BT 50 Engine Performance

MAZDA People United - it continues here

supernedd

Re: BT 50 Engine Performance

Postby supernedd » March 13th, 2019, 5:10 am

gt4tified wrote:Thread bump....bought a 2010 BT-50 two weeks ago. Its my first diesel vehicle...runs well, but a little blue smoke when shifting at 4k rpm or over. I'm guessing its the turbo. Where is the best place that I can pick up a TD04 replacement? (will get the flange from the guy in Penal). Also, is there any benefit in doing an aftermarket FMIC and piping? Finally, what are your thoughts on a second fuel filter after the primary? The van came with a cheap plastic in-line one...been reading that it may actually hinder performance. What do you guys think?
What type of engine do u have ?.'Monitor it. Not all the time is turbo. Head n gasket is d famous issue. If it is a wl engine. And a secondary inline filter.. I have one. But what I did. I took out d strainer in my fuel pump and the inline filter I have is a metal one. Not the plastic. It reusable .. and I don't find it restrictive much. Not too noticeable . I have the wl engine. Easier for me to clean or replace my inline filter.. than cleaning d strainer in d pump

Postby gt4tified » March 13th, 2019, 12:00 pm

supernedd wrote:
gt4tified wrote:Thread bump....bought a 2010 BT-50 two weeks ago. Its my first diesel vehicle...runs well, but a little blue smoke when shifting at 4k rpm or over. I'm guessing its the turbo. Where is the best place that I can pick up a TD04 replacement? (will get the flange from the guy in Penal). Also, is there any benefit in doing an aftermarket FMIC and piping? Finally, what are your thoughts on a second fuel filter after the primary? The van came with a cheap plastic in-line one...been reading that it may actually hinder performance. What do you guys think?
What type of engine do u have ?.'Monitor it. Not all the time is turbo. Head n gasket is d famous issue. If it is a wl engine. And a secondary inline filter.. I have one. But what I did. I took out d strainer in my fuel pump and the inline filter I have is a metal one. Not the plastic. It reusable .. and I don't find it restrictive much. Not too noticeable . I have the wl engine. Easier for me to clean or replace my inline filter.. than cleaning d strainer in d pump

Thanks for the reply. Its the wl 2.5 turbo engine. The engine is from all accounts, pretty healthy. The previous owner did not abuse it and seemed to have maintained it well. There is no back pressure at all, no burning of oil under normal driving conditions, starts with once bounce from cold start on a morning. But it's still on the original turbo, and the engine is doing 232,xxx km now. Regarding the secondary filter, what I was reading related to the type of filter. Apparently the guys were saying that at the pump, there is an initial strainer/filter there that takes out the big stuff. After that the regular filter should remove anything. They were saying that putting a cheap filter after the OEM placed one does nothing since the OEM filter strains for much smaller micron particles than a cheap one, reusable or not. Think of it like putting a rice strainer under a flour sifter and thinking that what passes through both is better than just the flour sifter alone.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » March 14th, 2019, 7:08 am

gt4tified wrote:
supernedd wrote:

Thanks for the reply. Its the wl 2.5 turbo engine. The engine is from all accounts, pretty healthy. The previous owner did not abuse it and seemed to have maintained it well. There is no back pressure at all, no burning of oil under normal driving conditions, starts with once bounce from cold start on a morning. But it's still on the original turbo, and the engine is doing 232,xxx km now. Regarding the secondary filter, what I was reading related to the type of filter. Apparently the guys were saying that at the pump, there is an initial strainer/filter there that takes out the big stuff. After that the regular filter should remove anything. They were saying that putting a cheap filter after the OEM placed one does nothing since the OEM filter strains for much smaller micron particles than a cheap one, reusable or not. Think of it like putting a rice strainer under a flour sifter and thinking that what passes through both is better than just the flour sifter alone.
Ok cool .if it is the Turbo. Keep us posted.. the strainer in d pump works. Jus need cleaning from time to time.. kinda annoying to remove and clean. I using a aeromotive inline fuel filter. 10micron . I know what u mean by d restrictions .. but I honestly it not noticeable to me . And it easier to remove n clean. And to be honest these vans aint exactly speed..so I doh even bother with d performance. Once it not a steam roller speed. Lol. I took out my strainer in d pump. So basically d inline filter n original filter is my protection... if u want .. remove d filter u found n see if it makes a difference . And clean your strainer. Cause plenty owners dont or never clean that

supernedd

Postby supernedd » March 14th, 2019, 7:13 am

And to be honest. First we have to know how much microns does the original filter,and is are they filtering properly... and some of them filters does be jokey.. yea I doh buy d original . Lol .. better safe than sorry .. but if u think d one u have makes no sense... remove it.. but don't remove d one in d pump. Clean it tho. U could if u want too.. I did. Cause I didn't care .lol.. but then I say..let me put back something . Jus in case
gt4tified wrote:
supernedd wrote:

