. it;s mounted on rubber so any engine flex it would absorb it pretty well.

Now the kit comes with a non-reusable filter with could be replaced with a K&N when it's done.

As an added touch to complement the christmas tree engine bay, I put on an OBX Oil fillter Cap ($160.00 and in stock LOL) :D :D

OK RESULTS - Maybe because of the 2.5" piping response is quicker, a little more mid end torque, but again I getting to hate this tranny. Don't worry one day. my pretty. one day. IT SHALL BE MINE heheheaaaeeeoooaaa :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: Oh and that day a 4.4 ZL-VE box awaits...
dsc00675a.jpg
dsc00675a.jpg (55.36 KiB) Viewed 17547 times
dsc00678on.jpg
dsc00678on.jpg (61.28 KiB) Viewed 17548 times
dsc00677ku.jpg
dsc00677ku.jpg (73.04 KiB) Viewed 17548 times
dsc00673l.jpg
dsc00673l.jpg (60.33 KiB) Viewed 17548 times
caprotege990216.jpg
caprotege990216.jpg (5.72 KiB) Viewed 17548 times

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » December 20th, 2010, 4:36 pm

Maz I feel I will have to check you for that OBX oil cover cause mine leaking and I find it hard to get the Corksport one. If you had a Red in it that would have been cool, Let me know.

The filter set up looking good. I find you gone Harry Potter on us dey boy....Good work though.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 20th, 2010, 9:21 pm

Wildcard26 wrote:Maz I feel I will have to check you for that OBX oil cover cause mine leaking and I find it hard to get the Corksport one. If you had a Red in it that would have been cool, Let me know.

The filter set up looking good. I find you gone Harry Potter on us dey boy....Good work though.

you mean lord of the rings lol no boy no red only polish and blue

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » December 21st, 2010, 6:36 am

Yeah one of them crazy show. I'll holla at you about the oil cover as that might have to do yes.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 4th, 2011, 12:40 pm

well first time I drove the car in the night after I put in the intake. Waw, it feeling so responsive and a nice increase in power, RPM, building smooth and it does not have to struggle to reach high speeds. Really a good performance upgrade...wish I had that box now...:-(

Return to “MAZDA”