Postby gt4tified » March 29th, 2019, 2:32 pm

Update: Turbo is good...really good actually. A diesel mechanic specialist diagnosed my oil loss (burning) is as a result of wear on the oil rings due to the mileage (232,xxx km). A lot of you might say that at 232k party now start on a WL engine, but you really need to factor in how the vehicle was driven and under what conditions (short runs, long idle times etc). While the specialist prescribed a ring job (cost = circa $5k, parts and labour), my dad's long-tme mechanic advised that I move from the current 15W-40 to a 20W-50 ultra grade oil, perhaps another brand, but more importantly, use a good brand filter (Bosch, Fram) and change oil religiously every 5000 km.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » April 12th, 2019, 1:32 am

gt4tified wrote:Update: Turbo is good...really good actually. A diesel mechanic specialist diagnosed my oil loss (burning) is as a result of wear on the oil rings due to the mileage (232,xxx km). A lot of you might say that at 232k party now start on a WL engine, but you really need to factor in how the vehicle was driven and under what conditions (short runs, long idle times etc). While the specialist prescribed a ring job (cost = circa $5k, parts and labour), my dad's long-tme mechanic advised that I move from the current 15W-40 to a 20W-50 ultra grade oil, perhaps another brand, but more importantly, use a good brand filter (Bosch, Fram) and change oil religiously every 5000 km.
I told u .. I didn't think is turbo .. yea thicker oil might help .. I used engine restore for a while also. In my honest opinion . Wl engines can't take too much roughing up ..as in trying to speed for long periods...so I doh try to drive hard again.. eventually I will sell he tail n get a faster van...lol .. now u might still get blowby .. Some say the turbo seals does need changing.. but I doh spend again unless I have no choice

apole69

Postby apole69 » April 12th, 2019, 9:55 am

Hey Guys,
i have a B 2500 and it uses a little oil. What is a good oil treatment that can be used ?
much thanks

Postby gt4tified » April 12th, 2019, 2:30 pm

apole69 wrote:Hey Guys,
i have a B 2500 and it uses a little oil. What is a good oil treatment that can be used ?
much thanks

There is something called ENGINE RESTORE that is sold at major parts places. That's the only thing you need, short of changing rings or doing a valve job.

apole69

Postby apole69 » April 12th, 2019, 8:49 pm

gt4tified wrote:
much thanks

There is something called ENGINE RESTORE that is sold at major parts places. That's the only thing you need, short of changing rings or doing a valve job.

Thanks.I'll give it a try!

pjfred

Postby pjfred » April 12th, 2019, 10:56 pm

I reccomend all wl or we turbo owners change con rod bearings and main bearings regularly at 100000 kilometers intervals. These engines are weak and tend to spin bearings and overheat when their owners do sheit. Plastigage people! Learn the term. Anyhow I make a lot of money from these idiot's.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » April 12th, 2019, 11:43 pm

pjfred wrote:I reccomend all wl or we turbo owners change con rod bearings and main bearings regularly at 100000 kilometers intervals. These engines are weak and tend to spin bearings and overheat when their owners do sheit. Plastigage people! Learn the term. Anyhow I make a lot of money from these idiot's.
That is so true . Speaking from experience. Get my share of head ache n monitor the cooling . Famous for head crack n gasket failure

supernedd

Postby supernedd » April 12th, 2019, 11:44 pm

much thanks
I use engine restore once in a while . Works great n the engine gets quieter

Postby nervewrecker » April 12th, 2019, 11:46 pm

The wl turbo does not strike me as a weak engine.
In front stuff like td27, then yes, but I dont baby mine. I drive it like a bat outa hell.

Postby gt4tified » April 17th, 2019, 11:33 am

nervewrecker wrote:The wl turbo does not strike me as a weak engine.
In front stuff like td27, then yes, but I dont baby mine. I drive it like a bat outa hell.

I'm new to the WL-T scene, but like you, I've heard that it is a powerful workhorse of an engine. I think people tend to think it is weak because of poor maintenance by previous owners and unknown vehicle history. When I bought my BT-50 with 230,000 km on the odo, the first thing I did (the previous owner had the vehicle for 4 years and gave me the full run down on the maintenance history, including what oils are used and when last changed, and how often changed) was invest in a set of proper gauges to precisely monitor what's going on inside the engine (oil pressure, boost, water temp). From experience I can tell you, those 'dummy' gauges on the dash are of little use in protecting your engine...by the time your oil pressure light comes on, or your water temp marker goes up, up and away, its pretty much like kissing your engine goodbye. The 3 gauges installed with proper fittings, connectors & hoses came up to about $1,500. I'd rather pay that than $15,000 for an engine. :wink:

supernedd

Postby supernedd » April 20th, 2019, 5:54 pm

gt4tified wrote:

I'm new to the WL-T scene, but like you, I've heard that it is a powerful workhorse of an engine. I think people tend to think it is weak because of poor maintenance by previous owners and unknown vehicle history. When I bought my BT-50 with 230,000 km on the odo, the first thing I did (the previous owner had the vehicle for 4 years and gave me the full run down on the maintenance history, including what oils are used and when last changed, and how often changed) was invest in a set of proper gauges to precisely monitor what's going on inside the engine (oil pressure, boost, water temp). From experience I can tell you, those 'dummy' gauges on the dash are of little use in protecting your engine...by the time your oil pressure light comes on, or your water temp marker goes up, up and away, its pretty much like kissing your engine goodbye. The 3 gauges installed with proper fittings, connectors & hoses came up to about $1,500. I'd rather pay that than $15,000 for an engine. :wink:
I have water temp .. boost and voltage guages to monitor mines

Postby gt4tified » April 23rd, 2019, 3:48 pm

supernedd wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

I have water temp .. boost and voltage guages to monitor mines

Nice...chuck the voltage for an oil pressure though. Oil pump starvation seems to be something of a random issue on the WL series...for reasons unknown.

daron

Postby daron » May 19th, 2019, 6:05 pm

Cost for 2010 wl head & who sells it?

supernedd

Postby supernedd » May 22nd, 2019, 8:51 pm

daron wrote:Cost for 2010 wl head & who sells it?
Average price does be like a $6 grand for head alone... Check bamboo .. not sure of specific shop names

Postby gt4tified » May 23rd, 2019, 11:12 am

Fastrac auto in Charlieville....check them.

daron

Postby daron » May 23rd, 2019, 8:26 pm

Thanks called today
gt4tified wrote:

Fastrac auto in Charlieville....check them.
IMG_20190523_202610.jpeg

Return to “MAZDA”